Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 29th June 2008, 10:07   #16
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,664
Thanked: 6,104 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by barcode View Post
I have an Airtel 512kbps... Get download speads of 100kbps easily!
how? that means you have an 800kbps connection?
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2008, 19:12   #17
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 115
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
how? that means you have an 800kbps connection?


something very wrong here.

If he has a 512kbps connection , why is it not possible that he should get at least 100kbps ?
Sandeep_K_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2008, 09:13   #18
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,233
Thanked: 21,896 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
how? that means you have an 800kbps connection?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandeep_K_Ram View Post


something very wrong here.

If he has a 512kbps connection , why is it not possible that he should get at least 100kbps ?
Two reasons:

1. There is a difference between kbps (kilobits/sec) and kBps (kiloBytes/sec)
2. The "512" is the minimum guaranteed speed between your computer and the ISP - the ceiling is 1Mbps or 2Mbps etc depending on the connection.

cya
R

ps - also akshay1234, in the internet world 1 byte ends up equating to 10bits, not 8 (due to 2bits for error checking)

Last edited by Rehaan : 30th June 2008 at 09:17.
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2008, 10:00   #19
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,856
Thanked: 15,418 Times
Default

Nope 512 is the maximum
The plans say (Speeds upto 512Kbps).
We get 100KBps etc., because sometimes Airtel for no apparent reason starts to give 2x speed at night.
Many times even in day you can get double speed for no apparent reason
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2008, 21:11   #20
BHPian
 
chetan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 466
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

tsk you are absolutely right , i have a 256kbps unlimited plan sometimes i dont know what goes into it the speed that i get during night times are unbelievable ... so i think 512 kbps users must be getting 100kbps DL speed

btw this rail wire is too good to be true !!
chetan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2008, 21:45   #21
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,854
Thanked: 123 Times
Default

What I get in Airtel is:

256kbps which translate to 20~25kBps

now:

512kbps which translate to 40~50kBps
HappyWheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 12:43   #22
Team-BHP Support
 
navin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: mumbai
Posts: 22,243
Thanked: 3,647 Times
Default

Railtel reminds me of the Southern Pacific Railroad Integrated Network story (young guns call it Sprint).
navin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 15:26   #23
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 115
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
Two reasons:

1. There is a difference between kbps (kilobits/sec) and kBps (kiloBytes/sec)
2. The "512" is the minimum guaranteed speed between your computer and the ISP - the ceiling is 1Mbps or 2Mbps etc depending on the connection.

cya
R

ps - also akshay1234, in the internet world 1 byte ends up equating to 10bits, not 8 (due to 2bits for error checking)
I am aware of the difference between kbps and kBps. Almost all ISPs quote in kbps which is kilo bits per sec.

So if the guy who post that he has got a 512kbps plan says he gets 100kbps speed ... there is absolutely nothing wrong or surprising about it ! IS there ? As per his plan the max speed he can get is 512kbps and he is getting 100kbps which is actually pretty low.

512kbps = 64kBps
100kbps =12.5kBps

Whichever unit you are using , the speed he is getting is quite low compared to the speed he is "supposed" to get as per his plan.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chetan View Post
tsk you are absolutely right , i have a 256kbps unlimited plan sometimes i dont know what goes into it the speed that i get during night times are unbelievable ... so i think 512 kbps users must be getting 100kbps DL speed

btw this rail wire is too good to be true !!
well 512kbps users are supposed to get at least 300-400kbps !! 100kbps is very low ...

If you are using a Home 500 dataone plan , you are supposed to get upto 2Mbps and if you see the speed using something like a NetMeter you can see it that it will be between 1.3-1.8Mbps most of the time.

Nobody will give you more speed than they advertise though its common that you always get lesser speed than they say.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
What I get in Airtel is:

256kbps which translate to 20~25kBps

now:

512kbps which translate to 40~50kBps
That is spot on . I think there is some confusion here between kbps and kBps among a few users.

1Byte = 8bits i.e 1B=8b.

So if you get 32 kilo bits per sec its actually only 4 kilo Bytes per sec.

So the max speed you can get on
1. 512kbps is 64kBps
2. 256kbps is 32kBps and so on ...

to get speed in kBps you only divide the kbps by 8.

I know about the error control coding somebody was mentioning - the start and stop bits used in a frame of bits but that is only control info. The speed mentioned is the overall data transfer bitspeed so when they say 1byte it still is 8 bits - the control info is meant for the protocols in place ...so its not that you have to divide the speed by 10 instead of 8.
Sandeep_K_Ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 16:43   #24
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,856
Thanked: 15,418 Times
Default

ISP data transfer measures the entire packet, not just data.
My RAW Data transfer is usually 75KBps, or 600kbps.
If I just count the "data" bits I get around 65-68KBps all the time.

This transfer includes upstream and downstream both.
If I setup a tunnel, and try to measure data throughput, I get around 480-500kbps(Data transfer rate).
From normal sites during download, I get an Mb down every 2.5 seconds or so.
So a 3MB-4MB file comes down in a minute.

Right now there is no Bittorrent throttling on Airtel
This railtel thing sounds great if they do not implement any "traffic shaping".
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2008, 16:56   #25
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default

Let me add to the confusion: All ISPs (wired, wireless, cable, et al) quote connection rates, not something suitable for calculating effective Byte throughput rates. So if you really want to compute bps to Bps, the denominator has to be 11 (not 8) x (1:n factor) x (buffering to get the consumer to the rate plan throughput). And this on top of (traffic conditions at the intermediate points) and line noise, where only God can help you.

On my BSNL ADSL connection at home, I get a 512/2048 Up/Down connection, but the effective throughput is the equivalent of 256Kbps promised in the rate plan. God bless BSNL, at least they are trying to be honest. I pity the cable consumers, they get the least price-performance unless they are the only house in a new colony.

Last edited by DerAlte : 1st July 2008 at 16:59.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2008, 05:05   #26
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Here is what I got from them:

Quote:
Warm Greetings from RailWire!

This is with regards to your recent online enquiry with RailWire (appended below).
We are glad to receive your enquiry.
Chennai will come under our pan-India rollout plans. From the customer support team we, at present donít have good visibility into the exact dates/timelines. However, you could expect us to reach chennai by end of this year or early next year.



With warm regards,
Team - RailWire Operations

eMail: connect@railwire.in | Tel: 91 80 4060 88 99 | URL: Railwire - Home
SMS: RAILWIRE(space)<Your Location> to 5 67 67 75

RailWire is an initiative of RailTel Corporation of India Ltd., Ministry of Railways, Govt. of India
So end of this year, huh??! And I am pleasantly surprised to even receive a response, that too within 6 hours of me posting in their website!!
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2009, 16:54   #27
Senior - BHPian
 
SkyWalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,531
Thanked: 122 Times
Default

This thread seems to have run a natural death. Anyone using railwire or have any feedback? Now its available @ our apartment, and frankly 1220/- for 2 Mbps unlimited is too good a deal. I want to check out how the user experience is.
SkyWalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2009, 20:49   #28
BHPian
 
menonrajesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 210
Thanked: Once
Default

Just saw this thread and realised that its almost 1 yr old one!
While the offer sounds amazing, still wondering why there are no user responses so far? I can see that railwire website is up and running, but never heard of it in the media so far. Any user reviews here??
menonrajesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2009, 11:48   #29
Senior - BHPian
 
gd1418's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,578
Thanked: 651 Times
Default

After reading about Railways internet scheme, I posted my query on their website yesterday at 16:55. Surprise, surprise, at 17:54, I got a response from them; that too a total Government, Babu infested organisation.. I'm in a state of shock..

-------------------------------------------------
Dear Mr. Gurudutt,

Warm Greetings from RailWire!

This is w.r.t.your recent online enquiry with RailWire (appended below).

We are glad to receive your enquiry.

Gurgaon will come under our pan-India rollout plans. From the customer care desk, we don’t have good visibility into the exact dates/timelines. However, you could expect us to reach gurgaon towards the latter half of year 09.

With warm regards,

Team - RailWire Operations

eMail: connect@railwire.in | Tel: +91 80 67 89 88 99 | URL: Railwire - Home

SMS: RAILWIRE(space) to 5 67 67 75

RailWire is an initiative of RailTel Corporation of India Ltd., Ministry of Railways, Govt. of India



----- Original Message -----
From: "railwire" <admin@railwire.in>
To: connect@railwire.in
Sent: Tuesday, July 21, 2009 4:55:11 PM GMT +05:30 Chennai, Kolkata, Mumbai, New Delhi
Subject: Railwire: Apply Online

Apply Online
-----------------------------------------------

Name: Mr.
-----------------------------------------------
Name:: B C Gurudutt
-----------------------------------------------
Phone:
-----------------------------------------------
Email:
-----------------------------------------------
Address 1:
-----------------------------------------------
Address 2:
-----------------------------------------------
City/Town/Village: Gurgaon
-----------------------------------------------
Pin Code: 122002
-----------------------------------------------
State: Haryana
-----------------------------------------------
Speed **: 1 Mbps

Last edited by gd1418 : 22nd July 2009 at 11:49.
gd1418 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2009, 11:59   #30
Senior - BHPian
 
anujmishra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,270
Thanked: 333 Times
Default

One of my neighbor was using Railwire connection in his earlier residence. I stay in Whitefield but for my road they still not laid down cable.

His feedback was good but not excellent because he sometimes experience longer hours down time. It seems their customer support executives also that ramp up like Airtel.

Till now I am on Airtel and waiting for them to lay down cable in my locality of Whitefield. We all owners planning to Shift to Railwire once they are available.
anujmishra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How much do you pay for your broadband? Rtech Shifting gears 892 14th August 2017 22:27
My Broadband Bill is Rs 11000 - Help! ajmat Shifting gears 62 15th December 2008 14:51
best gear oil & best coolant & best engine decarb: please cyneverdie Technical Stuff 7 19th October 2007 03:57
India Broadband Review aseem Shifting gears 12 27th June 2006 14:52
Broadband Internet z klasse Shifting gears 8 31st October 2005 18:20


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:15.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks