Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 2nd July 2008, 23:28   #31
BHPian
 
Saiyan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 43
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flipsyde View Post
really??? didn't know that!! then maybe i should pick up the ASUS one since it has the fan control built into its bios. and its the cheapest. and i should be getting some support from rashi pheriperals in chennai in case it starts acting up.
Rashi support for the Asus products provided by them is a big joke . So don't depend on them
Saiyan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2008, 01:57   #32
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 137 Times
Default

Your friend is right to swear by his 8800GT SLI rig - its faster than a GTX280 in all but the highest resolutions - costs a good bit lower too!

I was commenting how nVidia used that chip to make an entire generation of cards because they had no competition from ATI at that time.

All graphics cards have fan control on their BIOS. Do remember that the 48 series drivers are immature and the cards run a bit hot these days. The latest beta drivers fix these problems. I expect the next Catalyst will sort the fan issues.

Oh yeah, after sales support. It's a joke in India for almost anything - computers, cars, anything. But computer hardware either die in the first week or last forever.
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2008, 12:01   #33
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 172
Thanked: 67 Times
Default

Why cant you go for a Workstation like the Dell Precision T3400?
Blue_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2008, 12:46   #34
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 137 Times
Default

Branded computers are a waste of money. Especially Dell.
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd July 2008, 21:32   #35
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

My stand for branded vs unbranded - go unbranded if you won't faint if you opened your computer's covers and fiddled with it's "insides". If you would, go branded and make sure it is a brand that has a very good A.S.S, with probably an on-site support for a considerable time.

You can also go unbranded if you have a computer guru in ya family / neighborhood, who wouldn't grumble if you called him / her every other day with a question!!
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2008, 10:59   #36
BHPian
 
Amey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 679
Thanked: 189 Times
Default

Asus P5Q-E ------> ~10k
Intel Q9450-------> 16k
2GB x 2 DDR2 800 -------> 4k
Corsair HX620 ---------> 6.5k
ATI Radeon 4850 ------> 12 k?

This board has 2 PCIe 16X slots so you can do Crossfire in the future.

Hope this helps.
Amey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2008, 12:04   #37
BHPian
 
flipsyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 636
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

@blue_v : i usually have the habit of fiddling around with the computer myself so i avoid branded desktops. and of course you have the heftier price tag.

@immortalz : why especially dell?

@amey : dude..... that processor price isn't really working well for me. :( and should i go for 800mhz ram or should i make it 4gb of 667mhz?? doesnt it work out same price wise?
flipsyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2008, 13:38   #38
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flipsyde View Post
dude..... that processor price isn't really working well for me. :( and should i go for 800mhz ram or should i make it 4gb of 667mhz?? doesnt it work out same price wise?
667 and 800 are almost the same, atleast in the $$$ sites.

If your process's FSB is going to be 1066, then go for either 533 Mhz (yes!) DDR2 or 1066 Mhz DDR2 (that is, if you have made up your mind on DDR2 and giving a go for DDR3 for now - too costly!!)

If you are going for a 1333 Mhz FSB, then get a DDR2 667 Mhz or a DDR3 1333 Mhz (would cost a bomb!!)

This is essentially to get a 1:1 ratio between RAM and FSB, which is the best there is! I am not sure what will be the effect of having an 800 Mhz DDR2 in either 1066 Mhz or 1333 Mhz FSB - it would work for sure, but haven't checked to see if there is any visible speed improvements.
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2008, 16:03   #39
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 137 Times
Default

1066 FSB is quad pumped. Means the bus speed is 1066/4 = 266Mhz. Therefore, DDR2-533 runs 1:1. There is no advantage of running 1:2 (in the case of DDR2-1066). You can get RAM faster than 533 if you intend to overclock. There is little sense in running RAM faster than the CPU bus in the Intel platform since their cache architecture is designed specifically to mask RAM latency.

Basically, if you are going for a Q6600, get DDR2-533. If you are going for a Q9450, get DDR2-667. There is little use in arguing this point since DDR2 is dirt cheap ATM.

flipsyde : Dell uses custom motherboards (from Foxconn) which don't have expansion slots. You can't upgrade anything on that thing. BIOS is locked down, so you can't swap for faster RAM or CPU and make it work. If you buy it, you're stuck with it.

ASUS P5Q-E has 2 x16 slots, but when you use both, they become x8 electrically. Basically you can run 1 x16 or 2 x8. Being PCI-E 2.0, there should not be a performance drop with cards which support PCI-E 2.0, but there are some tests on the web which show a clear performance deficit when compared to a X48 based mobo running Crossfire with equal parts. This may or may not matter to you.
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2008, 10:13   #40
BHPian
 
Amey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 679
Thanked: 189 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalZ View Post
ASUS P5Q-E has 2 x16 slots, but when you use both, they become x8 electrically. Basically you can run 1 x16 or 2 x8. Being PCI-E 2.0, there should not be a performance drop with cards which support PCI-E 2.0, but there are some tests on the web which show a clear performance deficit when compared to a X48 based mobo running Crossfire with equal parts. This may or may not matter to you.
Agreed but X48 boards a more expensive too.Also it has been seen several times that the performance hit because of the 8X / 8X is marginal,which makes you think, is it really wise to spend more on the more expensive X48 ?
Amey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2008, 11:20   #41
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 172
Thanked: 67 Times
Default

flipsyde: FYI

2010 will be the end of LGA 775. Also PCIe-3.0 is on cards for 2010.
Is it wise to spend mega bucks on a X48 or DDR3?
Blue_V is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2008, 11:49   #42
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 137 Times
Default

The performance hit due to 8x/8x is no longer marginal with the latest and greatest cards.
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2008, 12:12   #43
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amey View Post
is it really wise to spend more on the more expensive X48 ?
No!! Any P45 board from a reputed vendor would give you crossfire!!! i have crossfire capability in my P965 board (ASUS P5B Deluxe)!
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2008, 16:37   #44
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 137 Times
Default

Yes, but 965 based Crossfire is X8/X4. Not really worth going for Crossfire if the second slot is x4 since the performance advantage becomes really non-VFM when the low efficiency of multi card setups combined with the cards running on slower PCI-E link speeds reduce performance by a good margin.

Also, do not go DDR3 now. DDR2 has rock bottom prices. AMD's DDR3 designs are supposed to come out in Q1 2009 and by Q2, DDR3 prices will normalize. Right now, X48/DDR3 is a huge waste of money. There are X48 DDR2 based boards though - monstrous overclockers.
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2008, 08:36   #45
BHPian
 
Amey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 679
Thanked: 189 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalZ View Post
Yes, but 965 based Crossfire is X8/X4. Not really worth going for Crossfire if the second slot is x4 since the performance advantage becomes really non-VFM when the low efficiency of multi card setups combined with the cards running on slower PCI-E link speeds reduce performance by a good margin.

Also, do not go DDR3 now. DDR2 has rock bottom prices. AMD's DDR3 designs are supposed to come out in Q1 2009 and by Q2, DDR3 prices will normalize. Right now, X48/DDR3 is a huge waste of money. There are X48 DDR2 based boards though - monstrous overclockers.
X48 is really good for QX range of CPUs, the chipset cannot clock high on FSB.I would any day prefer P45 over it.Almost all decent P45 boards are hitting 600FSB easily.This is helpful for locked multi CPUs which almost everyone of us uses.
X48 can do max 530-560 i suppose nothing more than that.
Even Asus ROG series Maximus and Rampage boards can do 550 ish nothing more. Its only Foxconn Blackops that i have seen to do a healthy 600+ with newer BIOS but that too is rare.
Compared to that P45 boards from Asus, Gigabyte are easily hitting 620-630FSB.
For that matter Biostar IP45 hit 745FSB
Add to that the newer CPUs with higher stock FSB but lower Multi, which restricts the overclocks substantially.
Take the example of Q9450, a Multi of 8X,useless !

So thats my point, for people like us with locked multis, high FSB boards are more useful.
Amey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Core 2 Duo - E8400 shows 2000 MHz in CPU-Z ntomer Gadgets, Computers & Software 13 11th September 2014 16:42
St. Martin's Airport: Ultra cool pics DCEite Shifting gears 24 3rd June 2009 17:34
Honda Unveils Ultra-Clean diesel system. Thil The International Automotive Scene 6 30th May 2009 08:17


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:46.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks