Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd March 2009, 22:10   #16
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,664
Thanked: 6,104 Times
Default

used the p527 for a day and gave it back to the person who gave it to me. found it so damn complicated compared to my n95 and its symbian ui. also it didnt have anything more than my n95 besides a touchscreen which IMO wasnt that great.
Akshay1234 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd August 2009, 17:18   #17
Team-BHP Support
 
bblost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,556
Thanked: 6,313 Times
Default

Anyone else faced the data loss issue.
I am cross posting my post in the mobile phone thread.
Will install this tomorrow and update later.

Quote:
Originally Posted by bblost View Post
Firmware update for ASUS P527

ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Support-
Choose the Mobile Phone -> P Series -> P527
Windows OS
bblost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2009, 08:38   #18
BHPian
 
sajands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 827
Thanked: 133 Times
Default

Guys,I Got myself a P527 and please guide me on how to use the keypad to send SMS as i keep trying and only numbers appear. cant use the stylus to sms all the time, the xt9 option also does not help much. The other thing is on the SatNav maps, its bit outdated as its not the new bangalore map and is there a way i can delete and use a updated map or other gps like wayfinder??? please help.
sajands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2009, 09:38   #19
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Utopia!
Posts: 577
Thanked: 84 Times
Default

I'm using the ASUS P527 since last 3 months. If you are not loading too many application at the same time, P527 is a very good phone. P527 is a tad slower compared to the latest phones available due to use of a low speed processor and less internal memory. But for a day to day use including GPS navigation, I found it more than adequate. In fact nothing beats it in the VFM department as far as Windows Mobile phones are considered. Asus build quality is awesome as expected.

It came with WM6.1 preloaded but I'm planning to load WM6.5 once stable releases are available. I've heard that the performance is much better with WM6.5.

Got it along with Satguide all-India maps, Car holder, Car charger, Wall charger, USB Data cable for 12,900 from Croma. I'm sure it is available cheaper in smaller outlets.

Last edited by Digital Vampire : 4th August 2009 at 09:39.
Digital Vampire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2009, 11:58   #20
Team-BHP Support
 
bblost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,556
Thanked: 6,313 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sajands View Post
Guys,I Got myself a P527 and please guide me on how to use the keypad to send SMS as i keep trying and only numbers appear. cant use the stylus to sms all the time, the xt9 option also does not help much. The other thing is on the SatNav maps, its bit outdated as its not the new bangalore map and is there a way i can delete and use a updated map or other gps like wayfinder??? please help.
I found Terracrosser - GPS Navigation Software to be a good Free mapping solution.

Call up Satnav and talk to them. I guess one free map upgrade is available to all users.
bblost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th February 2011, 20:55   #21
Team-BHP Support
 
bblost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,556
Thanked: 6,313 Times
Default Re: Anybody using ASUS P527?

My laptop got formatted. Now when I try to install the asus cd it tells me that adobe flash player 8 or higher is needed. I installed 10.2 from the website. But this error message refuses to go away.. any tips on how to fix this problem.

Not able to find the flash player 8 via google. If anyone can point me to a clean exe, I would like to give that a shot as well.
bblost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2011, 09:18   #22
Team-BHP Support
 
bblost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,556
Thanked: 6,313 Times
Default Re: Anybody using ASUS P527?

I installed active synch from the cd directly. Used the installer inside the wwe folder.
It works.
bblost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2012, 21:01   #23
Team-BHP Support
 
bblost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,556
Thanked: 6,313 Times
Default Re: Anybody using ASUS P527?

My phone would switch off on its own.
It would be working fine. A couple of minutes later, it would be off.

Googling around showed that this is a issue with a small switch on the right lower region under the battery cover.
Put in a small piece of paper. One week and no problem with the phone.

But my phone also doubles up as my daughter's toy. She loves to throw it all over the place.

The touch screen is beginning to malfunction. I am able to still use it so have no plans to replace it till it fully dies.
bblost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th May 2012, 22:08   #24
Distinguished - BHPian
 
SS-Traveller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 6,565
Thanked: 10,481 Times
Default Re: Anybody using ASUS P527?

My P527 has been running quite well, except that the preloaded Satguide on the 1GB MicroSD card kept crashing (it takes up about 950mb, and a few pics from the camera messes up the Satguide software somehow). Installed a 2GB card now, and things are working just fine.
SS-Traveller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2012, 11:20   #25
Team-BHP Support
 
bblost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,556
Thanked: 6,313 Times
Default Re: Anybody using ASUS P527?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SS-Traveller View Post
My P527 has been running quite well, except that the preloaded Satguide on the 1GB MicroSD card kept crashing (it takes up about 950mb, and a few pics from the camera messes up the Satguide software somehow). Installed a 2GB card now, and things are working just fine.
I use a 500 MB microSD card. The card I got with the phone was not very good. I swapped with a card in my wife's phone.

She has a basic LG that uses the card for storing mp3 and pics.
I have not had any issues with Satguide in this 500 MB card.

I used to lose my data. But that got resolved after applying a patch. Details in an earlier post.

The card only stores some programs. Like adobe acrobat, cycle gps, gmaps and satguide.
Apart from a couple of pdf novels.
bblost is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
anybody using LCD projector?? a4_attitude Gadgets, Computers & Software 11 20th April 2014 06:30
Looking forward to buy the Asus P320. reviews please motorheadinc Gadgets, Computers & Software 16 6th October 2009 19:35
anybody using Windows on Mac? a4_attitude Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 30th July 2007 09:41
Anybody Using aftermarket ignition coil & plug wires? finetuning Modifications & Accessories 0 27th March 2006 22:41
Anybody using Morpheus "peer 2 peer"? Shan2nu Shifting gears 18 11th April 2005 11:52


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:17.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks