Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th May 2016, 22:35   #4711
BHPian
 
Anupam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pune - India
Posts: 259
Thanked: 37 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by keeprevving View Post
[*]General ---- The best one. Expensive though..

General AC was acquired by Fujitsu quite some time back, and in India is manufactured in Chennai

Fujitsu is a fantastic brand in its own right


Sent from my iPad using Team-BHP
Anupam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2016, 07:53   #4712
Senior - BHPian
 
sandeepmohan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wellington
Posts: 1,880
Thanked: 1,487 Times
Default Re: Which home/office AC (air conditioner) to buy ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by khoj View Post
You would do well to avoid both brands.
Not quite sure why you say this. I own 3 Blue Star units, one which is probably a decade old and all of them work without a hitch. Post installation, I've never had to call their engineers even once. The upkeep and regular maintenance I do myself.

I can't speak for other parts of the country but considering the location of the FM, which is Trivandrum, the service support for Blue Star is excellent.
sandeepmohan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2016, 23:11   #4713
BHPian
 
ece2k2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Coimbatore
Posts: 438
Thanked: 223 Times
Default Re: Which home/office AC (air conditioner) to buy ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anupam View Post
General AC was acquired by Fujitsu quite some time back, and in India is manufactured in Chennai
General Inverter units that I purchased 6 months back were fully imported ones from Thailand - not sure about the current situation. General is less expensive than Mitsubishi though and Mitsubishi still imports the units from Thailand I guess
ece2k2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2016, 07:56   #4714
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 675
Thanked: 138 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default

Just ordered a Daikin 1.5ton FTKC Made In Thailand Inverter R32 Cooling Only for 48K. I hope no issue on Inverter side in long run . Any specific requirements for Inverter AC power supply. We have not been using any stabiliszer on our Daikins since past many years.
Trust_In_Thrust is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2016, 08:30   #4715
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,045
Thanked: 3,591 Times
Default Re: Which home/office AC (air conditioner) to buy ?

@Trust_In_Thrust; I never realized that Daikin is pushing R32 big time. Made in Thailand also using it. Anyone else on R32, else they can charge you an arm and a leg for top ups.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2016, 09:32   #4716
Senior - BHPian
 
sandeepmohan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wellington
Posts: 1,880
Thanked: 1,487 Times
Default Re: Which home/office AC (air conditioner) to buy ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trust_In_Thrust View Post
. Any specific requirements for Inverter AC power supply.
No. They work as reliably as the non inverter models. Just to be safe while the unit is not in use, switch off the mains or mcb.
sandeepmohan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2016, 09:57   #4717
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 675
Thanked: 138 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default

I never had to Charge my R22. Using since 5years Daikin Splits. Daikin is using R32 for Made in Thailand units . Switching off the mains every time will be a pain but if it keeps it safe I will try to follow it. Do you suggest a stabilizer.

Last edited by Trust_In_Thrust : 13th May 2016 at 09:59.
Trust_In_Thrust is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2016, 13:12   #4718
Senior - BHPian
 
sandeepmohan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Wellington
Posts: 1,880
Thanked: 1,487 Times
Default Re: Which home/office AC (air conditioner) to buy ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trust_In_Thrust View Post
Do you suggest a stabilizer.
I find it hard to suggest as I have very little experience using a stabilizer. The only appliance that runs off a stabilizer in my house is our Siemens refrigerator. None of the air conditioners are routed via a stabilizer. If you must get one, get a Sollatek. While V Guard is the house hold name, I don't think they respond fast enough to voltage fluctuations.
sandeepmohan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th May 2016, 14:53   #4719
BHPian
 
Pequod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: KL-01, KL-43
Posts: 30
Thanked: 23 Times
Default Re: Which home/office AC (air conditioner) to buy ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trust_In_Thrust View Post
I never had to Charge my R22. Using since 5years Daikin Splits. Daikin is using R32 for Made in Thailand units . Switching off the mains every time will be a pain but if it keeps it safe I will try to follow it. Do you suggest a stabilizer.
Same here never had to charge my R22 bought in 2012. Bought a second Daikin last year, and if my memory serves me well, it is R32. I have stabilisers running on both units, though I have heard opinions that its not really necessary. If your location has voltage fluctuation issues, I guess you would be better off with one, at least for the peace of mind . Everest brand is what I have.

Not an answer to your query, nevertheless, couple of months back I had the board of my older unit fail on me. As in the unit either wouldn't respond to remote inputs, or sometimes would switch off / on by itself after 5-10 minutes. There were no cooling issues or error messages, and the service technicians suggested changing the board. Cost me Rs.5000/- and change, and it' been running fine since then. Anyone else face similar issues with Daikin?
Pequod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th May 2016, 09:43   #4720
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,045
Thanked: 3,591 Times
Default Re: Which home/office AC (air conditioner) to buy ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trust_In_Thrust View Post
I never had to Charge my R22. Using since 5years Daikin Splits. Daikin is using R32 for Made in Thailand units . Switching off the mains every time will be a pain but if it keeps it safe I will try to follow it. Do you suggest a stabilizer.
My experience is that once in five years or so splits also need a recharge or at least a top up. It is rare (not impossible) to have four flared connections, and a couple of valves with spindles with none oozing.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2016, 10:23   #4721
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 302
Thanked: 263 Times
Default Re: Which home/office AC (air conditioner) to buy ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by diyguy View Post
great am on a short trip to KL from Monday. Will try to source one there!
Did you manage to find the bags? I looked around KL last month but couldn't find them anywhere. I only found them online in Malaysian websites.
Lobogris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2016, 12:16   #4722
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 675
Thanked: 138 Times
Infractions: 0/1 (5)
Default

I searched for sollatek online and I see it has no display for voltage etc to see is it working as it supposed to or as marketed. Any pointers to best stabilizer for 1.5Ton Inverter. I think I should buy for 2Ton capacity as it may help when used with 1.5ton AC.
Trust_In_Thrust is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2016, 15:38   #4723
BHPian
 
barcalad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 767
Thanked: 1,113 Times
Default Re: Which home/office AC (air conditioner) to buy ?

Folks, I have a LG 1.5 Ton Window AC on rent in my bedroom.

Since the past few days, the AC compressor shuts off and doesn't cool the room between in the region between 3 PM - 6 PM. Other than that, it works perfect on all other times.

It happened yesterday, so I cleaned the air filters.
It has happened again today and the compressor shut off with a thud barely 5 minutes back. The compressor isn't switching on now and probably will after a few hours.

Any solutions to this? Tried to search online but no plausible solution.
barcalad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2016, 17:52   #4724
BHPian
 
diyguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 249
Thanked: 111 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lobogris View Post
Did you manage to find the bags?
Leaving tomorrow and not found them yet!
diyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th May 2016, 20:43   #4725
BHPian
 
EFF-EIGHT-BEE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Patiala
Posts: 178
Thanked: 90 Times
Default Re: Which home/office AC (air conditioner) to buy ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by barcalad View Post

The compressor isn't switching on now and probably will after a few hours.

Any solutions to this? Tried to search online but no plausible solution.
Well the problem might be with the thermostat or either the compressor is overheating. For thermostat, when compressor cuts out, try dropping the temperature and see if it kicks in back. To check if it's overheating, then keep an eye on the amp meter(if your stabilizer has one) and see if it's drawing more current then normal. Also check the outside condenser for any blockage.
EFF-EIGHT-BEE is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automotive air conditioner servicing & maintenance vebmetal Technical Stuff 158 23rd July 2017 19:42
Fitting an Air-conditioner in the Maruti 800 navdeep Technical Stuff 95 24th March 2012 17:07
Correct refrigerant level of a automobile air conditioner Sang Technical Stuff 6 15th May 2009 10:26
Best ROOM Air conditioner Max Shifting gears 2 3rd April 2006 09:52


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:24.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks