Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15th April 2010, 21:19   #961
BHPian
 
Guite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Noida, NCR
Posts: 470
Thanked: 177 Times
Default

Hi NevGin,

A few observations:
- Your annual usage hour and assumption of peak power consumption for 100% of the time are liberal and impractical, IMHO. I dont think even a south facing top floor room in Delhi will consume that much.

- Why have you gone into such circuitous calculation to arrive at annual energy consumption? To my understanding, you just have to multiply power consumption (in kW) with usage hour to arrive at total power consumed. For example, for the Daikin R50, 1600w/1000 x 3240hr = 5184 kW hr. Correct me if I am wrong.

- Something is wrong with the Samsung because looking at the btu/hr rating it looks like a 1 ton AC among 1.5 tonners.
Guite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2010, 22:11   #962
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 106
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Bought a samsung 1.5 ton 1 star ac AW181WA. Comes with Bio-sleep ,LCD display remote and timer. Cost me 15300 rs in Vijay sales Mumbai.
milestogo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2010, 12:39   #963
BHPian
 
surd_biker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 116
Thanked: 30 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by khoj View Post
In Bombay, 1.2T for the 150sqft and a 0.9 or a 1 Ton for the 110 sq ft room would be sufficient.

See attachment on the multi room split air con.
Thanks will check it out. But I still have one doubt. In case of multi room split acs with one outdoor unit, will both the acs run on full capacity if switched on simultaneously or will the single outdoor unit reduce the colling capacity of both the acs. Is it wiser tio install two separate acs with outdoor units instead of this?
surd_biker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2010, 16:00   #964
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,083
Thanked: 252 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by surd_biker View Post
.... Is it wiser tio install two separate acs with outdoor units instead of this?
It is definitely better to install two separate units instead of a multi-split.
It is foreseeable that the outdoor unit will give a problem some day. Both your rooms will be without AC!

If space is not a complete crunch, go for two spilt ACs.
anupmathur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2010, 23:00   #965
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,839
Thanked: 7,204 Times
Default

The multi-split Hitachi I looked at a few years back was more expensive than two seperate Samsung units!
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2010, 23:46   #966
BHPian
 
anku94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 225
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Premium pricing one thing Hitachi's known for. The Quadricool TM's ITR price we bought a few years ago was 50% higher than an average brand's....
anku94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2010, 09:29   #967
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,083
Thanked: 252 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
The multi-split Hitachi I looked at a few years back was more expensive than two seperate Samsung units!
Even if you compare the same manufacturer's products you'll probably find the multi split to be more expensive than two single splits! Such is Indian pricing!
anupmathur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2010, 12:23   #968
Senior - BHPian
 
khoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dilli
Posts: 2,722
Thanked: 1,253 Times
Default

@surd_biker

The compressor is designed to match the indoor units at full capacity, so the two 1 ton indoors will be mated to a 2 ton compressor. When one indoor is switched on the compressor will run at half capacity or at slow speed which will suffice the needs of the single indoor unit. As and when you switch on the second unit the compressor will increase its rpm and supply the second indoor with the required optimum amount of compressed gas. There is no de-rating as such.

The higher cost of such units is not as simple as premium pricing. A single compressor running two indoor units will have additional equipment to allow the system to work, such as three or four way diverter valves, a variable speed compressor which more often than not will be a DC compressor and the outdoor fan too might be equipped with a dual speed DC motor. All these plus other associated components add up.

Last edited by khoj : 17th April 2010 at 12:32.
khoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2010, 16:19   #969
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anupmathur View Post
Even if you compare the same manufacturer's products you'll probably find the multi split to be more expensive than two single splits! Such is Indian pricing!
Like you posted earlier, the multisplit is meant for applications where there is no space for 2 separate condensing units. What you save is space, and not money.
kjmads is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2010, 18:53   #970
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,083
Thanked: 252 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by khoj View Post
..... will be a DC compressor and the outdoor fan too might be equipped with a dual speed DC motor. ....
Khoj, are there any compressors or fan motors running on DC?
None, I would imagine.
anupmathur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2010, 19:05   #971
Senior - BHPian
 
khoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dilli
Posts: 2,722
Thanked: 1,253 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anupmathur View Post
Khoj, are there any compressors or fan motors running on DC?
None, I would imagine.
Don't imagine, go back in the thread and read up you will find what all has been running on DC.
khoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2010, 11:46   #972
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,083
Thanked: 252 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by khoj View Post
Don't imagine, go back in the thread and read up you will find what all has been running on DC.
Khoj, it's not an easy task to go through 60 plus pages!

Are there any ACs today that have compressor motor and/or fan motor running on DC?
anupmathur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2010, 12:22   #973
Senior - BHPian
 
khoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Dilli
Posts: 2,722
Thanked: 1,253 Times
Default

Well nothing in life is easy but there is google.

However any aircon or for that matter refrigerator and now a days washing machines that are advertised as being equipped with inverter technology run on DC. The compressors are variable speed DC compressors and the motors are reluctance free DC motors. Yet all of these run on local AC supply.
khoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2010, 13:07   #974
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 3,083
Thanked: 252 Times
Default

Thanks, Khoj, though I don't quite subscribe to calling them DC motors.
The fact that an inverter (as opposed to a rectifier and filter) is being used makes these motors more AC than DC, since the frequency is also being controlled. There is no frequency for DC, hence the very term becomes redundant.

Yes, it has become difficult now-a-days to give exact classificaton to a motor because of the seamless merger of the best properties of each type of motor, AC and DC, that current (motor) control systems allow!

Thanks again, for your inputs.
anupmathur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2010, 11:25   #975
BHPian
 
ssingri's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 103
Thanked: 70 Times
Default Bought an AC

I finally bought a Hitachi Ace Follow me 1.2 Ton ac this weekend. It is 5 star rated and cost me Rs 33000 including installation and 4KVA stabilizer but had to pay Rs 1000/- for the mounting bracket.


I also considered the following:

1 Ton Godrej 5 Star 24900/- incl of install and stabilizer
1 ton Voltas Vertis Gold 25500/- incl of install and stabilizer

For the guys in Bangalore it looks like Unilet is giving the best prices for these ACs and also has stocks, the other places like Girias, Ezone etc did not have stocks or could not match the price. I want to give a thumbs up to Unilet.
ssingri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Automotive air conditioner servicing & maintenance vebmetal Technical Stuff 169 20th November 2017 14:39
Fitting an Air-conditioner in the Maruti 800 navdeep Technical Stuff 95 24th March 2012 17:07
Correct refrigerant level of a automobile air conditioner Sang Technical Stuff 6 15th May 2009 10:26
Best ROOM Air conditioner Max Shifting gears 2 3rd April 2006 09:52


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:53.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks