Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th August 2008, 15:09   #16
Team-BHP Support
 
Zappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 5,631
Thanked: 1,976 Times
Default

Yes Avi, it has been launched here in Hyderabad as well. I have already done some research. Sent one of my guys to them to find everything out and report back. He thought its fabulous whether in pic quality, sound or cost.

Will tell you when we meet. By the way, TSky is having jitters now. They have launched a highwire act with Amir Khan to promote themselves big time.
Zappo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2008, 19:43   #17
Senior - BHPian
 
neoonwheels's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,621
Thanked: 561 Times
Default

Guys, let me go through all the posts and will ask queries if any. Thanks for the help.
neoonwheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2010, 11:30   #18
BHPian
 
throttleking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 780
Thanked: 336 Times
Default

Guys, I bought a LG PQ 30 42 inch Plasma TV, playing DVDs is a bliss, fantastic picture quality. But watching the Tata Sky is frustrating experience. Whats the problem, is it 42"? or is it Tata Sky? or is it Plasma? Should go for LCD? or smaller size in LCD as all the plasmas are above 42".

Please respond.
throttleking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2010, 12:26   #19
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 360 Times
Default

^^ Please explain what frustrates you when watching Tata Sky? Jerky video? Not clear & sharp? anything else?
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2010, 13:35   #20
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 906
Thanked: 353 Times
Default LCD tv X LCD computer monitor

LCD tv is not as sharp as an LCD monitor because the 'pixel' size is usually larger than that of LCD monitors. (This means connecting a computer to an LCD tv can sometimes be a pain. With my Sansui 20 inch LCD, it's very very difficult to read a word document. My Sony 25 inch is better, but still not as good as an LCD computer monitor.)

On the other hand, watching TV on an LCD monitor can also be a pain because moving objects (such as moving subtitles) on an LCD monitor can flicker.

If you cannot afford to have an LCD tv + an LCD monitor it's better to buy one of these depending on your ratio of usage.

Last edited by jinojohnt : 26th May 2010 at 13:38.
jinojohnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2010, 13:43   #21
BHPian
 
throttleking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 780
Thanked: 336 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clevermax View Post
^^ Please explain what frustrates you when watching Tata Sky? Jerky video? Not clear & sharp? anything else?
problem is it shows video steaming effect at times, no consitency in colour across different channelt, blur faces and images, jerky, no sharpness, some of channels looks as if its a small size video and you are seeing a stretched version. Some pixel box effect, some channels or adds or movies or programs are dull....
throttleking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2010, 14:18   #22
Senior - BHPian
 
kaushik_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,061
Thanked: 147 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by throttleking View Post
Guys, I bought a LG PQ 30 42 inch Plasma TV, playing DVDs is a bliss, fantastic picture quality. But watching the Tata Sky is frustrating experience. Whats the problem, is it 42"? or is it Tata Sky? or is it Plasma? Should go for LCD? or smaller size in LCD as all the plasmas are above 42".

Please respond.
Its the Tata Sky (or any standard definition basically). They just doesn't look good on a bigger screen due to their low resolution. Compare it to this, you've a movie sized for a mobile scree/iPod and if you play that on a computer monitor how that would look? Same here. LCD's of same size will be even worse. Your only option will be to go for a upscaler AVR (but that's also not a great solution and picture will still be bad only) or HD DTH (Best option but not many HD channels available as of now).
kaushik_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th May 2010, 15:30   #23
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 360 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by throttleking View Post
problem is it shows video steaming effect at times, no consitency in colour across different channelt, blur faces and images, jerky, no sharpness, some of channels looks as if its a small size video and you are seeing a stretched version. Some pixel box effect, some channels or adds or movies or programs are dull....
Understand your problem now. It's got nothing to do with your TV.

The boxy effect, blurred images, no sharpness etc all are because of the TATA Sky's aggressive encoding of Mpeg video of many channels. They do this to save bandwidth and squeeze in lot of channels into the transport streams.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2010, 00:30   #24
BHPian
 
yogi1771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 631
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

After the recent software update everything has gone for a toss,the info banner takes more premium space on the TV,the sound levels have come down on a few channels,severe jerkiness on Discovery turbo.
yogi1771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2010, 08:46   #25
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 360 Times
Default

^^ It happens with every other service provider in India. When they start, everything is nice, quality of service will be amazing. (Be it DTH or ISP). After they get a good customer base, they start screwing things up.

As a matter of fact, there is no ISP that can offer good connection speed and reliability during peak hours in the evening. (At least in my place)
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2010, 11:18   #26
BHPian
 
throttleking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 780
Thanked: 336 Times
Default

So whats the choice we have? live with it till we get HD DTH?
throttleking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2010, 13:44   #27
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 185
Thanked: 46 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yogi1771 View Post
After the recent software update everything has gone for a toss,the info banner takes more premium space on the TV,the sound levels have come down on a few channels,severe jerkiness on Discovery turbo.
Absolutely.
The info banner has encroached upon a lot more real estate and it just obscures the screen content.
But the PQ also depends largely on the "Signal Quality" of tatasky. Picture looks good on a 42" plasma if signal quality is >90% and you begin to notice the diference if it falls to 80% or below.
anuragn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2010, 15:41   #28
Senior - BHPian
 
kaushik_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,061
Thanked: 147 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by throttleking View Post
So whats the choice we have? live with it till we get HD DTH?
Live with it for now. HD DTH is the way forward. Already quite a few service providers have started HD DTH and it does look good.
kaushik_s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2010, 23:21   #29
Senior - BHPian
 
jeepster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: MH24 aka LATUR
Posts: 1,521
Thanked: 941 Times
Default

guys i want to get tata sky on my PC. http://www.team-bhp.com/forum/2130620-post1608.html

i am using pixelview playtv pro4 internal card.
specifications are as follows.
Quote:
PixelView PlayTV Pro4 using Next Generation of Software and Hardware for Watching TV, listening to FM radio, playing game , even schedule recording with one remote control through Windows Vista ready TV tuner card. It's easy to install, play and watch TV comfortably in the living roon, all you have to do is just lay back and relax and rejoyyour Personal Home Theater.

Features

Watch TV on PC
Listen to FM Radio
Record TV/video into MPEG 1/2
Audio/Video input
Time-shifting
Schedule Recording
Stereo (Nicam/MTS)
ROHS ready
Vista ready
i have this cable.
Name:  compositesvideocable_medium.jpg
Views: 1449
Size:  3.7 KB
it has s-video in put so if i use a s-video to RCA wire, will it transmit audio as well?
i know that i can get video but what about audio?
i am confused.
Attached Images
    
jeepster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th November 2010, 09:09   #30
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,098
Thanked: 979 Times
Default

I have an LG 23" monitor+TV. It is awesome. There are a lot of connectors at the back - RGB, HDMI, DVI, PC in short you can use it as a source switch. I have connected the Tata Sky to it via the RGB connectors. The best part is that the monitor is HD.
LG M237WAP LCD Monitor - 23” Widescreen Multi-Function LCD Monitor/TV (23.0” diagonal) - LG Electronics IN
Aroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Touch Screen Rearview Mirror LCD Monitor With Parking Sensor System Neonfish In-Car Entertainment 4 9th October 2010 07:33
Ghost Image Formation in 2 Year Old 19" Widescreen LCD Monitor. Opinions required. aaggoswami Gadgets, Computers & Software 28 16th December 2009 11:53
LCD TV or (LCD montior+VGA Box) for Wii? ashwin489 Gadgets, Computers & Software 0 20th July 2009 14:33
Problem with wide screen LCD monitor resolution bill1182 Gadgets, Computers & Software 23 30th May 2009 02:29
From where to buy DELL LCD monitor in NCR? DCEite Gadgets, Computers & Software 6 26th January 2008 12:09


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:25.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks