Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th September 2008, 21:06   #76
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,818
Thanked: 1,439 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Steer: did you atleast found out the reason for additional data usage reported by your company users?
APPS. 90% of them seem to generate traffic in trickles all the time. My phone, for instance was generating traffic during the time I was asleep. And it wasnt MS Exchange data alone.

No wonder operators love the iPhone - they dont have to wait for the subscriber to generate usage, the phone does it for them!

And oh yes I received a Dhs.450 (Rs.5.5k) bill for roaming on AirTel in India when I'd visited IND for exactly 48 hours 2 weeks back.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2008, 22:15   #77
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,489
Thanked: 6,767 Times
Default

Does it have something to do with jail breaking and un approved apps?

I do have 3rd party apps which use connectivity and so far no change in data usage while on sleep. I have email sync on absolute manual mode, so am sure (no change on usage stat counter).
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th September 2008, 22:22   #78
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,818
Thanked: 1,439 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Does it have something to do with jail breaking and un approved apps?
Mine was not jailbroken when I came to India. It was using X-Sim, though.

My wife and son have monopolized the phone nowadays so I either have to actually BUY an iPhone or get them an iPod Touch - I keep missing calls, SMSs and emails when I'm at home because one of them is on the device full-time.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2008, 10:46   #79
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,489
Thanked: 6,767 Times
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
Mine was not jailbroken when I came to India. It was using X-Sim, though.

My wife and son have monopolized the phone nowadays so I either have to actually BUY an iPhone or get them an iPod Touch - I keep missing calls, SMSs and emails when I'm at home because one of them is on the device full-time.
I think you should just go back to BB which suites you better and gift an "i" to the family so when you get bored you can play with i

ok double checked on data usage and no issues here.

Another tip: Might be useful to some. There is a primary setting to disable email push/fetch etc under mail setting, but when you proceed further you can set the same for the individual email accounts. This is useful i say, coz i didnt want my personal id's to pull all the while and only official email ids to be ON. Me likes.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2008, 11:32   #80
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,818
Thanked: 1,439 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
I think you should just go back to BB which suites you better
What? And deny me the pleasure of needling you ? No way!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
and gift an "i" to the family
Done, already. 16gb yesterday. The good thing is we dont have to queue up in stores or listen to meaningless BS when we decide to buy one - pick up phone, dial and within 1/2 an hour it is delivered at home - WITH the smartsim to unlock.

Last edited by Steeroid : 5th September 2008 at 11:33.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2008, 19:49   #81
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,489
Thanked: 6,767 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
What? And deny me the pleasure of needling you ? No way!

Done, already. 16gb yesterday. The good thing is we dont have to queue up in stores or listen to meaningless BS when we decide to buy one - pick up phone, dial and within 1/2 an hour it is delivered at home - WITH the smartsim to unlock.

LOL am on "L" Board as they say!!

How much does the thingie cost you in DXB? And how much is smart sim?
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th September 2008, 21:25   #82
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,818
Thanked: 1,439 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
How much does the thingie cost you in DXB? And how much is smart sim?
3,200 (x11.5 for Rs.) with smartsim included. Stand-alone smart sim is Dhs.125 (also home delivered).

Samsung Omnia and HTC Touch Pro both launched here today for Dhs.3,400 (fully legal with Bill and Warranty) so we can expect iPhone prices to go into freefall now.

Last edited by Steeroid : 5th September 2008 at 21:27.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 12:06   #83
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,818
Thanked: 1,439 Times
Default

My iPhone experience comes to an end today - the phone was sold for Dhs.3,500 and I've picked up the demo piece from the office (which I have been using for a while now) at a good price so that the family can have one to play around with.

I'm off to buy the HTC Touch Pro with the 3,500.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2008, 23:04   #84
Senior - BHPian
 
m4ugr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,291
Thanked: 122 Times
Default

Everybody has good things to say about this device, here is my take!!

I picked up my Iphone 3G on Thursday via airtel. Everything was working fine but today when i take the phone out of my pocket to recieve a call, What i find is shocking.

The entire display of the phone is gone and what is left is a grey screen. The phone is functioning though, I can receive calls etc. I tried restoring the phone but to no avail.
Lets hope buying the phone officially on warranty comes to the rescue here!! I have to wait till tomorrow for airtel to inspect the problem.
m4ugr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2008, 20:47   #85
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,489
Thanked: 6,767 Times
Default

Is the screen stuck with Apple on screen?
Did you update firmware / jail break / loaded apps?
Also did you try restoring from a back up?
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2008, 21:17   #86
Senior - BHPian
 
m4ugr8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,291
Thanked: 122 Times
Default

No, The display is gone. Noting is coming up, Its just flickering with a Grey background!! Rest its working. You call and it rings, You try sliding the bottom part as you do and it answers the call also!!!

I didnt jailbreak or anything. Its hardware not software!! I tried restoring but to no avail!

I Submitted the phone to airtel today.Even they were shocked to see what has happened. The phone has been sent to Banglore and will take 10 Working Days to replace. Talk about good after sales service and this is what i have now, no phone for 10 Days!!!
m4ugr8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2008, 22:31   #87
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,489
Thanked: 6,767 Times
Default

Yup sounds like a hardware issue, atleast from what you explained.

Check with Airtel if they can give you a temp phone or something?
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 02:26   #88
BHPian
 
nitroxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: DXB
Posts: 817
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

Steer, let me know once you get it...I still have my option open for the HTC touch Pro..once I have your input I'm ready...
nitroxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 11:55   #89
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,818
Thanked: 1,439 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitroxx View Post
Steer, let me know once you get it...I still have my option open for the HTC touch Pro..once I have your input I'm ready...
Been using it since Sunday. Will post review soon.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2008, 21:33   #90
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,489
Thanked: 6,767 Times
Default Firmware upgraded to 2.1

I have upgraded and i like it, modem firmware has been upgraded (quite obvious since they needed to fix it).

Pretty good and am not kidding or hyping it, just click on the contacts and you will feel the diff in response!

Typing inside SMS has improved, faster.

SMS has multiple reminder chimes. Will remind you again after 5 mts.

Safari also has become snappier, and while typing the keyboard is much faster. Earlier it could get bogged down a lil.

In iTunes a new green bar will indicate the memory size of apps.

Back up is super fast, so sync time has come down.

Desktop shortcut from Safari can accept longer titles.

Overall all the stuff is much more snappier, and NO its not due to restart since i know/have seen how the diff with a restart feels like.

Last edited by Jaggu : 12th September 2008 at 22:16.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mad man shoots teenager for overtaking his Land Rover. UPDATE: Arrested GTO Street Experiences 47 14th May 2016 16:35
Iphone - now $100 since Iphone 3G S (speed) launched D-Man Gadgets, Computers & Software 32 14th February 2010 18:11
What new car\MUV -- ramblings of a mad man kpbhatt What Car? 17 29th June 2009 10:18


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:02.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks