Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23rd February 2009, 18:25   #151
Senior - BHPian
 
hydrashok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my Office
Posts: 2,528
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

@redrage, yep, it is worth a try. If you've backed up the important stuff, there is nothing to worry. The worst that can happen is that after you hard-reset the phone and reload the data and settings and apps it will behave the same as it does now.

Maybe you can hold off installing third-party apps that are non-essential for a few days after hard-resetting the phone. That way you can rule out any clash between the new FW and the 3rd-party app/s.
hydrashok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2009, 21:55   #152
BHPian
 
redrage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bengalooru
Posts: 545
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

Any particular code i need to type for the hard reset? or its just goto settings and reset it ? (Sorry for the dumb question but never have done a reset before)
redrage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd February 2009, 22:14   #153
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

normally nokia's default security code is 12345.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2009, 10:06   #154
Senior - BHPian
 
hydrashok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my Office
Posts: 2,528
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redrage View Post
Any particular code i need to type for the hard reset? or its just goto settings and reset it ?...
Whoops, just saw this now. Guess the night was wasted huh?

You have to type in *#7370# (star hash seven three seven zero hash) while in the 'desktop' (standby screen) to hard reset the phone. The phone might ask you for the security code, before it does the hard reset. If it does, type 12345 (I'll assume you haven't changed the default security code).

The hard reset will wipe all data and leave the phone with just the default software (just as it was, immediately after you updated the FW).

EDIT: Very important -- before you do a hard reset, make sure the battery is 100% full.

Last edited by hydrashok : 24th February 2009 at 10:08.
hydrashok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2009, 12:31   #155
BHPian
 
redrage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bengalooru
Posts: 545
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

Thanks for the info Hydra, I can restore my messages, contacts, notes, bookmarks right after i do the reset?? Only thing i wont be restoring is the settings...
redrage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2009, 13:21   #156
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 179
Thanked: 80 Times
Default Alas ... me too in the same boat...

Quote:
Originally Posted by viper View Post
Guys,

I had done the same to my phone and realized it was the biggest mistake I made. There are some very severe glitches in this upgrade. My phone started hanging, shutting down on its own and the worst of all was I could not restore backup to my phone even though it was taken via PC Suite.

The Nokia service centre confirmed there was a issue with the upgrade firmware.

Viper
Viper buddy,
wish you had posted this a day earlier and i would not be in the same boat as you
i downloaded the new firmwarre and now guess what...
the phone hangs when i start the Maps application and then it cannot be shut off except go back and remove the battery
tried it umpteen times.. doesnt help
Any fixes ???
the other features work well though....
Appreciate any help here...
Ram
pinnacle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2009, 14:12   #157
Senior - BHPian
 
nishantgandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 150 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinnacle View Post
Viper buddy,
wish you had posted this a day earlier and i would not be in the same boat as you
i downloaded the new firmwarre and now guess what...
the phone hangs when i start the Maps application and then it cannot be shut off except go back and remove the battery
tried it umpteen times.. doesnt help
Any fixes ???
the other features work well though....
Appreciate any help here...
Ram
I read reviews on the net about similar problems happening with the firmware upgrade on E51 also. Can users confirm?
nishantgandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2009, 20:46   #158
BHPian
 
gendarmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: India
Posts: 730
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinnacle View Post
The phone hangs when i start the Maps application and then it cannot be shut off except go back and remove the battery tried it umpteen times.
Similar thing happened with my phone after the upgrade. ( But, right after the upgrade i wasn't sure of whether the latest map would be loaded so i d/led and drag-drop installed the version of Nokia maps.)

The first time i opened maps, after that and okayed go online now(on start-up), the phone hung. I turned it off and on with the power button. (first crash)
Next time i opened maps i clicked no for go online now(on start-up), maps works fine.
3 days later i took a chance hit yes to go online now(on start-up), and to my surprise it didnt hang and worked w/o a hitch.
Other than that, only voice dialing causes a restart at times.
OT- how do u remove the battery? I find it tough to remove w/o using an object as a lever.
gendarmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2009, 20:53   #159
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 179
Thanked: 80 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gendarmee View Post
OT- how do u remove the battery? I find it tough to remove w/o using an object as a lever.
Do you difficulty removin the back cover or the battery itself ?
The side locks to remove the cover is fairly simple..
As for the battery removal, the location above the SIM card has a slot where u simply insert a finger and lift the batt with your nail...

i tried using the options u suggested for the maps, but no use
it still hangs
is there no way i can go to the old firmware ?
Ram
pinnacle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2009, 21:57   #160
BHPian
 
gendarmee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: India
Posts: 730
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinnacle View Post
As for the battery removal, the location above the SIM card has a slot where u simply insert a finger and lift the batt with your nail...

i tried using the options u suggested for the maps, but no use
I didnt suggest anything, i just mentioned my experience.
For removing the battery, not the battery cover.
My phones battey is stuck with a vice like grip, need to use a metal object to remove it. using the nail is no good.
Do you have any 3rd party s/w on it?
gendarmee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2009, 22:34   #161
BHPian
 
redrage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bengalooru
Posts: 545
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

New firmware not working guys, i tried everythin include hard reset, removed all third party too, still when the phone restarts it shows installing something. Then says untrusted data on memory card.... My Mail Notifications also are just not showing up. I would like to comment that the Micro SD card provided by Nokia is utter crap... Just keeps flashing or getting reset now and then deleting all my messages. I am planning on putting a new card.

Cursing myself going for a symbian phone. My 6600 was like this followed by my N70 which was the crappiest of the lot. Now an E-Series. Guess i gotta look for an alternative.
redrage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2009, 10:48   #162
IMP
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Pune
Posts: 117
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by redrage View Post
New firmware not working guys, i tried everythin include hard reset, removed all third party too, still when the phone restarts it shows installing something.
How old is your sim card? That is the sim menu being installed on your phone, e.g. my phone has the Airtel Live! icon added, this icon is the sim menu. Try with another sim card, one which was bought recently. Many times its the sim that is faulty, it happened to me once.
IMP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2009, 12:13   #163
BHPian
 
redrage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Bengalooru
Posts: 545
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

Its not the sim card for sure , My Sim card is just about a couple of months old and i shuttle between Blore and Chennai and use 2 sims. Irrespective of the sim there is a problem, i guess it is some faulty data on my memory card. Need to format it and try.
redrage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2009, 13:42   #164
Senior - BHPian
 
hydrashok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: In my Office
Posts: 2,528
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

That's bad news. redrage. Looks like the FW upgrade is a big PITA. :(

The phone automatically starts installing stuff probably because of some 3rd party apps having been installed on the MicroSDHC card. Yep, formatting it and trying it again could be a good idea. Also, not keeping the MicroSDHC card in the card-slot while hard-resetting could be a good idea.

I'd heard Nokia Maps had given issues to quite a few phones (across a few models) with new FW updates. But that is only when the Maps program is started.
hydrashok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2009, 11:40   #165
Senior - BHPian
 
nishantgandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 150 Times
Default Some queries

Guys,

I am looking at Nokia E71, but have a few questions:

1. Is the speaker/call quality (i.e. the other person's voice) a major problem? I had an E61i before and faced very low speaker voice, maybe because of the form factor of the form. Is it so in E71's case as well?

What I want is a speaker that belts out voice loud enough to be heard clearly in crowded places/traffic.

2. How does the GPS thingy work? After the 3 months of free usage, what is the subscription charge? Are there any alternative/free/cheaper (but effective) GPS applications?

3. Do you need to have a special GPRS data plan for the GPS, or does a plain vanilla Vodafone Live (pay per use) plan work fine?

4. Is there a newer firmware than 200.21.118? I read a lot of 'major' glitches in this version at least! (Read Viper's review. He had to sell the phone! Now thats 'SERIOUS')
nishantgandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting Nokia E71 to Kenwood KDC-X8016BT Hummer.Rulez In-Car Entertainment 3 12th June 2010 18:55
Software Dev. Engineer v/s Software Test Engineer DCEite Shifting gears 50 14th April 2008 13:10
Nokia N82 & N95 new software versions released (March/April 08) nishantgandhi Gadgets, Computers & Software 6 9th April 2008 16:54
NOKIA 9300 software Upgrade. zulfikar Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 13th February 2006 14:03
nokia 7610 v/s nokia 6600 normally_crazy Shifting gears 2 21st August 2004 18:19


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:36.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks