Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 9th September 2008, 14:15   #1
BANNED
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London
Posts: 5,012
Thanked: 147 Times
Default HELP!! microsoft outlook!!

Guys, i need someones help. I need to get my Hotmail account on Outlook. How do i do it?
Cyrus43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 14:23   #2
Distinguished - BHPian
 
supremeBaleno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Weekdays@Chennai, Weekends@Kerala
Posts: 5,136
Thanked: 1,563 Times
Default

I don't think it is possible to get your hotmail a/c on Outlook. I remember trying to get my Dad's a/c onto Outlook but it would not allow it.

But you could get it on OutlookExpress (OE) which comes free with Windows.
However, here also they have some restrictions as to email accounts opened before a certain date only can be added. I have my hotmail account on OE, but wasn't able to do it for my wife's account which is more recent than mine.
supremeBaleno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 14:26   #3
BANNED
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London
Posts: 5,012
Thanked: 147 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supremeBaleno View Post
I don't think it is possible to get your hotmail a/c on Outlook. I remember trying to get my Dad's a/c onto Outlook but it would not allow it.

But you could get it on OutlookExpress (OE) which comes free with Windows.
However, here also they have some restrictions as to email accounts opened before a certain date only can be added. I have my hotmail account on OE, but wasn't able to do it for my wife's account which is more recent than mine.
well, my hotmail acc was created in 2002 so i dont think the date should be a problem.
Cyrus43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 14:31   #4
Team-BHP Support
 
bblost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,553
Thanked: 6,310 Times
Default

http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/ou...218231033.aspx
bblost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 14:31   #5
Distinguished - BHPian
 
supremeBaleno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Weekdays@Chennai, Weekends@Kerala
Posts: 5,136
Thanked: 1,563 Times
Default

Dont remember the cut-off date/year. Just now tried it for my Dad's a/c which is maybe 3-4 years old max and the error message I get is :

"Hotmail no longer allows email access via Outlook Express for free email accounts.
Access to hotmail via Outlook and Outlook Express now requires a subscription. Please sign up at Windows Live"
supremeBaleno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 14:33   #6
BHPian
 
pramods's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Nagpur
Posts: 853
Thanked: 367 Times
Default

I am not sure which version of Outlook you are using, but if you are using Outlook 2007, here are the simple steps that you can follow to configure the hotmail.

Assuming you already have outlook for some other account working,
Step 1: go to menu Tools--> Account Settings...
Step 2: Select New
Step 3: Select option Microsoft Exchange,POP3,IMAP or HTTP and press Next
Step 4: Enter you information and press Next
Step 5: Wait for outlook to get the configuration and press Finish.
Step 6: Start using Hotmail :-)

Outlook usages HTTP access for Hotmail.

I hope you get this message early, as my messages are moderated message

-Pramod
pramods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 14:34   #7
BANNED
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: London
Posts: 5,012
Thanked: 147 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bblost View Post
thanks, this will be helpfull in the future too!!
Cyrus43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 14:35   #8
Distinguished - BHPian
 
supremeBaleno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Weekdays@Chennai, Weekends@Kerala
Posts: 5,136
Thanked: 1,563 Times
Default

Ok, looks like there is a workaround, as posted by bblost. So, no need to get a paid subscription. Thanks for that, bblost.
supremeBaleno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 14:49   #9
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,043
Thanked: 13,496 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by supremeBaleno View Post
I don't think it is possible to get your hotmail a/c on Outlook. I remember trying to get my Dad's a/c onto Outlook but it would not allow it.
My hotmail worked with Outlook 2003 and now works with Outlook 2007. My account was created in 1997. Mine is not a paid account either, but... it is linked to my MSDN premium subscription. I guess that is what makes it tick.

Last edited by Samurai : 9th September 2008 at 14:51.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 15:14   #10
Team-BHP Support
 
moralfibre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MH-12
Posts: 6,563
Thanked: 6,029 Times
Default

As long as your mail service provider has POP3 / IMAP access available, you can configure any mail account on Outlook. I use Gmail on POP3.
moralfibre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 17:40   #11
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 46,562
Thanked: 80,413 Times
Default

Quote:
My account was created in 1997. Mine is not a paid account either, but... it is linked to my MSDN premium subscription. I guess that is what makes it tick.
Two hotmail accounts here, working seamlessly with OE. The older one is from 97ish while the other is a Y2000. No premium links.
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 17:46   #12
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,043
Thanked: 13,496 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
Two hotmail accounts here, working seamlessly with OE. The older one is from 97ish while the other is a Y2000. No premium links.
The problem is with Outlook, not Outlook express.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 17:53   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
ASHISHPALLOD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: BRMT
Posts: 1,987
Thanked: 283 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moralfibre View Post
As long as your mail service provider has POP3 / IMAP access available, you can configure any mail account on Outlook. I use Gmail on POP3.
yes,
if service provider has pop3 access, mail a/c on OE will work.
my free rediffmail a/c works on OE seamlessly.
ASHISHPALLOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 19:34   #14
BHPian
 
nemo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 168
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

try MS outlook connector, it's an addin to the outlook and it works like a charm

Download details: Microsoft Office Outlook Connector
nemo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th September 2008, 20:21   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
spadival's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 1,770
Thanked: 15 Times
Default

Is there any free Microsoft Exchange based email account?

Currently all my contacts on the phone are synced with my company's Exchange server. But I need an alternative option when I leave my company.
spadival is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toyota Q4 profit dips 28%. Grim 09 Outlook amit The International Automotive Scene 11 12th May 2008 13:02
MS Outlook problem abhibh Gadgets, Computers & Software 4 17th August 2007 12:26
Microsoft Outlook Problem abhibh Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 12th June 2007 23:15
Impure for sure! Excerpts from Outlook 4/4 issue amitoj The Indian Car Scene 25 9th May 2006 16:55
MS Outlook - Help normally_crazy Gadgets, Computers & Software 17 6th May 2006 13:24


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 02:38.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks