Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17th October 2008, 16:15   #1
Newbie
 
bheem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 16
Thanked: 0 Times
Smile Help me config a new system for Music sequencing and Mixing

Hi all,

I need a new config for approx 19~20k. I use Cubase SX4, FL Studio 8 and CPU hungry VSTis.

I have decided on.,

Processor: Intel E7200 Core2duo 2.53 Ghz
Ram: 2 x 2gb Transcend 800mhz
HDD: 640 GB 32MB cache SATA - seagate
Motherboard: ?
Graphic card: ?
Cabinet: ?
UPS: ?
Optical : Samsung DVD writer

I already have a monitor.

What i need:

(i) I need a compatible mother board with enough PCI, pci express slots. 4 for sound card to be installed., 4 ram slots, 2 IDE (for DVD combo and hard disks i already have) and 4 SATA slots (for new hard disks), 4-6 USB ports, Firewire ports preferred, Even a digital coaxial audio port is a plus.

(ii) Is a graphic card needed? if so which one? i have no idea about these.

(iii) Moderate cabinet. What SMPS? to handle all these?

(iv) Which UPS?

All of these under 20k please.

Additional Info: Where can i get these at competitive prices in Chennai?
Thanks in advance.
bheem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2008, 20:48   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

1) Processor : E7200 Approx. 6-6.5K
2) Motherboard : Intel G33 based Intel Original board( DG33FB ). Approx 5.1-5.5k
3) HDD : Approx 3.5-4.0K
4) Cabinet : Iball iBenz Approx 2k
5) SMPS : 400W ( comes with cabinet ).
6) DVD Writer : Go for LG Rs. 1100
7) RAM : Approx. 1.8-2.0k

Already : Rs. 19500 - 21100

8) Graphics Card : Depends upon requirement. I would recommed nVidia 9400, Approx. 3500.

So total Rs. 23000 - 24600.

Last edited by aaggoswami : 17th October 2008 at 20:57.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2008, 21:09   #3
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chennai
Posts: 46
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bheem View Post
What i need:

(i) I need a compatible mother board with enough PCI, pci express slots. 4 for sound card to be installed., 4 ram slots, 2 IDE (for DVD combo and hard disks i already have) and 4 SATA slots (for new hard disks), 4-6 USB ports, Firewire ports preferred, Even a digital coaxial audio port is a plus.

(ii) Is a graphic card needed? if so which one? i have no idea about these.

(iii) Moderate cabinet. What SMPS? to handle all these?

(iv) Which UPS?

All of these under 20k please.

Additional Info: Where can i get these at competitive prices in Chennai?
Thanks in advance.
You can walk around the ritchie street market to find the prices. There willonly be a difference of a few hundred rupeed in the prices between most dealers.

1. Motherboard - walk around the market and ask the dealers to show you the models available and check if they have what you need. You pick a model here and there is a good chance that it is not in stock or has not arrives.

2. As long as youre not going to play games and heavy ones at that there is no need for an extra graphics card. stick to whats built in and save money for the rest.

3. You are going to put in 4 sound cards and a mammoth 640 GB HDD right? that is what your post says - Do not skimp on the cabinet and SMPS. go for something professional you should be able to get ANTEC parts from ritchie street. Your system is heavely loaded and will experience a lot of problems if you do not have an adequate SMPS.

Check deltapage.com for approximate chennai prices, these are invariable on the high side. you should be able to find things at atleast Rs 100 to 200 (even more sometimes but you gotta HAGGLE) less at other shops in the area.

4 UPS - well i havent run my rig on a UPS for the past 2 years since the battery on my APC died so no recommendations.
JagMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th October 2008, 21:45   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,711
Thanked: 1,084 Times
Default

4 PCI slots is gonna be tough.

2 interesting motherboards
GIGABYTE - Product - Motherboard - Overview - GA-MA78GM-S2H (rev.1.0)

bit-tech.net | Review - Zotac GeForce 9300 (MCP7a) motherboard

where in chennai? delta probably. but if you've got time , head out to ritchie and find out yourself

Last edited by greenhorn : 17th October 2008 at 21:46.
greenhorn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2008, 00:09   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,177
Thanked: 1,105 Times
Default

Getting a board with 4PCI slots and 2 IDE slots is impossible now.
reignofchaos is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2008, 09:17   #6
BHPian
 
ibm_jennifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Chennai
Posts: 529
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

What about Sound Card?
ibm_jennifer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th October 2008, 16:34   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

The biggest concern here is the limited cost.
There are very limited boards that offer 2 IDE ports on motherboard i.e. allows total of four IDE devices. But I am not sure these boards are available for Intel platform.
Same applies for PCI slots. Max is three ( the board mentioned by me has three ).
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2008, 11:09   #8
Newbie
 
bheem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 16
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Thanks to all.,
As far as PCI slots are concerned, i can adjust with 2 and IDE with one slot is ok., the thing is i have to copy everything into a single hard disk.

Do DVD RW drives come with SATA connectivity now?

As for the sound card am planning to go with either M-Audio Audiophile 192 or Line 6 Toneport UX1.
bheem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2008, 11:30   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,711
Thanked: 1,084 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bheem View Post
Do DVD RW drives come with SATA connectivity now?
they come in both IDE and SATA

PS: any plans for RAID ?
greenhorn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2008, 13:15   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

DVD RW comes in both SATA and IDE formats.
I have both with me.
IDE is from Samsung, which just can read and cannot write. If assigned job to write it says " Power Calibration Error ".
SATA DVD RW drive is from LG. Bought it for Rs. 1100 from wholesaler. Works in fantabulous manner. It is also faster ( specially when I am installing OS ).

The price I have quoted in reply no. 2 in this thread is for SATA drive.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th October 2008, 13:35   #11
Newbie
 
bheem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 16
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

@Greenhorn: As of now, no plans of RAID. May be later.
@Aagoswami: Oh, thanks. I already have a DVD combo which is an IDE, will be DVD writer - SATA.
bheem is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mixing tube and tubeless tyres achinthg Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 22 4th August 2014 19:25
Help with Computer Config BUSA Gadgets, Computers & Software 795 20th December 2012 23:29
Mixing Naphtha with Petrol? rakowli Technical Stuff 18 18th May 2011 11:49
Mixing different coolant brands greenhorn Technical Stuff 21 7th October 2009 16:08
Audio Config For My Bro's New Swift.... freakrz In-Car Entertainment 36 10th March 2006 22:25


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:19.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks