Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25th March 2010, 18:07   #76
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,635
Thanked: 1,343 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
For more than a year now, all our 3 offices are connected to each other via permanent VPN using Cisco ASA 5505 at each branch. It is working out very well, you could call me a happy customer. BTW, I learnt to configure it myself.

Thanks for all the support and guidance I received here.

Now I need one for another location in India. But I do not dare use the same vendor because of the above reason.

I need the basic version: ASA5505-BUN-K9 + smartnet support.

Is there a vendor in Bangalore from whom I can buy Cisco ASA 5505 quickly?
Try Datacraft; been doing business with them for sometime now.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2010, 16:30   #77
BHPian
 
Rocky_Balboa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Namma Bengalooru
Posts: 580
Thanked: 54 Times
Default

I heard Microtek also stocks Cisco devices, Sigma Networks is another.
Rocky_Balboa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2010, 23:20   #78
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,042
Thanked: 13,490 Times
Default

Thanks guys, so I have 3 names, Datacraft, Microtek & Sigma Networks.

Do they really keep inventory? I am asking this because lot of vendors lie about their stock, take advance and then don't deliver. Currently I am undergoing a painful experience with a Polycom reseller who took 100% advance and not delivering. I'll post that story separately later if it doesn't get resolved soon.

Is there some company/shop in Bangalore where I can pay via CC/Cheque/DD and pickup this equipment?
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2010, 02:03   #79
BHPian
 
jassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 980
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

^^ Samurai - Datacraft is reliable enough as they are a tier 1 partner. So are wipro and hcl comnet. There are also the tier 2 partners, but there are too many of them to name here.
Unfortunately the ASA is not a consumer product (unlike the linksys line of products) and hence cannot be picked up at stores yet :-)
One piece of info - lead times are higher these days due very high demand with sudden splurge of buyers coming out of recession so plan to order in advance!
Check with your partner tier1 or 2 if they have a spare/rental (they should foot the 4k per month rental cost for a spare 5505) while your order is being shipped.

Last edited by jassi : 27th March 2010 at 02:04.
jassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2010, 11:44   #80
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,042
Thanked: 13,490 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jassi View Post
Unfortunately the ASA is not a consumer product (unlike the linksys line of products) and hence cannot be picked up at stores yet :-)
Sigh! When will they start selling these basic products over the counter.

This often happens to me. My boss buys some product in US over the counter or online, likes it, and tells me to get the same in India. I say OK and try buying it...and BAM!

"We will give you a quote."

a week later

"Here is the quote, deliver within 8-10 weeks after receiving 100% advance."

Therefore, I mostly go with my local dealer who doesn't ask for 100% advance or any advance. Deliver takes time, but at least my money is not held up.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2010, 13:11   #81
BHPian
 
jassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 980
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

^^ Samurai - I meant the ASA is not a consumer product globally (not just india) - can be only bought from Cisco channel partners and not picked up at any store :-)
jassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2010, 14:02   #82
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,042
Thanked: 13,490 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jassi View Post
^^ Samurai - I meant the ASA is not a consumer product globally (not just india) - can be only bought from Cisco channel partners and not picked up at any store :-)
But I ordered it online for our US locations. It is available online: Cisco ASA5505 Hardware Firewalls and Adaptive Security Solutions.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2010, 16:36   #83
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

Two things:

1. With his much lead time (8 weeks), it might be easier to import. UPS can take care of customs + shipping etc in just 4 - 5 days. In case of IT equipment, customs duty is not that high.

2. If you have some time, you can look at Vyatta. Its open source router/firewall that can be deployed on standard PC hardware.

Its command line interface is same as Cisco, so the experience and Knowledge of Cisco is not wasted.

I deployed it as VPN + router solution for a IT development company that has 2 offices in US and 3 offices in India. Company is small and could not afford to spend too much money on infrastructure. With Vyatta, cost is 2 barebone PCs in each office + 8 port switch (or even hub).

It needs 2 PCs, so that these PCs are clustered and failure of cheap CPU/RAM does not mean connectivity loss for office.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2010, 16:53   #84
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,042
Thanked: 13,490 Times
Default

Yeah, I might consider importing it. I need to mate it with 5505 in other offices using permanent VPN. Want to stick with 5505 for now, keep it simple.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2010, 18:41   #85
BHPian
 
jassi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 980
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

yeah maybe I was wrong - you really can buy anything online :-) just not in india because of custom rules!
But be careful, you get the support with the box, so that if things go wrong you can get help from Cisco
jassi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2010, 21:38   #86
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,042
Thanked: 13,490 Times
Default

Unbelievable! The Cisco ASA 5505 is out of stock worldwide. Nobody expects new stock for next two months.

Now, I need a firewall device to connect as IPSec VPN peer to three other Cisco ASA 5505 devices. Is there some competing product that can do this? Anything from Juniper?
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2010, 21:57   #87
BHPian
 
deepakchiniwal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 347
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

I guess the SSG140 or SSG20 should do the trick.

SSG 20 would just meet your requirement (going by Specs of ASA5505). SSG140 is more robust model compared to ASA series of Cisco.

SSG20 has only about 40Mbps thruput on 3DES IPSec VPN while the Cisco ASA 5505 has about 100 Mbps if that is one of your criteria.

Plus, setting up IPSec Tunnels, troubleshooting on Juniper's device is breeze. In typical TBHP language 0-100 is flat 6 secs

The other best part of SSG20 is you can opt for the Wireless module.

Last edited by deepakchiniwal : 29th March 2010 at 22:01.
deepakchiniwal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2010, 22:27   #88
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,042
Thanked: 13,490 Times
Default

Looks like even SSG5 should do the trick considering the specs. Even SSG5 is much expensive than the ASA 5505.

The Juniper SSG5 should work with ASA 5505 as IPSec VPN peer I guess. Is that right?

If there is no other choice, I'll take the SSG5.

Last edited by Samurai : 29th March 2010 at 23:01.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2010, 22:57   #89
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 468
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

U may try FortiGate or even Cyberoam.
Elito11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2010, 23:12   #90
BHPian
 
deepakchiniwal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 347
Thanked: 27 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Looks like even SSG5 should do the trick considering the specs. Even SSG5 is much expensive than the ASA 5505.

The Juniper SSG5 should work with ASA 5505 as IPSec VPN peer I guess. Is that right?

If there is no other choice, I'll take the SSG5.
Yes SSG5 works with ASA 5505 as IPSec VPN Peer.

You will never regret once you Juniper devices, considering the fact in ease of use.

There are other cheap firewall's available, but SSG5 is my choice.
deepakchiniwal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Office Firewall blocks Team-BHP - Proxying Team-BHP? shreeks Gadgets, Computers & Software 26 27th March 2017 21:05
How to seal the firewall opening? Gill In-Car Entertainment 8 3rd March 2010 23:07
Xenos Firewall 350 - safety / convenience system gbpscars Modifications & Accessories 8 28th September 2007 11:53
FTP Server/Firewall/Settings johy Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 29th September 2006 11:48
Help: Zone alarm Firewall . unknown Shifting gears 17 25th September 2006 20:04


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:05.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks