Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th January 2011, 15:52   #136
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: DL9C
Posts: 2,385
Thanked: 1,983 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

What happens to 2G after 3G? Do people HAVE to move or is it optional and one can continue on 2G/EDGE ?
Dry Ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2011, 15:54   #137
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,515 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dry Ice View Post
What happens to 2G after 3G? Do people HAVE to move or is it optional and one can continue on 2G/EDGE ?
its optional. c'mon, you think many people would pay 750/- for 2GB on 3G where they can get the same for 98/- on 2G!
IronH4WK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2011, 15:59   #138
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: DL9C
Posts: 2,385
Thanked: 1,983 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
its optional. c'mon, you think many people would pay 750/- for 2GB on 3G where they can get the same for 98/- on 2G!
Exactly. I am in the 'many people' category.
So far am happy with EDGE, moreover, Airtel 3G ain't here yet in Hyd, so...
Dry Ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2011, 16:13   #139
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,139
Thanked: 1,898 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Does Vodafone has 3G in Mumbai?
Not yet.

Does anyone know when it's likely to start?
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2011, 16:44   #140
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: bangalore
Posts: 161
Thanked: 71 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pri2 View Post
3G is still not working in my area, Both at office (Manyata tech park) and home (CV Raman Nagar) and since yesterday the edge connection too is intermittent.

This is what I wrote to Airtel:
"Hi,

When are you going to launch 3G services in Bangalore?
Edge too isn't working on my phone since your so called "3G launch". Please
fix the issue ASAP or else I am switching to another operator.

Thank you. "

And this was their response :

Dear Customer,

Thank you for writing to airtel.

With reference to your e-mail dated 27/01/2011, you have inquired about of launc of 3G service and Edge service not working for your airtel mobile number XXXXXXXXXXX

We apologize for the inconvenience caused in this regard.

We wish to inform you that airtel had launched 3G services in Bangalore with effect from 26-01-11 and launch of 3G in rest of Karnataka will be done shortly.

Further, we would like to inform you that you would get only 3G signal, as the same has already been launched.
Yours Sincerely,

Customer Care
Bharti Airtel Limited
The airtel 3G bandwagon (actually a bus converted to be a 3G demo place) had come to our office on Outer Ring Road. Went in and checked the speed, was about 750-790 kbps max. Folks inside were promising 21mbps.... 4-5mbps is good enough, am not after 21mbps...!!! So much for advertising.

Heard that Airtel 3G coverage in CV Raman Nagar is quite spotty
xotiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2011, 17:28   #141
BHPian
 
yajaman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: bangalore
Posts: 366
Thanked: 119 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

I have my phone configured to receive my office Exchange mail , it used to work seamlessly with Edge. I got 3G activated now i am seeing an issue were the mail stops syncing.
Even if i press the manual sync option it does not, i would need to reboot my phone and then it works for some time and stops syncing again.
Anyone else on 3G facing this ?
yajaman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2011, 18:36   #142
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,515 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by yajaman99 View Post
I have my phone configured to receive my office Exchange mail , it used to work seamlessly with Edge. I got 3G activated now i am seeing an issue were the mail stops syncing.
Even if i press the manual sync option it does not, i would need to reboot my phone and then it works for some time and stops syncing again.
Anyone else on 3G facing this ?
3G is still unstable. i had similar problem with Microsoft MyPhone today. it didn't sync because of connectivity issues. there are some times of the day when i can't browse anything on the phone.
IronH4WK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2011, 18:38   #143
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: bangalore
Posts: 161
Thanked: 71 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by yajaman99 View Post
I have my phone configured to receive my office Exchange mail , it used to work seamlessly with Edge. I got 3G activated now i am seeing an issue were the mail stops syncing.
Even if i press the manual sync option it does not, i would need to reboot my phone and then it works for some time and stops syncing again.
Anyone else on 3G facing this ?
WHich phone are you using, and the telecom company?
xotiq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2011, 19:05   #144
BHPian
 
yajaman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: bangalore
Posts: 366
Thanked: 119 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

@IronHawk - guess till it becomes stable a reboot of the phone is the only workaround.
But when it works, watching youtube stream seamless is really nice.
@xotiq - I have the Samsung Wave with Airtel 3G.
yajaman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2011, 14:15   #145
BHPian
 
sourav9385's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: London, U.K
Posts: 424
Thanked: 716 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Just activated the 10MB trial pack for Airtel 3G on my iPhone 4 by paying Rs 8. Initial speed test results on the speedtest app show 1.17Mbps as download and .42Mbps as upload.



Fairly decent speed I'd say. Although the charges are absolutely ridiculous. Charges as per the Airtel SMS for 3G plans are :

1. Rs 8 Free 10MB.
2. Rs 63 Free 65MB.
3. Rs 101 Free 100MB.
4. Rs 201 Free 250MB.
5. Rs 451 Free 600MB.
6. Rs 751 Free 2GB.
7. Rs 675 Free 1.25GB.
sourav9385 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2011, 17:19   #146
Team-BHP Support
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 11,727
Thanked: 9,037 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

3 calls to airtel, no sign of 3G so far ...bahhh
ajmat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2011, 19:27   #147
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 121
Thanked: 16 Times
Default iphone 3gs my experience

I have been on my 99 unlimted 2gb plan of airtel. Didnt do anything specific to 3G and it started working automatically. Got an SMS saying i will be on 3G speeds till my data reaches my plan limit and after that i will be charged 20p/30kb.

I get speeds of around 3mbps at home in bg road and 1 mbps at office in electronic city.

Havent been able to watch youtube videos over 3G network. It says "This movie cannot be played". Same can be played over the home wifi network. Let me know if other iphone users are facing this issue? Also, the internet tethering stopped working since the 3G has been launched.

I called 12118 to get this resolved and I was put on hold initially saying the problem is with the website. The executive put me on hold further for another 45 mins with no response and the call got disconnected. I think this is the new way for airtel to make money on their support numbers which are now charged.

Overall I am unhappy lately with airtel . The problems with airtel broadband will warrant another thread as such, having been advertising 4mbps speeds but they wont provide to most areas.
ramkris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2011, 22:10   #148
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
The pricing seems to be unrealistically high. Why pay 750 for 2GB ? We were paying only 98 for this before in 2G, why so much now ? Makes this unattractive, have changed over anyway to feel the speed.


Quote:
Originally Posted by bottle View Post
Please post your impressions once you have used it for a while, I'm also debating whether to change over. I only use net on phone occasionally (though on urgent basis) to check mails and for maps so am ok with the plans but want to know if theres a significant improvement. I have heard people in Bangalore complain about service disruption and such which I rather not get into
Moving to 3g in airtel is just a sms away. You send 3g to 121 and the next minute you are on 3g, this is how i got connected to 3g. But looking at the data plans, i was very disappointed, still i wanted to feel it. SO tried subscribing to the minimum 10mb for Rs.8 plan, but did not go through, so ditched it after 2 attempts. I am always on the 2GB for Rs.98 plan. So i started using this one, but found it to be suddenly very very fast. I thought maybe all of 'em have switched to 3g, so i am getting all the bandwidth in 2g. But today i was downloading games and videos which ranged from 2MB to 25 Mb and saw that these were done in less than a minute. I wonder how airtel let me do this, so now I have gone 1 step beyond and am downloading a movie(700MB). Will put up the experience after it is done, so far i have seen that the DL speed varies from 0kbps to 177kbps. Will let you know after it is complete.

BTW, i am doing all this on my Nokia 5230, not connected to the PC.
cheers

Last edited by esteem_lover : 29th January 2011 at 22:11.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2011, 22:59   #149
Senior - BHPian
 
joshguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,358
Thanked: 88 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by ajmat View Post
3 calls to airtel, no sign of 3G so far ...bahhh

i called airtel once and they told me it will be active in 4hours,but got activated in 10 mins

But during the call i asked the CCE whether i need to change phone settings he said no,still i had a doubt so called again and they asked me to change network setting to dual mode

So people using 3g be aware
joshguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2011, 23:42   #150
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Just finished the download. Here are the stats;

File Size : 752 MB (including the browsing data to start the download)
Time taken : 2 Hrs 50 mins ( again including the browsing time to start the download)
Max download speed: 212 kbps
Min download speed: 0-4 kbps
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Arrived Atlast KarriS Introduce yourself 2 2nd January 2009 01:07
Atlast booking a Swift VXI + ABS Edit: Bought Black VDI Now pitchucold Hatchbacks 37 30th May 2008 20:56
Atlast I am in !!! smokin Introduce yourself 11 25th May 2008 12:39
A car PC atlast! jkdas In-Car Entertainment 14 26th July 2006 14:46
Introducing DRC, atlast DRC Introduce yourself 6 16th April 2005 23:13


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 00:05.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks