Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd February 2011, 19:40   #196
BHPian
 
mashmash's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 348
Thanked: 110 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Any clue when and who gets launch 3G in Hyderabad? Is the battery consumption the same when using 3G?
mashmash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2011, 20:57   #197
BHPian
 
Pri2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bangalore / Mangalore
Posts: 195
Thanked: 85 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by patron View Post
Under settings >Wireless & networks>mobile networks>Use only 2g Networks - select the check box. You are done, no more 3g for you.



Not sure how true this is but we had some people from Idea who visited our office to sell some corporate connections and according to them, the providers have agreed to share the 3g networks amongst themselves (eg. Karnataka - Idea - No 3G, so they share with Airtel and vice versa in other circles). They said 3g on Idea will be launched on 15th March. They also said that the pricing will be kind of 'cartel'ized and will not come down unless one of the providers decides to ditch the others.

So expect 3g services from Vodafone and other providers too soon in KK.

My bad, looks like Vodafone will be providing 3G services in Karnataka by partnership with some other operator who has got the 3G license. Last night the Vodafone network was down for about 10 mins in my area and during that time they had enabled 3G signals. All I could see was 3.5G on my phone without any GSM signal bars.

Last edited by Pri2 : 3rd February 2011 at 21:16.
Pri2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2011, 21:20   #198
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,513 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

been to Yeshwantpur and BIAL today. 3G network was pretty stable in these areas and also enroute.
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2011, 23:11   #199
Senior - BHPian
 
vinaydas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 1,355
Thanked: 82 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Haha! It is rather amusing watching people scurry for 3g enabled area's.
I recently traveled To Chennai from Bangalore via and I had 75% coverage in terms of 3g on the road.
BSNL is clearly Unparalleled in terms of 3G coverage and the data plans it provides.
only thing that BSNL lacks is quality of service.
vinaydas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2011, 11:06   #200
BHPian
 
Neilguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 172
Thanked: 51 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by vinaydas View Post
Haha! It is rather amusing watching people scurry for 3g enabled area's.
I recently traveled To Chennai from Bangalore via and I had 75% coverage in terms of 3g on the road.
BSNL is clearly Unparalleled in terms of 3G coverage and the data plans it provides.
only thing that BSNL lacks is quality of service.
BSNL 3G is great as long as you plan to stick to the southern region or in other people's case, their home region (western, north etc). Once you go out of your home region, sorry dude, no data for you, not even pithy EDGE or GPRS, let alone 3G! I had very bad experiences when I went from Hyd to Pune and Mumbai. But in KA and KL the connectivity was fantastic, in full 3G!
Neilguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2011, 11:34   #201
Team-BHP Support
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 11,725
Thanked: 9,036 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Got 3G for 3 seconds and then poof - this is frsutrating
ajmat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2011, 11:35   #202
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neilguy View Post
I had very bad experiences when I went from Hyd to Pune and Mumbai. But in KA and KL the connectivity was fantastic, in full 3G!
Yes i had similar experience when i went to MH, hours with customer care on phone did not help a bit. Any idea how to solve this?
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2011, 12:37   #203
Senior - BHPian
 
bottle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Chennai
Posts: 1,488
Thanked: 131 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Finally on 3g, sent the SMS day before but it didn't get activated. Gave a call to Airtel CC and was told some story that 3G would get activated only if video call facility is enabled. Gave the go ahead and got the confirmation instantly.


Last edited by bottle : 4th February 2011 at 13:12.
bottle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2011, 12:44   #204
BHPian
 
Neilguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 172
Thanked: 51 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Yes i had similar experience when i went to MH, hours with customer care on phone did not help a bit. Any idea how to solve this?
Port your number from BSNL to another operator that works pan India
Thats what I finally did after getting fed up of getting the short end of the stick so many times. And, to top it all, I didn't always have BSNL connectivity in the far flung areas that I'd hoped it would, where ironically, Airtel or Voda were showing some bars!
Neilguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2011, 12:48   #205
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

I bought BSNL specifically for highway travel and 3G. Till date nobody has been able to rival the coverage for BSNL, i already have Airtel.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2011, 22:21   #206
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
I bought BSNL specifically for highway travel and 3G. Till date nobody has been able to rival the coverage for BSNL, i already have Airtel.
I bought BSNL for 3G 11 months back. Till date, i cannot really connect at 3G speeds at all, no amount of calls has helped so far, which is why i was fascinated by airtel. I don't have to change cards or call anyone, just an sms and i was on my way in less than a minute.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2011, 02:18   #207
BHPian
 
slicvic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: KA 19
Posts: 732
Thanked: 354 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neilguy View Post
BSNL 3G is great as long as you plan to stick to the southern region or in other people's case, their home region (western, north etc). Once you go out of your home region, sorry dude, no data for you, not even pithy EDGE or GPRS, let alone 3G! I had very bad experiences when I went from Hyd to Pune and Mumbai. But in KA and KL the connectivity was fantastic, in full 3G!
What are the 3G charges when you are out of your home state?
slicvic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2011, 15:02   #208
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,042
Thanked: 13,490 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Today I was pleasantly surprised to find that 3G coverage is available in Manipal.

Name:  P2070500.jpg
Views: 376
Size:  177.5 KB
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2011, 20:04   #209
BHPian
 
mail4loys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 375
Thanked: 6 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
The setting ie APN is the same airtelgprs.com So it should work. All you need is the data plan to save the bill and avoid incurring 30 ps per 20 kb as explained below. Call 12134 to subscribe for the same.
I was in Chennai this week and followed the same step of sending "3G" SMS to Aitel Cust. Care and without any issues it started working. Then i called up Cust. Care and selected my package.

Not sure if the reason might be that i tried activating 3G from a place (Hosur) where 3G is not rolled-out.
mail4loys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2011, 23:09   #210
BHPian
 
yajaman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: bangalore
Posts: 366
Thanked: 119 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Had a chance this weekend to see a TataDocomo 3g 7.2 E-stick working at Mantri Mall, the speedtest shows 4.1Mbps , pretty nice. the interesting the ISP showed Vodophone.
yajaman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Arrived Atlast KarriS Introduce yourself 2 2nd January 2009 01:07
Atlast booking a Swift VXI + ABS Edit: Bought Black VDI Now pitchucold Hatchbacks 37 30th May 2008 20:56
Atlast I am in !!! smokin Introduce yourself 11 25th May 2008 12:39
A car PC atlast! jkdas In-Car Entertainment 14 26th July 2006 14:46
Introducing DRC, atlast DRC Introduce yourself 6 16th April 2005 23:13


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 02:13.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks