Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 9th February 2011, 13:05   #211
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: chennai
Posts: 472
Thanked: 124 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by slicvic View Post
What are the 3G charges when you are out of your home state?
go to
bsnl.co.in/service/3G/3G_files/postpaid.htm

the rates are the same, methink.
skdking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2011, 08:08   #212
TOR
BHPian
 
TOR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 263
Thanked: 19 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Speeds on BSNL 3G with the UMG 1831 modem.




These speeds at Rs.700/- per month !!
TOR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2011, 15:02   #213
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,140
Thanked: 1,901 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

I did a battery pull on my bb this morning and when the phone restarted the 3G sign came up for a few seconds!
Looks like vodafone Mumbai is due to launch 3G service soon.
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2011, 16:05   #214
BHPian
 
slicvic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: KA 19
Posts: 736
Thanked: 355 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
I did a battery pull on my bb this morning and when the phone restarted the 3G sign came up for a few seconds!
Looks like vodafone Mumbai is due to launch 3G service soon.
You can manually scan for the networks and see if 3G network is displayed. It will be displayed for around a month before the launch when the testing is going on I guess
slicvic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2011, 16:27   #215
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: EU - Nordic
Posts: 1,543
Thanked: 918 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by mashmash View Post
Is the battery consumption the same when using 3G?
Theoretically 3G should give better standby time, but talktime should be lesser.

Quote:
Originally Posted by slicvic View Post
You can manually scan for the networks and see if 3G network is displayed. It will be displayed for around a month before the launch when the testing is going on I guess
Not necessarily. It would depend on your phone as well as the network operators.
StarrySky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2011, 18:14   #216
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,140
Thanked: 1,901 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by StarrySky View Post
Theoretically 3G should give better standby time, but talktime should be lesser.
3G sucks battery like none other!
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2011, 20:11   #217
BHPian
 
sourav9385's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: London, U.K
Posts: 424
Thanked: 716 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India



Just did a speed test in the middle if the city. Pleased with Airtel so far. And for some reason, I'm not being charged for downloads. Hehe. So far have transferred about 250MB worth of data and my balance is still the same. Woo hoo!
sourav9385 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2011, 21:35   #218
Senior - BHPian
 
anekho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: .
Posts: 1,998
Thanked: 658 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by sourav9385 View Post


Just did a speed test in the middle if the city. Pleased with Airtel so far. And for some reason, I'm not being charged for downloads. Hehe. So far have transferred about 250MB worth of data and my balance is still the same. Woo hoo!
Hey! Just curious - where in chennai was this?

Can anyone confirm how good the 3G reception is around Neelankarai and Palavakkam?
anekho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2011, 22:23   #219
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,496
Thanked: 6,779 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Chennai being a landing point for under sea cables, speeds seem to be much better to BLR. Its usually 1-1.3 mbps in BLR with Airtel.

And somebody should seriously look into the Indira Nagar tower. Was pathetic while on 2G and now acts up now and the on 3G. Would not connect in 3G and had to manually switch to 2G and then switch off and on etc to get it working. And this happens only in Indira Nagar!!
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2011, 23:01   #220
BHPian
 
cpbopanna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 551
Thanked: 769 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Chennai being a landing point for under sea cables, speeds seem to be much better to BLR. Its usually 1-1.3 mbps in BLR with Airtel.

And somebody should seriously look into the Indira Nagar tower. Was pathetic while on 2G and now acts up now and the on 3G. Would not connect in 3G and had to manually switch to 2G and then switch off and on etc to get it working. And this happens only in Indira Nagar!!

Agree with you, Jaggu. I never lose a 3G signal at C V Raman Nagar where I live but Indiranagar is bad. When I complained to Customer Care, their advise was to re-boot the phone when ever the 3g signal disappears. I told them that I would re-boot the 'service provider' instead. Appears that Airtel is still experimenting at our cost.
cpbopanna is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2011, 00:35   #221
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by sourav9385 View Post

Just did a speed test in the middle if the city. Pleased with Airtel so far. And for some reason, I'm not being charged for downloads. Hehe. So far have transferred about 250MB worth of data and my balance is still the same. Woo hoo!

I have downloaded more than 3 GB so far and still enjoying it. I am on the 2GB/Rs.98 old plan but still works with 3G, i have even renewed it this month.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2011, 16:12   #222
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 46,577
Thanked: 80,482 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
Looks like vodafone Mumbai is due to launch 3G service soon.
Spoke to them last weekend and they said "End Feb / Start of March". Just got a new Galaxy Tab so.....
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2011, 16:14   #223
Senior - BHPian
 
shankar.balan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: BLR
Posts: 8,053
Thanked: 5,304 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

surprisingly vodafone is really delayed on 3G launch
there is as of now absolutely no news on when it is likely to hit bangalore
im awaiting it so that I can try to use my N8 to its potential


Quote:
Originally Posted by GTO View Post
Spoke to them last weekend and they said "End Feb / Start of March". Just got a new Galaxy Tab so.....
shankar.balan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2011, 17:03   #224
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

I am seeing the Voda 3G signal here in Chennai for a while now. Looks like the launch is around the corner. Aircel, which is talking about "3G Soon" has no sign in the air though

I'm on 3G in Airtel, and one thing I noticed is that calls get completed (starts ringing) really fast - almost the same instant as you press the call button if the other phone is also in Airtel.
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2011, 15:06   #225
BHPian
 
mail4loys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 375
Thanked: 6 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Starting yesterday Airtel 3G is available in Hosur. The signal strength is full where i stay and gives 3Mbps download speed.
mail4loys is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Arrived Atlast KarriS Introduce yourself 2 2nd January 2009 01:07
Atlast booking a Swift VXI + ABS Edit: Bought Black VDI Now pitchucold Hatchbacks 37 30th May 2008 20:56
Atlast I am in !!! smokin Introduce yourself 11 25th May 2008 12:39
A car PC atlast! jkdas In-Car Entertainment 14 26th July 2006 14:46
Introducing DRC, atlast DRC Introduce yourself 6 16th April 2005 23:13


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:15.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks