Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th March 2011, 19:50   #241
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Has anyone tried travelling while on 3G? Airtel 3G is not road-friendly, at least in Chennai. If I am on UMTS exclusively, calls get dropped several times while on the road - sometime several times within half a kilometer that you feel like chucking the phone out of the window! Mind you, all this is within the city - am not even talking about highway travel here.
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2011, 02:15   #242
BHPian
 
sourav9385's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: London, U.K
Posts: 424
Thanked: 716 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Something weird has happened to my 3G service. I am unable to activate any data plans. Every time I type in 3G and send it to 121, I get the data plan option. I then choose the plan and select 1 to activate it. I get a confirmation message saying thank you, it will be activated within 4 hours.

After that this message comes that says " Dear Customer, We already have a provisioning request under processing. Please wait while we process your request". This has been going on for the last 2 weeks or so.

All calls to CC have been useless as every time they say we will activate the plan sir and the same SMS comes up.

I have even tried deactivating 3G but no avail. Every time the same SMS. Any ideas fellas?
sourav9385 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2011, 14:00   #243
Senior - BHPian
 
S_U_N's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Pune
Posts: 1,778
Thanked: 375 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by ritayan View Post
Anyone on Vodafone 3g yet. I put in a request to 111 Act 3g and got a confirmation. after an hour got a second sms stating 3g has been activated and no additional cost except my current 2g plan. Its been 3 hrs now and still no sign of 3g. I am in pune.
Are you sure they have started 3G services in Pune?

I am on Vodafone too and have been waiting for 3G services.
I am unable to find tariff information on their website and hence holding back.
S_U_N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2011, 15:54   #244
Senior - BHPian
 
R2D2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Punya Nagari
Posts: 1,665
Thanked: 777 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Just heard from an Idea Cellular salesman/agent that they will launch 3G on 23rd March '11 in Pune.

Time will tell.

Cheers!
R2D2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2011, 16:11   #245
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,042
Thanked: 3,584 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

I know many people have used BSNL 3G on the train from Delhi to Kanpur with no problems. This was six months ago. Also, I hear that BSNL 3G rates are a third of the rest. I am no lover of BSNL but the devil must be given his due.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2011, 17:30   #246
BHPian
 
ritayan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Back in Delhi
Posts: 226
Thanked: 27 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by S_U_N View Post
Are you sure they have started 3G services in Pune?

I am on Vodafone too and have been waiting for 3G services.
I am unable to find tariff information on their website and hence holding back.

Yes they have, though the signal is not that great. Speed test on at Kharadi is 2.48 Mbps. Though I have not been able to connect with mobile connect. The cost is as per your current plan till 31st by when they will announce pricing.
Name:  snap20110308_174430.png
Views: 435
Size:  81.0 KB

Last edited by ritayan : 8th March 2011 at 17:49. Reason: Adding more info
ritayan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2011, 20:17   #247
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,368
Thanked: 383 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

I sent ACT 3G to 111 and 3G was activated within 2 hours.

It is now showing "H" in the network but strangely only the browser works in 3G mode - nothing else....no apps, no FB....

What could be wrong ?
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2011, 20:58   #248
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
I know many people have used BSNL 3G on the train from Delhi to Kanpur with no problems. This was six months ago. Also, I hear that BSNL 3G rates are a third of the rest. I am no lover of BSNL but the devil must be given his due.
Even in Airtel, I am getting a good signal all through. But when I am travelling, and a cell has to hand me over to another, that's when my call gets dropped - this does not happen in 2G. If I am making / receiving a quick call that gets over in seconds, the call will probably be complete. If its a long call (~15 minutes or more), I can be sure it will get dropped, and I kind of know where it will get dropped. Probably one of those 3G teething issues.
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2011, 21:36   #249
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
I sent ACT 3G to 111 and 3G was activated within 2 hours.

It is now showing "H" in the network but strangely only the browser works in 3G mode - nothing else....no apps, no FB....

What could be wrong ?
Are you on Vodafone ?
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2011, 22:30   #250
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,368
Thanked: 383 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Are you on Vodafone ?
Yes I am on Vodafone, Mumbai.
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2011, 22:35   #251
BHPian
 
aman9393's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 371
Thanked: 5 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

I sent the same message n_c but I still haven't got 3G.
Previously when I used to check for 3G signal I used to get Vodafone. But now in my area I have got no Vodafone 3G signal.
Also the customer care are saying that 3G hasn't been launched anywhere by them yet.
aman9393 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2011, 23:37   #252
BHPian
 
DDDHRUV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: MUMBAI
Posts: 113
Thanked: 9 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

I too put in the request by sending an SMS ACT 3G to 111. I immediately got an sms "3G services on your phone will get activated within 24 hrs. Your charges will remain same as your current 2G plan." After about 90 min I get an SMS "Hello! As per your request dated 08-MAR-11 , 3 G service for your Vodafone mobile number 9820xxxxxx has been activated."
I just tried browsing through safari on my IPHONE4 and it finally shows 3G inplace of E. But the signal strength is only 2 bars instead of the 5 bar strength in Edge. The speeds is also not noticeably different as of now.
DDDHRUV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2011, 00:22   #253
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by normally_crazy View Post
Yes I am on Vodafone, Mumbai.
Cool, customer care told me its not launched yet. Will try if it works for my number.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2011, 08:13   #254
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Got SMS from Vodafone saying that 3G service is now active.

But no 3G network at my home... will check at work.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2011, 08:18   #255
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Tejas@perioimpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 3,947
Thanked: 4,765 Times
Default

It seems that I'm the only one with Vodafone in Bombay getting great service on my iPhone 3GS. 3G working at work and home and download speeds varying from 2.2 to 2.7mbps.
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Arrived Atlast KarriS Introduce yourself 2 2nd January 2009 01:07
Atlast booking a Swift VXI + ABS Edit: Bought Black VDI Now pitchucold Hatchbacks 37 30th May 2008 20:56
Atlast I am in !!! smokin Introduce yourself 11 25th May 2008 12:39
A car PC atlast! jkdas In-Car Entertainment 14 26th July 2006 14:46
Introducing DRC, atlast DRC Introduce yourself 6 16th April 2005 23:13


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:45.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks