Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 9th March 2011, 16:00   #271
Senior - BHPian
 
akshay4587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chandigarh/Mohali/Ambala Cantt
Posts: 3,759
Thanked: 1,534 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Just started using 3G again on Docomo,paid 90 bucks for a 200MB trial pack,getting speeds upto 2.5MBPS but have been facing erratic performance.
But i am surprised by the speed with which data is being gobbled up, 50MB's were lost in just a few minutes.
The 3G packs are kinda expensive at the rate of almost 1Re per MB.

Last edited by akshay4587 : 9th March 2011 at 16:01.
akshay4587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2011, 17:08   #272
BHPian
 
hiren.mistry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bombay, London
Posts: 886
Thanked: 170 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
It seems that I'm the only one with Vodafone in Bombay getting great service on my iPhone 3GS. 3G working at work and home and download speeds varying from 2.2 to 2.7mbps.
It works for me as well but only at my workplace in Andheri. I do a "H" while I am connected to mobile internet but have never got 3G. Wonder what that is.

Did a speedtest and got 3.2 Mbps download and 1.26 Mbps upload.

Last edited by hiren.mistry : 9th March 2011 at 17:11.
hiren.mistry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2011, 17:37   #273
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by hiren.mistry View Post
It works for me as well but only at my workplace in Andheri. I do a "H" while I am connected to mobile internet but have never got 3G. Wonder what that is.

Did a speedtest and got 3.2 Mbps download and 1.26 Mbps upload.
3G or a 'H' depend on your handset. What handset are you using?
vikram_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2011, 17:42   #274
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Nokia 5230 shows 3.5G, I think that is Nokia's way of saying HSDPA
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2011, 18:06   #275
BHPian
 
aman9393's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 371
Thanked: 5 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

I have zero signal strength at home.
Whereas I was getting full 3.5G signal at goregaon station which is just about 3 kms away from my home!!
Anyways I am getting speeds of around 1 mbps at full signal strength.
aman9393 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2011, 18:18   #276
BHPian
 
driving_smartly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 476
Thanked: 211 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

I have got two Connections

1. Airtel (E71) - Activated it today morning by sending SMS as 3G to 121 reply came that service will be activated within 4 hours. Another Sms came within 4 mins stating that 3G has been activated on my Cell.

2. Vodafone (Samsung Wave 723) : Had sent ACT 3G to 111 five days back got a reply saying we need to check your handset for 3G, we will get back to you in 72 hours, which has already over and they never got back. I have again send the request got message that we will get back to you shortly. Now my Wave is 3G enabled what more Vodafone wants to check.

Had send request just to check the speeds of both Airtel got activated but waiting for Vodafone. Yet to activate any trial plans/pack on Airtel.

Will be using only one 3G service in longer Run
driving_smartly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2011, 18:34   #277
Senior - BHPian
 
silversteed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: PGT//BLR//STR
Posts: 1,968
Thanked: 1,374 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Started using Airtel 3G from 23rd Feb. Signal strength and download speed are all good. But, they don't support simultaneous voice and data comfortably. If I get a call while browsing, the speed drops considerably.

Considering the tariff plan, they goofed up my existing GPRS plan (Rs.98/month, 2GB limit). The person who took down my request to activate 3G, confirmed that my GPRS plan would stay unaffected. But later I came to know that once we activate 3G, all data access would be charged at 30ps/20KB or at the 3G plan that we've subscribed to. So I took the Rs.200 plan, and later upgraded to Rs.675 plan, since I used up the 250MB free usage in a couple days through video chat. After a day, they changed the plan back to Rs.200, for no particular reason and I had to talk to their appellate office to get things sorted out. Their 4 hours window for activation of a pack is farce. It takes over 8 hours in real time. And the customer support is clueless and misinformed of the available packs and their conditions.
silversteed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2011, 00:01   #278
BHPian
 
aman9393's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 371
Thanked: 5 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Well I am getting full 3.5G signal strength in my home too now!!
Now I have got to see how good the coverage is in other areas.
aman9393 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2011, 10:41   #279
BHPian
 
hiren.mistry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bombay, London
Posts: 886
Thanked: 170 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by vikram_d View Post
3G or a 'H' depend on your handset. What handset are you using?
I've been using a HTC Desire HD for a month now. And I get this signal only in the office. At home and elsewhere its the normal E.
hiren.mistry is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2011, 11:03   #280
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,493
Thanked: 6,771 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

First time i saw 2.5 mbps on airtel 3G while checking it on wifi teether mode with my MBP It was late night so not sure if that is the reason.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2011, 11:09   #281
Senior - BHPian
 
akshay4587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chandigarh/Mohali/Ambala Cantt
Posts: 3,759
Thanked: 1,534 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Just ran a Speed test on my Iphone 3GS running on Docomo 3G,getting 2.7MBPS.
a 5 min video on youtube buffered in less than a minute
akshay4587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2011, 12:36   #282
BHPian
 
DDDHRUV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: MUMBAI
Posts: 113
Thanked: 9 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

I too am getting excellent speeds on my vodafone connection. Hope this continues.
Attached Images
 
DDDHRUV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2011, 13:41   #283
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by hiren.mistry View Post
I've been using a HTC Desire HD for a month now. And I get this signal only in the office. At home and elsewhere its the normal E.
If I remember correctly the Desire HD is a HSPA and not true 3G as it does not have a front camera. That is why you phone shows 'H' instead of the usual '3G'. I think only devices with front camera show '3G'.
vikram_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2011, 14:08   #284
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by vikram_d View Post
I think only devices with front camera show '3G'.
Thats not the case. My Nokia 5230 shows 3G or 3.5G. It does not have front camera.

3G is network and video calling is a "service" offered on that network.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th March 2011, 14:48   #285
BHPian
 
dar3dev|l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Hannover, DE
Posts: 293
Thanked: 87 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Just sent the message to activate 3G.

They mentioned all services used up till 31st March on 3G would be FREE

They also mentioned it would be active within 24 hours
dar3dev|l is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Arrived Atlast KarriS Introduce yourself 2 2nd January 2009 01:07
Atlast booking a Swift VXI + ABS Edit: Bought Black VDI Now pitchucold Hatchbacks 37 30th May 2008 20:56
Atlast I am in !!! smokin Introduce yourself 11 25th May 2008 12:39
A car PC atlast! jkdas In-Car Entertainment 14 26th July 2006 14:46
Introducing DRC, atlast DRC Introduce yourself 6 16th April 2005 23:13


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 02:21.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks