Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 29th April 2011, 14:03   #361
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 107
Thanked: 10 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

So, despite calling Airtel numerous times, I have not been able to activate a 3G plan. Till 3-4 days back, I was getting 3G speeds at 2G rates. Now, they have stopped that as well.
I am planning to shift to Docomo. Anyone knows how the network is?
e1t1bet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 14:33   #362
Senior - BHPian
 
silversteed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: PGT//BLR//STR
Posts: 1,966
Thanked: 1,374 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by e1t1bet View Post
despite calling Airtel numerous times, I have not been able to activate a 3G plan.
Airtel Bangalore? All the best, buddy. I'm an ex-Airtel subscriber who got his fingers burnt pretty bad, thanks to their customer "support". My post here
silversteed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 14:39   #363
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 107
Thanked: 10 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

True that. It's so unfortunate that Vodafone couldn't win the bid in Karnataka. Docomo seems to be the only option remaining. Seriously, the only decent operator in the country is Vodafone. All these indian jokers need to get their licenses revoked.
Nevertheless, I'd get a docomo sim today, just to test. If it doesn't work out, I'd move to Vodafone, and edge.
P.S. Airtel's also charging me 50 bucks every day, for the last 2 weeks for using mobile TV - something I never used, or subscribed for. Despite, calling them regularly, not a single penny has been refunded. Screw you Airtel, in these times of low ARPUs, you just lost a high revenue customer!
e1t1bet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 15:23   #364
BHPian
 
fuel_addict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 691
Thanked: 111 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
This is the Airtel 3G speed I am getting on Motorola Defy at my humble village near Manipal!



PS: Image directly linked since it is too small.
Why does it show Mumbai under the Server name?
fuel_addict is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 15:26   #365
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,043
Thanked: 13,493 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by fuel_addict View Post
Why does it show Mumbai under the Server name?
That's the nearest speedtest server from my location.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 16:57   #366
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

One question regarding all these 3GB plans.
Suppose I take a 3G plan, and I encounter a tower which is not supporting 3G and data download happens in GPRS, how is it charged. Will data downloaded under GPRS charges under Pay-as-you-go plan?
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2011, 17:28   #367
Senior - BHPian
 
silversteed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: PGT//BLR//STR
Posts: 1,966
Thanked: 1,374 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
One question regarding all these 3GB plans.
Suppose I take a 3G plan, and I encounter a tower which is not supporting 3G and data download happens in GPRS, how is it charged. Will data downloaded under GPRS charges under Pay-as-you-go plan?
If it is Airtel, yes, they charge you as per 3G rates. The moment you activate 3G services in your number, all your GPRS/EDGE plans stay cancelled.
silversteed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th May 2011, 10:29   #368
BHPian
 
anilkalvani's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bandra West, Bombay
Posts: 629
Thanked: 77 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

And some good news. MTNL Launches an Unlimited 3G Data Plan for Rs. 750 in Mumbai (Rs. 4500/6 month Unlimited Plan)

MTNL Launches Unlimited 3G Data Plan for Rs. 750 in Mumbai

Hope the competition wakes up & matches them.
anilkalvani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2011, 17:51   #369
BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Chennai
Posts: 106
Thanked: 17 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by djkher View Post
Thanks for the info.
The Network mode is set to Auto ( WCDMA/GSM). I have also tried only WCDMA setting but it still doesnt work. I checked with Airtel guys @ ARC and they are saying that tho the 3G plan is active but the 3G service is not activated correctly on my number. They'll activate it today and hopefully i should get a 3G signal by tonight.

Not sure if i understand their explanation correctly,i just hope that my 3G starts somehow.
I beg to differ. SIM can be a problem. Try getting the latest 64k SIM for your "A" connection. You are just charged Rs.25 and the change happens in just 10 minutes.
deepakchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2011, 16:35   #370
BHPian
 
vineetmanghani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Delhi <---> Chennai
Posts: 79
Thanked: 7 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

I activated the Rs. 200/250MB 3G plan on Airtel Chennai yesterday, on my iPhone 4. I earlier had the Rs. 98/2GB GPRS plan, which got deactivated.

Even though the speeds are much faster than GPRS, it's not "blazing fast" by any stretch of the imagination.

Furthermore, the phone keeps reverting to the GPRS connection every once in a while, and this happens with a couple of other colleagues and friends as well. So in essence, I end up paying 3G price for GPRS speed half of the time.

In addition, I've noticed that the signal strength goes down by a couple of bars (full 5 bars to 2-3 bars) on 3G.

Overall, I'm not that happy with this service. Will track my usage, and will go back to GPRS if this works out to be too expensive.
vineetmanghani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2011, 17:52   #371
Senior - BHPian
 
silversteed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: PGT//BLR//STR
Posts: 1,966
Thanked: 1,374 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by vineetmanghani View Post
I activated the Rs. 200/250MB 3G plan on Airtel Chennai yesterday, on my iPhone 4. I earlier had the Rs. 98/2GB GPRS plan, which got deactivated.

Even though the speeds are much faster than GPRS, it's not "blazing fast" by any stretch of the imagination.

Furthermore, the phone keeps reverting to the GPRS connection every once in a while, and this happens with a couple of other colleagues and friends as well. So in essence, I end up paying 3G price for GPRS speed half of the time.

In addition, I've noticed that the signal strength goes down by a couple of bars (full 5 bars to 2-3 bars) on 3G.

Overall, I'm not that happy with this service. Will track my usage, and will go back to GPRS if this works out to be too expensive.
It seems you have activated the same service that I'd activated and got my fingers burnt, pretty bad at that too. Good luck with Airtel. I'd suggest that you keep track of your usage very carefully, or else your bill would be a nuke bomb.
silversteed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2011, 18:09   #372
BHPian
 
dre@ms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Singara Chennai
Posts: 480
Thanked: 96 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

I am still enjoying 3G using the 2G plan. 2 months on a row, no extra charges levied for 3G.

But, I make sure, I use 3G very little. Dont want to be greedy. Regards to the speed, I would say, 3G is blazing fast. And agree, not everywhere, the 3G signal strength is good. Once went to wife's place in T Nagar and didnt get 3G, but in Nungambakkam and Anna Nagar, enjoying full range.

Long live AirTel
dre@ms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2011, 20:06   #373
Senior - BHPian
 
anekho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: .
Posts: 1,998
Thanked: 658 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Guys, I need to get a 3G (prepaid) connection tomorrow for my iPhone 4, in Chennai.

Which operator? Looking for good speeds, good connectivity in South Chennai and 2GB + plans.

Please advise!

PS: I need personal hotspot to work.

Last edited by anekho : 5th June 2011 at 20:13.
anekho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2011, 20:19   #374
BHPian
 
SX4LOVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Highway
Posts: 277
Thanked: 129 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Any one here knows when Airtel is likely to launch 3G in Guwahati??? Thnx!!
SX4LOVER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th June 2011, 13:10   #375
BHPian
 
sumannandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 690
Thanked: 208 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

I am pretty impressed with BSNL 3G. I am using it since the time they launched it in Bangalore.

Recently I bought an unlocked Alcatel data card (with one year warranty), and the SIM is working great with the data card. Good speed.

I have personally experienced problem with Airtel 3G. The connection was not very consistent.
sumannandy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Arrived Atlast KarriS Introduce yourself 2 2nd January 2009 01:07
Atlast booking a Swift VXI + ABS Edit: Bought Black VDI Now pitchucold Hatchbacks 37 30th May 2008 20:56
Atlast I am in !!! smokin Introduce yourself 11 25th May 2008 12:39
A car PC atlast! jkdas In-Car Entertainment 14 26th July 2006 14:46
Introducing DRC, atlast DRC Introduce yourself 6 16th April 2005 23:13


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 03:25.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks