Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25th January 2011, 11:37   #76
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,518
Thanked: 7,191 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Nice to know that Airtel is LIVE with 3G services. Care to share the package/tarrif details for availing this service?
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2011, 11:40   #77
Distinguished - BHPian
 
amitoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 2,947
Thanked: 1,584 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by mobike008 View Post
Nice to know that Airtel is LIVE with 3G services. Care to share the package/tarrif details for availing this service?
Herey you go
3G Internet, 3G Network, 3G Mobile Phone Video Calling and Conferencing

I woke up somewhat late so have applied for it now! It will take upto 4 hours, they say. Cant hardly wait!!
amitoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2011, 11:47   #78
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitoj View Post
I woke up somewhat late so have applied for it now! It will take upto 4 hours, they say. Cant hardly wait!!
They said the same but the sms came withing few minutes. Funny thing 3G was working well before i got the activation sms lol
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2011, 14:04   #79
BHPian
 
Pri2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bangalore / Mangalore
Posts: 195
Thanked: 85 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Airtel says it has launched 3G services throughout Bangalore. But in reality it is active only in certain areas.
The coverage is limited as of now and they are still testing. I have no clue what kind of testing is required that too for this long when BSNL has been providing 3G services for more than a year now.
So guys be prepared to get disappointed if you are not in the "3G coverage area".
Pri2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2011, 14:23   #80
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,514 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

ok, this is really weird!! i send "3G Help" to 121 and don't get a response. few hours later is see H (HSPA) in my phone's top bar instead of the usual E (Edge). the funny thing is, if i turn to my left, i get H. i turn right and i get E!

very reliable network, eh?
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2011, 14:44   #81
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,043
Thanked: 13,493 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Sitting in Manipal, I sent '3G' sms to 121. I will be in Bangalore tomorrow, so why not order now.

Two minutes later I got a reply. "We are unable to process your request. Please try later."

Looks like they are flooded with 3G requests, may be they don't have bandwidth to handle so many people upgrading to 3G.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2011, 14:49   #82
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Sitting in Manipal, I sent '3G' sms to 121. I will be in Bangalore tomorrow, so why not order now.

Two minutes later I got a reply. "We are unable to process your request. Please try later."

Looks like they are flooded with 3G requests, may be they don't have bandwidth to handle so many people upgrading to 3G.
It happened to me in the morning with first SMS. But when i switched ON the 3G on the phone, it showed 3G icon (earlier it would kick back to E) and then i tried the download which showed 1 MBPS.

After couple of hours i called 12134 to choose the plan, they activated and i got an sms under few minutes.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2011, 15:26   #83
Senior - BHPian
 
black12rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ridin earth now
Posts: 1,259
Thanked: 271 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
It happened to me in the morning with first SMS. But when i switched ON the 3G on the phone, it showed 3G icon (earlier it would kick back to E) and then i tried the download which showed 1 MBPS.

After couple of hours i called 12134 to choose the plan, they activated and i got an sms under few minutes.
ho , when you sent ,you were put in 3g , but which plan ?
Untill you called them you would have downloaded somethings ,what about charges for that ?

I am on Edge now ,with 2GB data for 30 days ,98rs plan .I think I will stick to that .3G costs are rip-off .

Last edited by black12rr : 25th January 2011 at 15:31.
black12rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2011, 15:27   #84
Senior - BHPian
 
shajufx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BLR & Muscat
Posts: 1,575
Thanked: 269 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
.... if i turn to my left, i get H. i turn right and i get E! ...
That sounds very advanced , I doubt if Airtel has redefined H = Hold on and E = Escape !!
shajufx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2011, 15:33   #85
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by black12rr View Post
ho , when you sent ,you were put in 3g , but which plan ?
Untill you called them you would have downloaded somethings ,what about charges for that ?

I am on Edge now ,with 2GB data for 30 days ,98rs plan .
I have no idea, maybe it was covered under no scheme which is 20 paise/30 kb if iam not mistaken. Details of current tarrif is here

plan type MRP free data validity Data Browsing charges

Sachet Plan Rs.9 10MB 1 day Post expiry of free data usage, browsing charges as per 2G charges (30p/20kb) will apply

Sachet Plan Rs.60 65MB 3 day

Standard Plan Rs.103 100MB 30 days

Standard Plan Rs.200 250MB 30 days

Standard Plan Rs.450 600MB 30 days

Standard Plan Rs.750 2GB 30 days

FlexiShield Plan Rs.675 1.25GB After 1.25GB, VBC of 1p/100KB upto a max shield (amount) of Rs 2000. Post hitting the shield value, enjoy free unlimited browsing at 20kbps speed, validity 30 days.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2011, 15:42   #86
Distinguished - BHPian
 
amitoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 2,947
Thanked: 1,584 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

I called them up at 12134 and got it activated. But it doesnt stay on and falls back to E. The signal strength goes down to 1 or 2 bars for the short time that 3G is active.
amitoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2011, 15:48   #87
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,514 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

i thought sending "3G Help" to 121 would get me more information on Airtel 3G, but not activate it on my phone! God knows how much they're gonna charge for it now. i already have the 2G 98/- plan active on my SIM.

btw, it does not show 3G on my top bar, just H and sometimes goes back to E. wonder if 3G is even available in and around where i stay.

anyone else activate it accidently? how to deactivate it?

Last edited by IronH4WK : 25th January 2011 at 15:53.
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2011, 15:52   #88
Senior - BHPian
 
black12rr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Ridin earth now
Posts: 1,259
Thanked: 271 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
i thought sending "3G Help" to 121 would get me more information on Airtel 3G, but not activate it on my phone! God knows how much they're gonna charge for it now. i already have the 2G 98/- plan active on my SIM.

anyone else activate it accidently? how to deactivate it?
I just sent a sms, they asked to reply "1" to confirm ,and I will not do that .
30p/20KB is like more than 15rs per MB .

Its a trap guys, people (those who are don't know much) will not call and choose other plans ,they will remain at 30p/20KB all the time and airtel will be rich .

It is like 16 rs per call when mobile phones were launched .Even other plans are costly.

Last edited by black12rr : 25th January 2011 at 15:56.
black12rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2011, 16:07   #89
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Amitoj i think you need to move to a better location, the signal seems to be in fringe and hence bouncing ON and OFF.

3G Help did not work for me. So dont bother instead call up the number.

EDIT: I have similar tarrif in BSNL post paid 3G, and right now choose the 103 rs for 100 mb, which is quite ok since i use wifi in office and at home. Only when out i need 3G and usage should be limited, if i need more i will upgrade to 200 rs 250 mb.

Last edited by Jaggu : 25th January 2011 at 16:11.
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2011, 16:37   #90
Senior - BHPian
 
srishiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 3,465
Thanked: 692 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
i thought sending "3G Help" to 121 would get me more information on Airtel 3G, but not activate it on my phone! God knows how much they're gonna charge for it now. i already have the 2G 98/- plan active on my SIM.

btw, it does not show 3G on my top bar, just H and sometimes goes back to E. wonder if 3G is even available in and around where i stay.

anyone else activate it accidently? how to deactivate it?
H is for HSPA which is 3.5G. What phone do you have? My Nokia shows 3.5G.
srishiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Arrived Atlast KarriS Introduce yourself 2 2nd January 2009 01:07
Atlast booking a Swift VXI + ABS Edit: Bought Black VDI Now pitchucold Hatchbacks 37 30th May 2008 20:56
Atlast I am in !!! smokin Introduce yourself 11 25th May 2008 12:39
A car PC atlast! jkdas In-Car Entertainment 14 26th July 2006 14:46
Introducing DRC, atlast DRC Introduce yourself 6 16th April 2005 23:13


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:51.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks