Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25th January 2011, 20:54   #106
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,514 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pri2 View Post
Wow, this speed looks very good. Unfortunately I live out of the 3G service area and only get it while I am at work and that too if I am lucky.
i think we're gonna face this problem for some time i guess. there will be areas where the network won't be available.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pri2 View Post
Have you started getting charged for 3G data? I have used it for a while and I haven't been charged yet.
i guess i'll be charged from today. how do you know you've not been charged? are you on pre-paid connection?
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2011, 21:10   #107
BHPian
 
Pri2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bangalore / Mangalore
Posts: 195
Thanked: 85 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
i think we're gonna face this problem for some time i guess. there will be areas where the network won't be available.

i guess i'll be charged from today. how do you know you've not been charged? are you on pre-paid connection?

Yes, I am on Prepaid and I have the ability to check my data usage and charges.
Pri2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2011, 21:23   #108
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Ok people with corp connection have to send official email to 121 email id. Also i get the same 1.4 mbps while using phone as modem, guess silkboard tower is slow
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2011, 18:57   #109
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Indira Nagar area net was down both in 3G and EDGE. HSR was acting up with no signal, just got back into coverage. I think Airtel is having lot of teething issues :-/
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2011, 19:45   #110
BHPian
 
Pri2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bangalore / Mangalore
Posts: 195
Thanked: 85 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

I had applied for number portability yesterday and early this morning I got a call from Airtel, asking me why I want to switch to another service provider. One of the reasons I gave him was 3G availability. (I have used BSNL 3G and it works brilliantly without such issues) He promised me that by the 1st of feb 3G will be completely up and running in Bangalore and they will also address all my other concerns. I don't believe a single word they say, by will wait till 1st of feb and then decide.

The one thing that baffles me is - why advertise a product and fool customers saying it is up and running while it hardly works. Hope number portability teaches them a lesson.
Pri2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2011, 22:01   #111
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,514 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Indira Nagar area net was down both in 3G and EDGE. HSR was acting up with no signal, just got back into coverage. I think Airtel is having lot of teething issues
they don't have any teeth! they're way behind other operators (BSNL, Tata, Vodafone) in launching 3G and they're scrambling. they just want something up and running and later maybe iron out the issues. unfortunately for them, MNP is here and they'll loose customers very fast if they don't pull themselves up by the bootstraps.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pri2 View Post
The one thing that baffles me is - why advertise a product and fool customers saying it is up and running while it hardly works. Hope number portability teaches them a lesson.
don't get your hopes high. i've been with Airtel since they took over from JTM (more than 10yrs). these guys have their heads so far back up their behinds, they don't work on issues unless some big-shot gets dragged into the chain of communication or things get escalated really high!
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2011, 23:53   #112
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: new delhi
Posts: 184
Thanked: 45 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by IronH4WK View Post
tested the 3G using the wifi router on my phone and below are the speeds.

round 1:


here H turned to E in between.

round 2:


others, please post your results.
Did you say that "tested the 3G using the wifi router"? Are these wifi results or the gsm 3G results.?
zipperone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2011, 00:04   #113
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,514 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by zipperone View Post
Did you say that "tested the 3G using the wifi router"? Are these wifi results or the gsm 3G results.?
well, i've a application on my HD2 that converts it into a wifi router (802.11g) and uses the phone's connection (GPRS, Edge, 3G or 3.5G) to allow the computer connected to use the internet. better than using the phone as a blutooth/usb modem.

those results were posted of the test run from my laptop connected to the adhoc connection created with the wifi router on my phone
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2011, 09:45   #114
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,043
Thanked: 13,493 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaggu View Post
Ok people with corp connection have to send official email to 121 email id. Also i get the same 1.4 mbps while using phone as modem, guess silkboard tower is slow
Which email is this? I sent a request to 121@airtel.in and I got a reply asking me to mention the landline number clearly . That email obviously went to the landline division.

Today morning my phone was showing neither E nor H or whatever. Just bars. That means I have no internet connectivity at all.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2011, 10:52   #115
Distinguished - BHPian
 
IronH4WK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 3,504
Thanked: 3,514 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai View Post
Today morning my phone was showing neither E nor H or whatever. Just bars. That means I have no internet connectivity at all.
i had H on display this morning, but couldn't browse or access the internet. even now, 3hrs later, the problem exists.
IronH4WK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2011, 11:51   #116
Team-BHP Support
 
Samurai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: B'lore-Manipal
Posts: 22,043
Thanked: 13,493 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

I finally got a reply that mobile related mails should be sent to 121@airtelindia.com address.
Samurai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2011, 12:06   #117
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,491
Thanked: 6,768 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Oops sorry yes and you have to mention your mobile number as subject line, that is the standard format they use for any complains. I remember this from iPhone unlock fiasco. Network is acting crazy and right now its showing E and 3G does not have internet connectivity in either of them in Koramangala 1st block!
Jaggu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2011, 16:18   #118
BHPian
 
yajaman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: bangalore
Posts: 366
Thanked: 119 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

While in the office i seem to be getting a steady 3G signal. At home it moves between E and 3G so was not able to test speed.
Hence checked now at GRTP, Whitefield.
Samsung Wave as mobile AP.
Ran the speed test from speedtest.net, strangely the ISP shows a different provider than Airtel.
Attached Images
 
yajaman99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2011, 19:40   #119
BHPian
 
slicvic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: KA 19
Posts: 733
Thanked: 354 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Does anyone have an idea of the roaming charges (National) for the 3G services?
slicvic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2011, 20:43   #120
BHPian
 
Pri2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bangalore / Mangalore
Posts: 195
Thanked: 85 Times
Default Re: Atlast! 3G in India

Quote:
Originally Posted by slicvic View Post
Does anyone have an idea of the roaming charges (National) for the 3G services?
Got this piece of info from the Airtel 3G faq page.

"Free data usage available in 3G data pack not applicable while roaming. Browsing charges of 30p/20kb will apply".

I guess it means that, If you have a 1 GB 3G data plan, that plan would not be applicable while roaming and you will get charged @ 30p/20kb. I may be wrong here.
Pri2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Arrived Atlast KarriS Introduce yourself 2 2nd January 2009 01:07
Atlast booking a Swift VXI + ABS Edit: Bought Black VDI Now pitchucold Hatchbacks 37 30th May 2008 20:56
Atlast I am in !!! smokin Introduce yourself 11 25th May 2008 12:39
A car PC atlast! jkdas In-Car Entertainment 14 26th July 2006 14:46
Introducing DRC, atlast DRC Introduce yourself 6 16th April 2005 23:13


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 04:51.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks