Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th November 2009, 15:39   #61
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,888 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
...(Though i wouldn't be surprised if download speed drops to 0.85mbps in the future, as they start imposing the speed limit).
UPDATE : I guess reality finally kicked in and MTNL finally limited my speed down to 1mbps.

Youtube HAS got a little more painful since the switch (on certain videos).
I'm thinking of making the most of the downloads this month, and then going back to 2mbps plan.

Heres a good software for measuring actual throughput speeds (its NOT a speedtest, but a realtime monitor) : LINK

It gave me a realistic idea of when my connection is being maxed out. When i had the 2mbps plan, i thought it was being under-utilized, but i guess certain sites were making the most of that 200kbps throughput. (eg. youtube, team-bhp threads with lots of pictures, etc)

See the graph in the top right of the connection maxing out at 1mbps when viewing videos :
ISP help needed in Bombay!!-networx.png

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cyrus43 View Post
This is What I got!! PATHETIC!!! And Im paying 2400 P.M.
Cyrus,

Did you recently switch from a 512 plan? If so, its possible they haven't made the change as yet (usually applies from 1st of the month, and sometimes the speed change takes a little longer...)


For the guys with possible line problems :
1) The splitter needs to be installed before ANY telephone instrument. (ie not just at the point where the modem and phone are kept - if you have another phone elsewhere in the house)
2) I've been told to use only 1, unlike what akshay has said. Not sure why.
3) Sometimes the quality of the wiring upto your house is bad, i believe MTNL is supposed to replace that for free if it is the case.


cya
R

Last edited by Rehaan : 18th November 2009 at 15:46.
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2009, 16:04   #62
BHPian
 
gomzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 784
Thanked: 125 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gomzi View Post
I already have the splitter and for about an year, internet+phone worked fine simultaneously

....

Which is why as the last option, i'm planning to resurrect the "on hold" phone and use it exclusively for internet.
The new MTNL line was installed and got working yesterday, now to transfer the internet connection to this new line and change to 1mbps unlimited plan.

I'll keep you guys updated on how that goes and the speeds I get.
gomzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2009, 00:25   #63
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,660
Thanked: 6,084 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rehaan View Post
2) I've been told to use only 1, unlike what akshay has said. Not sure why.



cya
R
i said it because i found that whenever the phone was connecting the adsl link would go. in my house the phone and the internet are in different rooms. as soon as i put a splitter next to the phone the link stayed and didnt go off when the phone was used.
Akshay1234 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2010, 22:44   #64
BHPian
 
gomzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 784
Thanked: 125 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gomzi View Post
The new MTNL line was installed and got working yesterday, now to transfer the internet connection to this new line and change to 1mbps unlimited plan.

I'll keep you guys updated on how that goes and the speeds I get.
Ok, I got the MTNL 1mbps unlimited internet connection enabled yesterday.

This is the test result from SpeedTest.net



I'm lovin' it Lets see how long it lasts.
gomzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2010, 23:19   #65
BHPian
 
yogi1771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mumbai
Posts: 631
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

New isp in town,check out the speed which is provided Hayai Broadband | India's FASTEST Broadband
yogi1771 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2010, 16:21   #66
BHPian
 
anilkalvani's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bandra West, Bombay
Posts: 629
Thanked: 77 Times
Default

I am subscribed to Airtel's Turbo 1299 Plan since 2-3 months and all i can say is that's its been FANTASTIC! Its a 512Kbps Plan with Speed going up to 1Mbps from 10pm to 6am. Since yesterday evening, i have been getting 1.5 - 2 Mbps. Here's the download activity graph.

ISP help needed in Bombay!!-airtel-speed.jpg


Last edited by anilkalvani : 7th February 2010 at 16:23. Reason: spelling error
anilkalvani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2010, 18:12   #67
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,134
Thanked: 1,892 Times
Default

anil- your location says you are in bandra west, can you please provide me with the contact details of the local agent that got you the airtel connection. their helpline application is useless

Last edited by Sahil : 7th February 2010 at 18:23.
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th February 2010, 20:11   #68
BHPian
 
anilkalvani's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Bandra West, Bombay
Posts: 629
Thanked: 77 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
anil- your location says you are in bandra west, can you please provide me with the contact details of the local agent that got you the airtel connection. their helpline application is useless
Hey Sahil,
I have this connection at my factory in Andheri East, not Bandra. Still the guys who did it for me were prompt, will post the numbers tomorrow from office.

Anil
--
Sent from my BB
anilkalvani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2010, 12:33   #69
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,134
Thanked: 1,892 Times
Default

Anyone used the new wired broadband by Tata called Photon PRO ?

I have given up on MTNL, there speeds were got but it's pointless when the connection has been off for over a month. Not to mention their service completely sucks even after complaining to higher authorities.

Have called Airtel but they do not have service in my area. Hence thought Photon PRO would be a good option.
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2010, 12:37   #70
Team-BHP Support
 
Akshay1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 9,660
Thanked: 6,084 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
Anyone used the new wired broadband by Tata called Photon PRO ?

I have given up on MTNL, there speeds were got but it's pointless when the connection has been off for over a month. Not to mention their service completely sucks even after complaining to higher authorities.

Have called Airtel but they do not have service in my area. Hence thought Photon PRO would be a good option.
if they have service in your area why not give it a shot. i wanted it very badly but they didnt have service in my area so i had to settle for photon +. ive been using tata internet for the past 4-5 years and their service is pretty decent.
Akshay1234 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2010, 13:03   #71
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sahil's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 5,134
Thanked: 1,892 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akshay1234 View Post
if they have service in your area why not give it a shot. i wanted it very badly but they didnt have service in my area so i had to settle for photon +. ive been using tata internet for the past 4-5 years and their service is pretty decent.
I haven't checked if they provide service in my area as yet. Do you have a contact number I can check with ?
Sahil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2010, 14:35   #72
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,888 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sahil View Post
Anyone used the new wired broadband by Tata called Photon PRO ?....
I tried desperately to find a tata (wired) internet website a few days back but couldn't get anything. I guess they have recently redone their sites.

Does anyone have a link to the tariffs of the 2mbps and up wired internet plans from tata?

cya
R
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2010, 18:45   #73
BHPian
 
whizzkid_ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 167
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Guys any feedback about this. How are they?

Tikona Digital Networks - Plan For City - Chennai
whizzkid_ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2010, 18:57   #74
BHPian
 
Ripper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 253
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

@whizzkid_ram: Just got Tikona for a friend on Monday. The service and speed is good, just that the customer care is a bit lousy. Have gone in for the FMC 599 plan which give 2mbps speeds up to 4GB download and 256kbps after 4gb usage.
Ripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th October 2010, 21:50   #75
BHPian
 
whizzkid_ram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 167
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ripper View Post
Have gone in for the FMC 599 plan which give 2mbps speeds up to 4GB download and 256kbps after 4gb usage.
What about the transfer download rate in your FMC 599 plan? Presently I'm using BSNL 750 UL PLUS. The transfer rate is about 65kbps.
whizzkid_ram is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How Fast Is Your Internet Service Provider (ISP) connection? Rehaan Gadgets, Computers & Software 945 11th August 2017 22:50
Bombay Dandeli Bombay prabuddhadg Travelogues 14 19th June 2017 01:08
Recovering the ISP Password in Netgear DG834G wireless router/modem Ponmayilal Gadgets, Computers & Software 9 18th May 2010 23:00


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:44.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks