Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 2nd January 2009, 16:36   #1
BHPian
 
sinner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Thane - Mumbai
Posts: 422
Thanked: 6 Times
Red face Mumbai - Airtel Pre-paid Network Issues ?

Are you guys also facing issues with Airtel pre-paid network? Iím seriously tired with the situations that Iíve been facing for almost little over a month.

What happens is 4/10 times when u call, the caller receive a message saying that the phone is not reachable.
( I came up with the above figures by testing myself. In different times in the past few days)

A couple of my colleagues at work are also facing the same issue with their Airtel Network. Funny thing is that this problem is only with the pre-paid customers. Those with post paid connections are not having any such problems.

Are any of you facing the same issue. ?
sinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2009, 16:48   #2
BANNED
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bangalore / Madras
Posts: 1,980
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Airtel Karnataka does not discriminate between prepaid and postpaid subscribers. The problems you have described are common with both.

Last edited by hrag : 2nd January 2009 at 16:54.
hrag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2009, 16:52   #3
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bengalooru
Posts: 1,471
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Can the GSM network distinguish between post-paid and pre-paid users? Can the network prefer one type of users over another?
diabloo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2009, 16:56   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
anachronix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Madras
Posts: 3,233
Thanked: 1,221 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diabloo View Post
Can the GSM network distinguish between post-paid and pre-paid users? Can the network prefer one type of users over another?
Its possible! But I wonder why would the Service provider opt to do this.
anachronix is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2009, 17:05   #5
Team-BHP Support
 
benbsb29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 7,971
Thanked: 3,387 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hrag View Post
Airtel Karnataka does not discriminate between prepaid and postpaid subscribers. The problems you have described are common with both.
Hrishi, its still a lot better than trying to reach someone who is on the Vodafone network in an emergency. It simply does not discriminate between an emergency and a non-emergency. It just refuses to connect.

Being an Airtel post paid customer, i had a harrowing time trying to make an outgoing STD call to a landline yesterday. Finally, i gave up. cheers:
benbsb29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd January 2009, 17:05   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,217
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Check your PM Sinner and email the people mentioned. Let us know if they provide an answer to your problem.
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2009, 14:07   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
normally_crazy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 4,368
Thanked: 383 Times
Default

Airtel sucks big time since the last 3 months in Mumbai. The network simply refuses to connect to any other phone. Have complained lots of time on the hot line to no avail.

I have given up. Am thinking of options - how's the Idea network in Mumbai ?
normally_crazy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2009, 14:10   #8
BHPian
 
mmmjgm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: BOM, PNQ, DXB
Posts: 398
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Mumbai has a problem with a particular number of airtel numbers. Subscribers of MTNL GSM network are not able to get in touch with these numbers. MTNL garuda (CDMA) are okay. We have both at home, and using Garuda one is able to get in touch with Airtel numbers, however the MTNL gsm users are not able to get in touch.

Pretty weird, we have escalated this problem to all concerned, yet to no avail. Though there is no differentiation between prepaid/postpaid. The switches and the number of E1s active at the exchange end have something to do with this issue.
mmmjgm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2009, 18:06   #9
BHPian
 
sixthsense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 72
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

I was happy with my airtel connection in Bangalore for the past 2 1/2 yrs. , but then it started giving me problems just a week back.

I do not get a EDGE signal anymore and the phone stays on GPRS and the std calls get connected only after 10-15 tries (seriously) . I called up their cc 121 and it again took me 10 calls to get connected.

The reply was that the problem is not only with me but every user in Bangalore, as the Airtel network is getting a major network upgrade or something. I don't believe them but will wait for few more days before actually start thinking about changing the operator, keeping in mind the hassle free 2 years i've had with Airtel.
sixthsense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2009, 00:39   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
Raccoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Poona
Posts: 1,832
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

I'v heard that Airtel is bad in Bombay... but you gotta experience it in Poona to believe what its like! Firstly there are issues connecting... then if it connects, it can drop the call within the minute!! And even if it holds the call, its not much use, cus the voice clarity is PATHETIC!!!

As an icing on the cake they cheat, have the worst customer service I'v experienced and there is no Nodal officer or Appellete Authority to escalate the complaint to.

What is a miracle is how many still remain on this abominable network... everyone is harrassed but give the same lame excuse of not wanting to change the number!

Idea is the best network in Maharashtra (dont know about Bombay).
Raccoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2009, 00:49   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,818
Thanked: 1,439 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diabloo View Post
Can the GSM network distinguish between post-paid and pre-paid users? Can the network prefer one type of users over another?
The GSM network can and has to distinguish between prepaid and postpaid users. However the network can normally NOT prefer one type of users over another. I say normally because call routing can be customized.

It is not a case of discrimination - its just that the Prepaid Call Handling platform is a different network node. Postpaid user calls do not connect to that node, so if there is a problem with the prepaid platform then obviously postpaid customers are not affected.

Unfortunately the reverse doesnt work - both postpaid and prepaid calls go through the same point in the first place, so if postpaid customers cant make calls then the same would apply to prepaid too since the problem is at the first network contact point.

Last edited by Steeroid : 5th January 2009 at 00:51.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2009, 01:26   #12
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Navi Mumbai
Posts: 382
Thanked: 28 Times
Default

AirTel network is horrible in Mumbai. Its ture 50% of time when you dial a number one can hear the prerecorded voice that the phone is not reachable, even when the person is sitting next to you. Another annoying thing is that the line get disconnected in between (70% of time). During STD calls 10% of time the line become one sided. Bharti may be the number on in India in terms of customer base but most probably the last one in respect to service. I'm just thinking the funda behind that!!!
gaddiwale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2009, 10:25   #13
Team-BHP Support
 
benbsb29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 7,971
Thanked: 3,387 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sixthsense View Post
The reply was that the problem is not only with me but every user in Bangalore, as the Airtel network is getting a major network upgrade or something. I don't believe them but will wait for few more days before actually start thinking about changing the operator, keeping in mind the hassle free 2 years i've had with Airtel.
What are the other options you would be looking at in Bangalore?
Vodafone is seriously hopeless, and Idea .. i have no idea. Others such as Spice?
benbsb29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2009, 13:22   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,818
Thanked: 1,439 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benbsb29 View Post
and Idea .. i have no idea. Others such as Spice?
Spice is now Idea. Or will soon be. Mansidea has moved to Bangalore from Cochin as part of this changeover.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2009, 14:26   #15
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sydney / Secunderabad
Posts: 278
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Surprisingly here in Hyderabad Airtel is real good.Have 3 connections at home and it is real good.No problems at all.
D.V.R is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody facing problems with AIRTEL Mobile network snaronikar Shifting gears 88 27th September 2014 00:01
Delhi domestic airport pre-paid taxi to Noida dadu Route / Travel Queries 20 23rd August 2011 13:02
AirTel withdraws AIRTEL ONLINE gprs service star_aqua Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 6th May 2009 23:59
Airtel Network Down amitpunjani Gadgets, Computers & Software 48 16th August 2008 16:28


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 22:38.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks