Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th January 2009, 10:27   #46
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WanderNomad View Post
I am also a Vodafone Corporate customer and the voice plan I have is quite good. So does it mean I should check with them if they have a good corporate GPS plan too?

For me working on gprs is more or less like you have been on old dial-up lines where you need to wait a hour or so to download a 10 MB attachmen: Cant agree more dude.

By the way I am Amit.
Amit, you need to check with your admin dept. at first stage or could get in touch with Vodaphone people directly. Ask Vodaphone people how much you'll be charged under corporate plan you are on.
ashthedivx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2009, 10:44   #47
Senior - BHPian
 
iceman91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: melbourne/bangalore
Posts: 1,958
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

I use edge only to chek emails on the move else it is too slow or half the sites dont open.
Else at home and office WIFI it is. pretty quick and handy
iceman91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2009, 10:57   #48
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 213
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Apart from etc etc discussion that I have seen so far on the thread, my opinion on your question is that Wifi is a place specific service. You won't find it all the way from Delhi to Chandigarh or Mumbai to Pune or Chennai to Bangalore. However, you will have GPRS/EDGE connectivity all the way through on all these important routes. Same goes for your train journeys. SO, if you are looking to use exclusively Wifi as your preferred Mobile Internet Acces, not a very wise idea outside your house or office.

Regarding connectivity speed & pricing depends from circle to circle. Airtel charges 450 in Mumbai to prepaid users while in CG/MP circle, it is close to 230/250. Similarly I haven't yet seen any unlimited packages from Vodafone for retail mobile subscribers. Hence your choice of service provider should solely depend on your specific area.
given2fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2009, 10:54   #49
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bengalooru
Posts: 1,471
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Thanks for the inputs. So,
WiFi - frees you from wires, not location. But its cheap.
GPRD/EDGE/3G - true mobility but it costs.
WiMax - mobility, but waiting for WiMax handset to be launched.

Does anybody offer such a facility?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
Does his office bus have a WiFi router?
diabloo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2009, 14:09   #50
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Delhi
Posts: 269
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

Wrote to Corporate care at Vodafone and these are the corporate plans they have for us:

Rs. 199: 0.05paise per 10KB data sent and received
Rs. 499: 500 MB free and after that 0.05paise per 10KB data sent and received
Rs. 699: 1 GB free, there after 0.05paise per 10KB data sent and received

Last edited by WanderNomad : 9th January 2009 at 14:11.
WanderNomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2009, 14:15   #51
Senior - BHPian
 
srishiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 3,463
Thanked: 689 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diabloo View Post
Thanks for the inputs. So,
WiFi - frees you from wires, not location. But its cheap.
GPRD/EDGE/3G - true mobility but it costs.
WiMax - mobility, but waiting for WiMax handset to be launched.

Does anybody offer such a facility?
Some luxury trains do. They still need a WAN connection from the bus (like mobile WiMax, 3g or 4g, satellite etc.,)

I am not sure but WiMax in India may not be really mobile. It should be fixed WiMax.
srishiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2009, 17:49   #52
Senior - BHPian
 
shajufx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: BLR & Muscat
Posts: 1,575
Thanked: 269 Times
Default

Anyone is able to use messengers like Yahoo, google, MSN or similar on your mobile with the wi-fi at home or office ? I tried it on my blackberry pearl 8120 (without BB services active) but could only do browsing. None of the messengers are working, it shows 'Data services unavailable'. Any suggestions ?
shajufx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2009, 17:55   #53
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WanderNomad View Post
Wrote to Corporate care at Vodafone and these are the corporate plans they have for us:

Rs. 199: 0.05paise per 10KB data sent and received
Rs. 499: 500 MB free and after that 0.05paise per 10KB data sent and received
Rs. 699: 1 GB free, there after 0.05paise per 10KB data sent and received
Sad to hear Vodaphone dosen't offers unlimited plans to you.
ashthedivx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2009, 17:39   #54
BHPian
 
spiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 157
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashthedivx View Post
Sad to hear Vodaphone dosen't offers unlimited plans to you.
Yes , I actually wanted to switch as well and I found out that last month they stopped offering unlimited plans :(

Can anybody recommend any other service providers who offer good unlimited GPRS service ( Idea/MTNL ).
spiff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 11:50   #55
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 213
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Mumbai, you don't have any option (ok, Airtel prepaid does have a 15 Rs per day unlimited offer). Idea's network coverage is shady and recently, a friend from Pune was in his Mumbai home and Idea kept switching between idea and vodafone network and he got a billed of 3.5K for roaming calls for his GPRS usage. I will say, don't go the Idea way.

Btw, if possible through legal ways, pick up a SIM from another state where an operator gives unlimited option. Plonk it in & there you go.
given2fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 12:21   #56
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

In Mumbai MTNL is the only operator with unlimited GPRS/EDGE connections. It costs approx 400 per month.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 12:30   #57
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 213
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

@Netfreak, How is the coverage and reliability of the MTNL Dolphin GPRS service?
given2fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 13:13   #58
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

Coverage is pretty good in my home and office (Malad (W) and Churchgate).

But like any other provider, it depends a lot on specific location. E.g. building / flyover that gets between cell and tower can make GPRS lousy.

Reliability in your area is easy to try out with a Pre-paid SIM that costs 200 Rs.

Last edited by NetfreakBombay : 28th January 2009 at 13:15.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 14:02   #59
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 613
Thanked: 116 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by diabloo View Post
GPRD/EDGE/3G - true mobility but it costs.
Not really. I have an AirTel connection, and I am charged 99/- per month for unlimited data download.

And while roaming, if I remain on AirTel network, there are no charges for surfing. I have to pay for surfing only when I am on a non-AirTel network. This effectively means that I had never have to pay for surfing :-)

\N
ntomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 14:39   #60
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ntomer View Post
Not really. I have an AirTel connection, and I am charged 99/- per month for unlimited data download.

And while roaming, if I remain on AirTel network, there are no charges for surfing. I have to pay for surfing only when I am on a non-AirTel network. This effectively means that I had never have to pay for surfing :-)

\N

Looks like you are on Airtel Corporate plan as well
ashthedivx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Navi Mumbai Municipal Transport: Mobile ticketing & free WiFi in Buses (courtesy Ridlr) AkMar Commercial Vehicles 3 27th January 2016 14:32
Browsing vs Downloading prajwalkashyap Gadgets, Computers & Software 12 24th March 2010 15:39
Pics Of My Over The Top Gaming Rig and My Torrent / Browsing Rig -NUT-case Gadgets, Computers & Software 16 1st January 2010 22:53
Browsing the forum as a guest... n_aditya Shifting gears 6 11th January 2008 13:31


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 07:50.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks