Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th January 2009, 23:13   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
Airtel here charges 20 bucks for 24 hours. But wouldn't a data card be much faster ?
difference between most mobile phone and data card is EDGE. Data card has native edge support. But that doesn't mean every repeater in CELL are EDGE enabled.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
EVDO is not 3G. When a flavour of the standard is used over GSM, it becomes a part of 3G. That does not mean that EVDO = 3G. EVDO is CDMA 2000.
CDMA2000 is indeed 3G.

likewise CDMA One being 2G
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2009, 23:42   #17
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: N.A
Posts: 6,819
Thanked: 1,440 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
CDMA2000 is indeed 3G.
Whatever rocks your boat, guys.

Still a bit a research on the net on GSM standards might help.
Steeroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2009, 23:48   #18
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steeroid View Post
Whatever rocks your boat, guys.

Still a bit a research on the net on GSM standards might help.
Lolz!
Many people think that 3G is some technical term or a frequency that GSM works for high speed data transfer.. It simple means 3rd genearation in telecomunication standards. It applies to many standards not just GSM.

3G - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2009, 01:55   #19
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 222
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

I am more confused now.

Can someone tell me, if there is anyway in India, that I can connect to my company VPN and use remote desktop, in case I need to use it on the go?
My only concern is I dont want to sign a year's contract or something like that. So far as charges are not unreasonably high its OK.

Last edited by abhijitaparadh : 6th January 2009 at 01:58.
abhijitaparadh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2009, 10:41   #20
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 213
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

In India, you don't sign one year contracts like you do in US. It is a better telecom market here and you are free to choose your service provider whenever you wish 'if you are on GSM.'

Now coming back to your point, I would like to know if you have a EDGE enabled GSM phone. If yes, get a service provider who gives reliable GPRS/EDGE service in your area (Again, is it Pune?). Buy their Prepaid SIM, use the GPRS; if you get EDGE with a Prepaid connection, well and good, or else, buy a postpaid GPRS plan with EDGE connectivity. Again you won't be able to do Remote Desktop efficient, but connecting to VPN and downloading mails should be alright.

I can say that from my colleagues' experiences of their GPRS and USB internet devices.

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhijitaparadh View Post
I am more confused now.

Can someone tell me, if there is anyway in India, that I can connect to my company VPN and use remote desktop, in case I need to use it on the go?
My only concern is I dont want to sign a year's contract or something like that. So far as charges are not unreasonably high its OK.
given2fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2009, 11:11   #21
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 384
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhijitaparadh View Post
I am more confused now.

Can someone tell me, if there is anyway in India, that I can connect to my company VPN and use remote desktop, in case I need to use it on the go?
My only concern is I dont want to sign a year's contract or something like that. So far as charges are not unreasonably high its OK.
Hey I think BSNL may be offering Data Card on rent for minimum 3 months period at Rs. 350 or so. Read it somewhere but not sure whether all circles give it. Just do some research on BSNL and check out.
emkay456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2009, 15:42   #22
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

Quote:
Hey I think BSNL may be offering Data Card on rent for minimum 3 months period at Rs. 350 or so. Read it somewhere but not sure whether all circles give it. Just do some research on BSNL and check out.
yeah! Evdo card can be had for rent too, but its a post paid connection.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The DATA Card and USB Modem discussion thread (Reliance/Airtel/Tata) sk456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 720 11th December 2015 09:00
Reliance Broadband on Data Card !! emkay456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 2 12th March 2009 13:54
Reliance data card goes kaput ! Help needed emkay456 Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 6th January 2009 15:29
3G/EDGE data card Ketan Gadgets, Computers & Software 11 25th July 2006 17:50


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:01.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks