Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th January 2009, 21:20   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default What is this on my laptop

It was on the Laptop motherboard. I think it is a choke, is in the power supply section of the Laptop.

Name:  chip.jpg
Views: 805
Size:  113.1 KB
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2009, 21:36   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 137 Times
Default

That's a 2.2uH inductor.
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2009, 21:39   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

If I connect directly will it effect something ??

I think it is used for filtering power
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2009, 21:43   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 137 Times
Default

Connect directly as in? I don't understand your question, sorry.
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2009, 22:26   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImmortalZ View Post
Connect directly as in? I don't understand your question, sorry.
It means that I do not use it and short the path instead of the inductor.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2009, 22:29   #6
BHPian
 
adityamunshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Baroda
Posts: 771
Thanked: 6 Times
Default

LBM ji, messing around with Laptop power supplies these days kya ?? How many subs are you putting in ?
adityamunshi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2009, 22:49   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,709
Thanked: 1,076 Times
Default

if its still running, guess there must be a lot more ripple in the voltage now that its gone
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2009, 22:55   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
if its still running, guess there must be a lot more ripple in the voltage now that its gone
Have not till now but will it affect anything or do I have to put it there.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2009, 22:59   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,709
Thanked: 1,076 Times
Default

because its running even after you removed it , i guess its not critical. they're used to supress the HF ripple from the SMPS ouput (kinda like a DC LPF )
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th January 2009, 23:18   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
because its running even after you removed it , i guess its not critical. they're used to supress the HF ripple from the SMPS ouput (kinda like a DC LPF )
Have not switched on the laptop till now. Will try soldering it back
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2009, 00:43   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
abhinav.gupta88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Delhi , India
Posts: 4,087
Thanked: 308 Times
Default

Is it from the same laptop you beat down to hell?
abhinav.gupta88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2009, 07:56   #12
BANNED
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 865
Thanked: 35 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by low_bass_makker View Post
Have not till now but will it affect anything or do I have to put it there.
I think it is there to spy your transactions and report it to the authorities concerned, it must have already triggered an alarm somewhere when you disconnected it. They must be coming ...
zaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2009, 18:11   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 137 Times
Default

Short anything in a power supply circuit at your own peril. Hey, a laptop on fire could be a very purty sight!
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2009, 20:01   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abhinav.gupta88 View Post
Is it from the same laptop you beat down to hell?
Yes it is the same one....
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th January 2009, 23:54   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

Does not laptop comes with a charger/battery for powering purpose.

How can you make out that its related to PS. that too on lappy mobo.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Car Battery to 220V AC convertor / inverter for charging laptop etc sreeku In-Car Entertainment 163 25th September 2016 23:00
Laptop Problem...Urgent help required cooljay Gadgets, Computers & Software 23 17th November 2013 20:59
acer ' ferrari edition ' laptop normally_crazy Gadgets, Computers & Software 5 13th November 2007 15:46
question for laptop owners manaa45 Gadgets, Computers & Software 15 19th August 2005 23:52


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:09.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks