Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 5th January 2009, 20:36   #1
BHPian
 
revvedup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 251
Thanked: 8 Times
Default Help required to connect motherboard to chassis

Hello, it's me revvedup with my computer problems again. This time around I'm having problems connecting my computer's chassis to the motherboard.

Now my chassis has these connectors namely PWR+,PWR-,PWR SW,RST SW
and HDD LED. However my my mobo only has one power +,- socket and I don't have a clue about whether to fit the PWR SW or the PWR + and PWR - into that socket. To add the confusion I don't know about the kind of colour coding asus has for it's cables !

I am attaching the pics of both the mobo( Gigabyte GA-MA 78GM S2H)and the chassis(Asus TA-250) sockets so that u guys can get a even better idea about what i'm trying to say here .
Attached Images
  

Last edited by revvedup : 5th January 2009 at 20:40.
revvedup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2009, 00:01   #2
BHPian
 
revvedup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 251
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

21 views and 0 replies ! tech gurus, greenhorn where art thou ?
revvedup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2009, 00:03   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

Name:  DSC01922.jpg
Views: 5335
Size:  79.9 KB
Red: speaker It will have four pin connector but the two wires will be connected to 1 and 4 (2,3 pin being unused)

Yellow: Power switch (white and black cable in your case)

Blue: HDD led (orange white cable in your case)

Green: Reset Switch (Blue and white cable in your case)

Pink: Power Led (Green Yellow cable in your case)

PS: in case of LED, + and - are clearly marked. Even if you reverse the polarity it will not blow the LED, it will simply not light up.

Last edited by SirAlec : 6th January 2009 at 00:05.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th January 2009, 08:53   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Well, I will suggest that you refer to manual that came with the mobo. It will offer you the best help. In the initial pages there will a diagram that will indicate you everything. This is a small procedure and manual will help you sort out the issue.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2009, 08:02   #5
BHPian
 
revvedup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 251
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
Attachment 85799
Red: speaker It will have four pin connector but the two wires will be connected to 1 and 4 (2,3 pin being unused)

Yellow: Power switch (white and black cable in your case)

Blue: HDD led (orange white cable in your case)

Green: Reset Switch (Blue and white cable in your case)

Pink: Power Led (Green Yellow cable in your case)

PS: in case of LED, + and - are clearly marked. Even if you reverse the polarity it will not blow the LED, it will simply not light up.
Thank for your clear and detailed reply. But I'm confused about the polarities, can u tell me what the polarities are for the reset and power switches ? Should I take white as negative ?
revvedup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2009, 20:13   #6
BHPian
 
revvedup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 251
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Support/M...ProductID=2758

here's the link to the mobo manual. Despite my best efforts( I have connected everything in exactly the same manner as sir alec suggested) but the computer won't boot.
revvedup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2009, 20:19   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
nitrous's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UAE/Lon/Madras
Posts: 6,965
Thanked: 265 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by revved
But I'm confused about the polarities, can u tell me what the polarities are for the reset and power switches ? Should I take white as negative ?
Trial and Error should help
nitrous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2009, 20:25   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 137 Times
Default

Umm, switches don't have polarities yo.

The LEDs do. But they are secondary to getting your PC running.

What do you mean by "won't boot"? Detail the problem. What happens and what doesn't?
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th January 2009, 20:27   #9
BHPian
 
revvedup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 251
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nitrous View Post
Trial and Error should help
Nah it didn't. Tried reversing the polarities but the computer won't boot !
Is the power supply the culprit here ? Is there any way of identifying the faulty component ?


P.S- For the mobo manual it's version 1.1 .

EDIT-Nothing happens ! No signs of life at all , even the fans for the procy and in the case fail to spool up !

Last edited by revvedup : 7th January 2009 at 20:29.
revvedup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2009, 17:58   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
ImmortalZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 2,133
Thanked: 137 Times
Default

When you turn on the power to the SMPS, a green LED (sometimes different colour on some brands) should glow somewhere on the board. If it doesn't, you can start suspecting the SMPS. Of course, before all that, ensure there is power coming to the SMPS. Check the power cable's end with a tester and make sure it is supplying juice.
ImmortalZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2009, 18:18   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
reignofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,177
Thanked: 1,100 Times
Default

Easy to remember thumb rule: The side with printed information should always face away from the motherboard i.e face outwards.
reignofchaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2009, 18:28   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,711
Thanked: 1,084 Times
Default

forget the switches. make sure it starts otherwise. take a screwdriver ( or something metallic) and carefully use it to short the two power pins ( the ones SirAlec marked in yellow) - it should start up
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2009, 20:33   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 272 Times
Default

Yeah, try shorting the pins first. If that doesn't work, the mobo isn't getting power most probably.
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2009, 20:45   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

IMO, if you have got the connections as mentioned in manual, and if still even the setup is not starting, the SMPS is culprit. Your motherboard is not getting power. Happened the same with my friend with Zebronics SMPS. It was faulty and same things happened.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2009, 20:57   #15
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: jaipur
Posts: 33
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

check mobo LED , if it lights then mobo is getting power
JustStarted is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pls help me Urgent: Help me to connect ipod classic to amplifier vasudeva Gadgets, Computers & Software 2 5th October 2009 17:14
Possible motherboard problem ! TracerBullet Gadgets, Computers & Software 15 28th July 2009 19:54
Mobile motherboard goes kaput! ramki067 Gadgets, Computers & Software 5 16th April 2009 15:29
Which Processor, Motherboard & RAM? shuvd Gadgets, Computers & Software 47 4th May 2008 23:52
AMD which motherboard to buy? aseem Gadgets, Computers & Software 32 28th June 2006 13:52


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 14:33.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks