Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th June 2010, 14:43   #211
BHPian
 
thirst4torque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mysore,BLR
Posts: 93
Thanked: Once
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Butters View Post
"A device attached to the system is not functioning"
Have you checked the device manager? Are there any devices showing conflict/error? The hard drive should be ok. Looks like more of a board problem. Disconnect the HDD and connect to any other machine. I faced similar issue when the board got fried.

Last edited by thirst4torque : 26th June 2010 at 14:47.
thirst4torque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2010, 16:50   #212
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 272 Times
Default

Try data recovery software after moving the drive to another working computer. You should be able to recover most data.
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2010, 13:17   #213
BHPian
 
Butters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 63
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

well guys, this is for updating on my issue.

I tried connecting to my friends xp machine. The drives were not detected, neither in explorer nor device management. I tried again on another friends machine running windows 7, surprisingly my HDD got detected but complete 250GB as raw data. He was a techie so tried a tool called partition doctor, which tried to rebuild my devices partition table.

We were successful, but enough. I was able to recover my C and D but E and F were still showing as RAW data. Finally, we gave up and sent the HDD to a professional data recovery fellow at Lamington Road (Esskay Computers). HE has quoted 3700 for the entire disk recovery, to which i have mentioned to take recovery of drives E and F only. He will be reverting with further quote in a couple of days.

Alternatively i also checked with samsung guys (my HDD is samsung 250 GB) and they said my device is under warrenty untill 2012. So i guess i might as well have it replaced.


We
Butters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2010, 04:05   #214
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

You didn't say Samsung! I have had some weird experiences with Samsung HDD's and have ever since kept off them. In fact even if I buy a Seagate, I wont buy the latest model - I would keep at something that has been there for at least 6 months to ensure the firmware and hardware reliability has been tested out - I had two lessons, one with a Samsung crashing on me (head crashed). And a Seagate firmware issue in 500 GB which made the disc unusable (along with the data in it!)...
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st July 2010, 10:54   #215
BHPian
 
Amey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 679
Thanked: 189 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ph03n!x View Post
You didn't say Samsung! I have had some weird experiences with Samsung HDD's and have ever since kept off them. In fact even if I buy a Seagate, I wont buy the latest model - I would keep at something that has been there for at least 6 months to ensure the firmware and hardware reliability has been tested out - I had two lessons, one with a Samsung crashing on me (head crashed). And a Seagate firmware issue in 500 GB which made the disc unusable (along with the data in it!)...
One of the reasons why I shifted completely to Western Digital
Amey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2010, 16:20   #216
BHPian
 
Butters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 63
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amey View Post
One of the reasons why I shifted completely to Western Digital
well i too have moved to WD. Got their 500 GB IDE drive ! Have given the samsung for replacement and probably would use that drive as a back up
Butters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2010, 17:15   #217
Senior - BHPian
 
DCEite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NCR
Posts: 3,015
Thanked: 441 Times
Default

I have a Desktop with
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 1.86 Ghz,
1 GB RAM (512*2)
250 GB Hitachi HDD,
MSI GeForce 8400 GS 512 MB GFX card
Dell 19 inch widescreen monitor (EW198wfp).

I wanted to upgrade to to Win 7 64 Bit Ultimate . Is my configuration sufficient ? Will it be atleast as fast as Win XP SP2 which i am currently running ?

Last edited by DCEite : 21st July 2010 at 17:25.
DCEite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2010, 18:29   #218
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ruesselsheim
Posts: 219
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

Hi DCEite,

2 GB RAM is recommended for Windows 7 64 bit edition.

Have a look at this:
Windows 7 system requirements - Microsoft Windows
iPai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2010, 20:19   #219
BHPian
 
adheesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Bombay
Posts: 526
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCEite View Post
I have a Desktop with
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 1.86 Ghz,
1 GB RAM (512*2)
250 GB Hitachi HDD,
MSI GeForce 8400 GS 512 MB GFX card
Dell 19 inch widescreen monitor (EW198wfp).

I wanted to upgrade to to Win 7 64 Bit Ultimate . Is my configuration sufficient ? Will it be atleast as fast as Win XP SP2 which i am currently running ?
I am using exactly the same configuration as yours along with Windows 7 Ultimate(x64) since September (few days before its launch). Although there is no stability issue with 1 GB ram, it feels sluggish as compared to XP. Upgrading to 2 GB (why not 4, there are going cheap now a days, after DDR3 becomes mainstream, it would be costly and difficult to find DDR2) is recommended. Also, please do a fresh install rather than upgrading from XP to 7.

Hope this helps.

Regards,
Adheesh Parelkar

Last edited by adheesh : 21st July 2010 at 20:21.
adheesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2010, 21:04   #220
Senior - BHPian
 
ph03n!x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Madras
Posts: 1,703
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCEite View Post
I wanted to upgrade to to Win 7 64 Bit Ultimate . Is my configuration sufficient ? Will it be atleast as fast as Win XP SP2 which i am currently running ?
Any reason why you want a x64 OS? I mean, you have 1 GB of RAM - and a 32 bit OS is good enough to handle it. So unless you have a specific requirement, stick to 32 bit.

64 bit Windows goes to certain extent to maintain backwards compatibility with 32 bit, and hence has two of quite a lot of stuff - one for native 64 bit apps, and one for 32 bit. This means more hard disk space for the OS, more running process, et all. I use 32 bit Win 7 on my 2GB desktop and 64 bit Win 7 on my 4 GB laptop - though I don't find much of a performance difference, I can tell you that the 64 bit's overheads are more than the 32 bit rig on similar configurations / use.
ph03n!x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2010, 00:03   #221
SLK
Senior - BHPian
 
SLK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: DL XX XX XXXX
Posts: 1,288
Thanked: 184 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ph03n!x View Post
Any reason why you want a x64 OS? I mean, you have 1 GB of RAM - and a 32 bit OS is good enough to handle it. So unless you have a specific requirement, stick to 32 bit.
+1
I have a test configuration - with both windows server 2008 (32bit) and windows server 2008 R2 (64bit) installed and working.

Though there are no significant performance differences, the 64bit feels a bit heavy right from the point it starts up.

I run it on a C2D E8400 - 4GB - DDR2
SLK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2010, 00:11   #222
Joy
BHPian
 
Joy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 305
Thanked: 25 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCEite View Post
I have a Desktop with
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 1.86 Ghz,
1 GB RAM (512*2)
250 GB Hitachi HDD,
MSI GeForce 8400 GS 512 MB GFX card
Dell 19 inch widescreen monitor (EW198wfp).

I wanted to upgrade to to Win 7 64 Bit Ultimate . Is my configuration sufficient ? Will it be atleast as fast as Win XP SP2 which i am currently running ?
In order to utilise Windows 7 64 bit full potential, IMHO 4 GB RAM is highly recommended to utilise the full potential. Other than that you have the necessary configuration, though up gradation of your graphics sub system is highly recommended.

By the way, I am using Windows 7 32-bit for the last 6 months (approx) without any trouble with 2 GB RAM with an integrated nvidia 7025 chipset. Of course, it is not up to the potential (graphically).

Last edited by Joy : 22nd July 2010 at 00:18.
Joy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2010, 01:51   #223
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ph03n!x View Post
64 bit Windows goes to certain extent to maintain backwards compatibility with 32 bit,
and still often fails because of incompatibility.
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2010, 09:56   #224
BHPian
 
Butters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 63
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joy View Post
By the way, I am using Windows 7 32-bit for the last 6 months (approx) without any trouble with 2 GB RAM with an integrated nvidia 7025 chipset. Of course, it is not up to the potential (graphically).
how much did the license cost you ??
Butters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd August 2010, 11:06   #225
BHPian
 
Repsol's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 188
Thanked: 21 Times
Default Issue with thumbnail view !!!

I have Windows7 in my laptop and till yesterday, when I go to the folder where I keep my videos and select thumbnail view, I see a preview of the videos. But now I don't know why, in the thumbnail view, even though it tries to show the preview, the images are blurred. I mean, I am not able to differentiate the videos by simply looking at the thumbnails. Can anyone help with this. What can be done to resolve this issue ?
Repsol is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 8 anyone ? sam003 Gadgets, Computers & Software 187 4th June 2015 01:38
Copying large number of folders from windows XP to windows 7 laptop tsk1979 Gadgets, Computers & Software 28 18th June 2010 22:47
Google Earth & Windows Live Local Satelite Imaging! tsk1979 Shifting gears 40 19th April 2006 09:15
Weird Windows: Can anyone explain this?! v1p3r Shifting gears 25 1st October 2005 00:13
Windows SP2 introduced!! GTO Shifting gears 15 17th September 2004 22:20


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:51.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks