Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13th January 2009, 15:28   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,217
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by appuchan View Post
While I am at it, I also saw this new free online shared drive from Microsoft called SkyDrive. Looks interesting.

Explore Windows Live SkyDrive

Skydrive has been around for at least a few months.

Also there are hacks available already to remove the time limitation on this beta W7.
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2009, 18:06   #17
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,217
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

I have just installed this on an old computer (AMD Sempron 3200, 2 gig ram, onboard graphics) and I was quite surprised at the quick installation and how it found and installed the correct drivers for all my attached devices.

The onboard vga share was initially set to 128MB but it works better with it set to 256MB.

It looks pretty much similar to Vista to me, then again I only ever used Vista half a dozen times on my laptop before I installed XP Pro over it.

I have found one little flaw with it, I installed Firefox and then tried loading IE. IE came up with the usual dialogue box about setting it as my default browser etc and then it would not let me make any choices and got stuck. Quick end task got rid of that problem.

Last edited by bigman : 13th January 2009 at 18:08.
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2009, 18:44   #18
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ram.west View Post
Guys, Whats the minimum requirement for Windows 7???

Ran it in a vmware player with 512 MB RAM and 8 GB HDD. It works fine so far. But have not added any App yet.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2009, 18:49   #19
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 32
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Windows Tutorials, Tweaks, Tips-n-Tricks, Software, Themes, Skins, Wallpapers & More features many tips such as removing the desktop watermark, removing the send feedback link. Do check it out guys.
ipkonfig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2009, 09:55   #20
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,854
Thanked: 123 Times
Default

I am not able to run the windows update in 7. Am getting the message that it is not able to connect to the update server.

Anyone else facing this issue?

PS: I am connected to the internet.
HappyWheels is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2009, 16:07   #21
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 46,537
Thanked: 80,274 Times
Default

MS Servers may be down, I tried running an XP update over the weekend. Same problem.
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2009, 16:24   #22
BHPian
 
nitroxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: DXB
Posts: 817
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

Great so windows 7 is on the way...vista sucks big time and now what ,they want to make things better? say like from 4GB ram I need to go to 8GB? they dont have that spec on laps yet do they LOL!
nitroxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2009, 18:12   #23
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 272 Times
Default

W7 is surprisingly very good. Installed it on a Dell Inspiron 1525 laptop (1.83Ghz C2D, 2GB RAM, 160GB HDD, etc). Have to say, I'm very very impressed. Picked up all my hardware, and running as fast as XP, with the added eye-candy! And where Vista felt forced down my throat somehow, W7 is running beautifully.
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2009, 19:56   #24
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,854
Thanked: 123 Times
Default

Yup, seems like it was the server issue itself. The updates are happening as of now.
HappyWheels is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2009, 09:53   #25
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 213
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Windows 7 Thread

I am opening this thread to discuss more about Windows 7. Yes, it is still in Beta, but RC1 is just a few months away & I am already liking it in my VMware setup. Next step is to put it on my workstation alongwith Vista x64 & switch between them from time to time to check on features & compatibility & performance.

As for the first impression, I can say that with a simple 1 GB setup, you can expect it to be faster than Vista. I don't have Windows 7 Aero feature yet in my VMware but expect it to come in play when I install it on my physical box.

So, start writing! Eager to see people who are already transitioning to Windows 7 or waiting to see the results to make the move!
given2fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2009, 10:00   #26
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,175
Thanked: 128 Times
Default

Is it true that only computers with Windows Vista can download and use it. No option for Windows XP?.
vasudeva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2009, 10:06   #27
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 213
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

It is a beta release and right now off the web for new downloads. But you can still get it through torrents or if any friends has a copy, the get a copy. As of now, it is a license unrestricted piece of software and for the junta to see and report raw edges. So go and see it. I am running it in VMware (x64 edition) with 1 GB of memory and it is as smooth as WinXP. Response time is fantastic & there are no Admin Password pop-ups like in Vista. Most of the gadgets made for Vista are still available & there are some new Windows 7 only gadgets as well. Plus, you get the Windows 7 ultimate edition to play with for free for upto a year. Isn't that really cool!
given2fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2009, 10:08   #28
Senior - BHPian
 
Fountainheader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,502
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vasudeva View Post
Is it true that only computers with Windows Vista can download and use it. No option for Windows XP?.
Guess anyone can download the beta version from M$ site and install. Not 100% sure since by bro-in-law downloaded it from the US and brought it on a DVD. He was on Vaio original Vista before.

I have Windows 7 on my Laptop. Did a clean install over my Windows XP. Its some hazaar times better than Vista. There are still those security pop-ups time and again (User account control in a subdued version). But overall I'd rate it 8/10
Fountainheader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2009, 16:52   #29
Distinguished - BHPian
 
jkdas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Thiruvananthapu
Posts: 9,635
Thanked: 1,343 Times
Default

Bump.
I intend to try RC this week. Hope all goes well.
jkdas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2009, 01:08   #30
BHPian
 
d3mon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 460
Thanked: 558 Times
Default

I am using RC1.

All did go well during the install, which took under 30 mins.

It's a dream when it comes to responsiveness, and gaming performance is miles better than that in vista, almost as good as xp

Two thumbs up !!
d3mon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 8 anyone ? sam003 Gadgets, Computers & Software 187 4th June 2015 01:38
Copying large number of folders from windows XP to windows 7 laptop tsk1979 Gadgets, Computers & Software 28 18th June 2010 22:47
Google Earth & Windows Live Local Satelite Imaging! tsk1979 Shifting gears 40 19th April 2006 09:15
Weird Windows: Can anyone explain this?! v1p3r Shifting gears 25 1st October 2005 00:13
Windows SP2 introduced!! GTO Shifting gears 15 17th September 2004 22:20


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 12:08.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks