Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd January 2009, 22:10   #31
BHPian
 
Rocky_Balboa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Namma Bengalooru
Posts: 580
Thanked: 54 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyWheels
Did not notice it through out the day today. And it has gone to sleep mode each time after I used, as it should. So I guess it was a temp glitch!
WinMo Glad it was only a temp glitch.

Hows the call and text experience bud? Did you try taking pics?
And is the back panel truly fingerprint resistant.
Rocky_Balboa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2009, 10:59   #32
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,854
Thanked: 123 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
Bhai!! bechoge kya???

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky_Balboa View Post
...Hows the call and text experience bud? Did you try taking pics?
And is the back panel truly fingerprint resistant.
I am yet to apply the patch for the camera. A hotfix from HTC. will do the checking after that.

And yes, the back panel is fingerprint resistant.

Quote:
Originally Posted by softroader View Post
... anyway, if you want the diffirent clock where your time is shown there is a arrow on top if it pull the arrow down with your finger and you'll find your new clock. this is the only one they have, but looks excepttionall! enjoy.
yes, you either have the digital or the flap model one. I hate both!
HappyWheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2009, 14:27   #33
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,854
Thanked: 123 Times
Wink

Few things that I did last few days:

Installed the following hotfixes:
1. Fix for Sliding Answer
2. Fix for TouchHD system
3. Fix for Display flicker
4. Fix for camera pixel noise

All these where from the HTC site.

Brought a casing yesterday.

My new friend - HTC HD-image021.jpg

My new friend - HTC HD-imag0005.jpg

One big time mess is with the clock. If not careful, the time gets changed due to the fingers getting in touch with the screen. Decided not to trust the time shown in the HD and always rely on one more source. It is either a couple of hours different, or in my 'visiting' time zone!!!

Installed GSen, one of those screen flipping software. Good to have.

Guess, I might just start with cooked ROMS' soon enough. The big daddies of these over here have given more than enough pointers for this. As of now, trying to keep it as stock.

Battery Power: To take the unit through a full discharge - charge cycle, I had let the music player run through the night. It ran for 6~7 hours, before dying. This was on its speakers and not on headphones. Volume kept at medium.

Full charge back took an equal amount of time. Am charging from my laptop.

So I guess, the battery is good and will become more healthier after few more rounds of the charge cycle.

Last edited by HappyWheels : 25th January 2009 at 14:31. Reason: spelling mistakes!
HappyWheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2009, 14:42   #34
Senior - BHPian
 
snaronikar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 2,845
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Just saw this thread...Welcome to HTC club. I own a HTC touch. Its really awesome. I have kept it as stock till now. Not uploaded anything except songs, few presentations and couple of word and excel files.

Yeah..the battery backup is really good unlike my previous one.
snaronikar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2009, 16:51   #35
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PNQ-HKG-SZX
Posts: 1,238
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

Congrats Suresh on your new gadget. One more Happy Customer (HappyWheels ) and definitely HTC products have many satisfied customers I believe, should plan to own one.

OT: So you heading back to Bangy from Singapore. Stay in Touch.
VJ_MAVRICK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2009, 23:11   #36
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

Bhai! if in singapore, ek aur lao yaar, seriously!, despertly want this at your price.

Here its ridiculously priced.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 11:24   #37
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,854
Thanked: 123 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snaronikar View Post
Just saw this thread...Welcome to HTC club. I own a HTC touch. ... Yeah..the battery backup is really good unlike my previous one.
Thanks, Snaronikar.

Yup, the battery is great and am loving it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by VJ_MAVRICK View Post
... should plan to own one.

OT: So you heading back to Bangy from Singapore. Stay in Touch.
You should! It is addictive! Am back here in Singapore for just 3 days. Heading back tomorrow night. :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
Bhai! if in singapore, ek aur lao yaar, seriously!, despertly want this at your price.

Here its ridiculously priced.
SirAlec,

This price is with the StarHub (a Singapore based telecom provider) 2 year contract and if I break this contract there is a penalty. If I include the penalty, then the price reaches more or less the same as we have here in India!
HappyWheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 12:55   #38
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,217
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post

This price is with the StarHub (a Singapore based telecom provider) 2 year contract and if I break this contract there is a penalty. If I include the penalty, then the price reaches more or less the same as we have here in India!
I got mine free without a contract.
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 13:14   #39
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,854
Thanked: 123 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigman View Post
I got mine free without a contract.
you lucky guys!

Well, I am thankful that at least this is not locked to the service provider! So no need to getting into all the unlocking issues.
HappyWheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2009, 21:27   #40
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,217
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
you lucky guys!

Well, I am thankful that at least this is not locked to the service provider! So no need to getting into all the unlocking issues.
Its pretty easy to unlock HTC phones. If you do not want to void the warranty then you can just buy a subsidy code for about 15 (discounts is multiple codes bought) off ebay.
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 00:41   #41
BHPian
 
Rocky_Balboa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Namma Bengalooru
Posts: 580
Thanked: 54 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyWheels
Battery Power: To take the unit through a full discharge - charge cycle, I had let the music player run through the night. It ran for 6~7 hours, before dying. This was on its speakers and not on headphones. Volume kept at medium.
did You say the HTC ran for 6-7 hours before it was discharged!!! I just cant believe this.
to HTC.

Were You able to test GPS locking HW?
Rocky_Balboa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 01:15   #42
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,217
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky_Balboa View Post
Were You able to test GPS locking HW?
Not sure if HW has tested the GPS but I have made ample use of the inbuilt GPS. It locks on to a signal pretty fast from a cold start, I even got it down to less than 20 seconds from a cold start. There is no apparent GPS lag. It can pickup 8-10 satellites easily which is more than what is required for an accurate fix. It even picks up a decent fix from inside the house.

Last edited by bigman : 28th January 2009 at 01:18.
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 01:57   #43
BHPian
 
Rocky_Balboa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Namma Bengalooru
Posts: 580
Thanked: 54 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigman
There is no apparent GPS lag. It can pickup 8-10 satellites easily which is more than what is required for an accurate fix. It even picks up a decent fix from inside the house.
Wow, thats a double thumbs-up for the HD. Looks like the A-GPS is functioning pretty well.
Thanks for the info bigman and hows the GPS accuracy?
Rocky_Balboa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 02:28   #44
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,217
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rocky_Balboa View Post
Wow, thats a double thumbs-up for the HD. Looks like the A-GPS is functioning pretty well.
Thanks for the info bigman and hows the GPS accuracy?
Thats with the AGPS setting turned off.

Accuracy is fine, I have tested with the usual euro satnav software (tomtom, iGo etc etc) and never had a problem with accuracy.
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th January 2009, 03:48   #45
BHPian
 
Rocky_Balboa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Namma Bengalooru
Posts: 580
Thanked: 54 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigman
Thats with the AGPS setting turned off


Quote:
Originally Posted by bigman
Accuracy is fine, I have tested with the usual euro satnav software (tomtom, iGo etc etc) and never had a problem with accuracy.
bigman, is it possible to precisely know the accuracy(hehe)., I mean by meters/feet!
Rocky_Balboa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HTC Touch upgraded model no. vvrchandra Gadgets, Computers & Software 17 8th October 2008 20:32
HTC Kaiser - Best ROMs bigman Gadgets, Computers & Software 2 6th May 2008 00:58
Connecting htc touch through to JVC player! nitroxx In-Car Entertainment 4 5th March 2008 01:50
HTC Touch Cruise in Noida/Delhi MC Mayank Gadgets, Computers & Software 4 3rd March 2008 10:52
iMate K-JAM a.k.a HTC Wizard launched Steeroid Gadgets, Computers & Software 23 21st October 2005 23:03


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 13:32.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks