Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21st January 2009, 20:51   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
Fountainheader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,502
Thanked: 8 Times
Default iPod Classic white screen (of death) problem!

Hi guys,
Have bought an iPod classic 120 GB from eBay. The packing et al was genuine. And so is the product I guess.

I installed iTunes. The software was updated. Then I connected the iPod. The iPod software also got updated.

Since then I've been only seeing a white screen. Is there any solution for the same ?

Regards,
Anil
Fountainheader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2009, 21:23   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,217
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

I have an ipod repair manual (pdf) which may be of some use. PM me your email id and I will upload or email to you. I have it saved somewhere I think so will search for it when I have a bit more time.

Last edited by bigman : 21st January 2009 at 21:29.
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2009, 21:31   #3
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Tejas@perioimpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 3,947
Thanked: 4,766 Times
Default

Press the centre and menu buttons together until it force restarts. Should be fine after that.

If not, then connect to itunes and hit restore.
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2009, 21:33   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
Fountainheader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,502
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
Press the centre and menu buttons together until it force restarts. Should be fine after that.

If not, then connect to itunes and hit restore.
I've tried both the options. Still its white screen only :(
Fountainheader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2009, 21:44   #5
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Tejas@perioimpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 3,947
Thanked: 4,766 Times
Default

let it run outta battery and then connect to comp via usb and let it charge.

Does it show on itunes?
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st January 2009, 21:51   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
Fountainheader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,502
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tejas@perioimpl View Post
let it run outta battery and then connect to comp via usb and let it charge.

Does it show on itunes?
Yes it does. I'll drain the battery and check.
Fountainheader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2009, 00:27   #7
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Tejas@perioimpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 3,947
Thanked: 4,766 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fountainheader View Post
Yes it does. I'll drain the battery and check.
If it shows on itunes, use the restore feature or try to downgrade the version. A google search will show you how to do it.
Tejas@perioimpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2009, 00:43   #8
BHPian
 
johnda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Tvla
Posts: 403
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

Fountain.
1. see if it is detected on another machine that has itunes. try to restore on that.
2. how did you charge your ipod earlier? or did you?
3. reinstall itunes. well better still go to apple or elsewhere and download an older version of itunes like: Download iTunes, iTunes 6.0 Download
4. don't use a dock to charge your ipod do the usb thing itself.
5. if nothing works - Contact your seller and inform him about the damage and see what happens.

All the best!
johnda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2009, 01:03   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
Fountainheader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,502
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

iTunes 8 doesnt allow me to downgrade the firmware. I am trying to download iTunes 6.

All my roomies have iTunes 8. So its the same problem everywhere.
Fountainheader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2009, 16:18   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
Fountainheader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,502
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

Had enough of restoring and retrying. Went to the Apple service center. They will replace the same within 3 days.
Fountainheader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2010, 11:44   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
shuvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 2,895
Thanked: 282 Times
Default

The iPod thread seems to be locked.

Is the iPod Classic (with HDD) any less reliable than the flash based iPods? It does offer a lot of space for the price.

Classic 160GB is $225 while the Touch 64GB is $350.

Proposed usage being only music playback in the car. No video, no earphones etc.
shuvc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2010, 15:03   #12
BHPian
 
m-hawk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: mumbai
Posts: 217
Thanked: 8 Times
Default

My iPod classic is with me since last 3 yrs and few glitches I have experienced were solved at home only first being it gets hanged and if all fails just let the frozen screen on All nite once the battery drains it gets back to normal! Another was battery could nt hold any charge the minute it used to get disconnected from charger it used to die within seconds looked up for battery change video on you tube found it quite easy DIY hence tried opening it half way the wonderful gadget blinks and reset s itself till date the old battry is rocking ! Asked an expert he said the iPod had gone to safemode last being it was recharged in a friend s car from the ciggerate lighter wint non OE charger . It is yet going strong .

Last edited by m-hawk : 3rd May 2010 at 15:17.
m-hawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2010, 15:08   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
shuvc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 2,895
Thanked: 282 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m-hawk View Post
Asked an expert he said the iPod had gone to safemode last being it was recharged in a friend s car from the ciggerate lighter wint non OE charger . It is yet going strong .
Does the Classic require a separate charger? Or does it charge through the USB connector?

Does it charge when connected to a headunit through an iPod cable?
shuvc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd May 2010, 17:15   #14
BHPian
 
mtnrajdeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 639
Thanked: 82 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shuvc View Post
Does the Classic require a separate charger? Or does it charge through the USB connector?

Does it charge when connected to a headunit through an iPod cable?
It charges both the times. Have been using it this way for about 5 years now!
mtnrajdeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aux Cable for iPod Classic FanaticOnWheels In-Car Entertainment 6 17th July 2010 23:37
Half screen problem in Samsung Plasma TV Samurai Gadgets, Computers & Software 7 4th March 2010 22:04
Pls help me Urgent: Help me to connect ipod classic to amplifier vasudeva Gadgets, Computers & Software 2 5th October 2009 17:14
Windows Vista - White Screen on startup, internet issues sammyboy Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 28th September 2009 19:19
Problem with wide screen LCD monitor resolution bill1182 Gadgets, Computers & Software 23 30th May 2009 02:29


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 08:32.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks