Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24th January 2009, 09:10   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
deepclutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Muvattupuzha
Posts: 1,119
Thanked: 108 Times
Post iball ibaton iB-LR6111A Router - anyone?

I got a D-link GLB-802C which was dead and was also facing DSL link breakge at 5 minute interval.
So ,today I gave that router for Service.
Also ,I bought this ibaton iB-LR6111A(possibly tp-link chipset) router for the time being.it costed Rs1500.
Coming to the issue- How is this modem/router?Is there any firmware updates available?their website is down(thanks to IIS server!)
Also ,I have a slight feeling that this router also disconnects at exact 20 minutes interval? Any One?
--
and is this also the same as ib-LR6111A router?so ,can I use the FW support for that ?
TP-link chipset
TD-8816
--
Is there any chances that the motherboard/lan card triggers this kind of disconnection?I tried the router on a dealer's dataone connection.it doesnot disconnect.
but for me ,the broadband line shows SNR value differing from 37 to 3 in a matter of seconds for downlink.My Line Attenuation is 46 which is not a matter of problem since I had no issues for past 3.5 years until 2-3 months back.
I guess this time it is not router.
1)motherboard/lan card -which trigger something which disconnects?
2)broadband line/exchange.
Anybody can help me?What is the reason for varying SNR values?with very low SNR value ,I guess the DSL link will be broken.which is what happening to my connection.
deepclutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2009, 09:26   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,713
Thanked: 1,085 Times
Default

when using lunix , stick to vendors who have a proven record of selling supported equipment to show our support

either way, for a router , lunix support is not important . I'm an almost satisfied WRT54g ( v7 ) user
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2009, 09:38   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
deepclutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Muvattupuzha
Posts: 1,119
Thanked: 108 Times
Default

what GNU/Linux support?It has nothing to do with Linux!It is not connected via USB!JFYI GNU/Linux works great with pppoe mode than the window$ bleah.Kya yaar ,you are having pre conceived notions! .
--
I am suspecting the SNR problems are triggered either by the hardware or by the phone line.and today it is saturday and no one will lift the phone in exchange . :x
deepclutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2009, 09:43   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,713
Thanked: 1,085 Times
Default

no re, I meant when you buy something , buy something from a manufacturer who offers linux support , just to appreciate the fact that they are giving it. I have no doubts that you can get it to work even if they wont help
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2009, 09:51   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
deepclutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Muvattupuzha
Posts: 1,119
Thanked: 108 Times
Default

^this broadband router thingy doesnot hold anything on such lines.all router works under pppoe mode.USB support is unstable anyways.
--
deepclutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2009, 11:08   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,713
Thanked: 1,085 Times
Default

communication gap
never mind ...
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2009, 11:45   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
deepclutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Muvattupuzha
Posts: 1,119
Thanked: 108 Times
Default

^I know.like internal modem(winmodem) manufacturers or hardware(graphics card,mobo bleah..) which supports Linux should be only bought.Is that what you want to say?It is 6 years or so ,I am hearing that. Only amd ati I have seen committed and also via(onboard graphics).
and this router/modem has nothing much to have "hardware support" for Linux.It already *is* running on Linux,now Linux support?huh?
--
funfact : ibaton website is hacked and the fellas dont care!
http://www.iballbaton.com/admin/
--

Last edited by deepclutch : 24th January 2009 at 12:00.
deepclutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2009, 15:20   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 272 Times
Default

No dude, he means companies like Linksys, which use Linux as the OS for the router, and support the community by releasing patches and source code.
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2009, 17:45   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
deepclutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Muvattupuzha
Posts: 1,119
Thanked: 108 Times
Default

First of All ,I dont want a advanced wireless router which can run tomato or whatever Linux version.
deepclutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2009, 18:11   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 272 Times
Default

That's fine. I'd still recommend something like Linksys over iball any day. The quality of iball shows in the shoddy experience you've had with it. Firstly, would not recommend using a firmware update of a different router.


Quote:
but for me ,the broadband line shows SNR value differing from 37 to 3 in a matter of seconds for downlink.My Line Attenuation is 46 which is not a matter of problem since I had no issues for past 3.5 years until 2-3 months back.
I guess this time it is not router.
1)motherboard/lan card -which trigger something which disconnects?
2)broadband line/exchange.
Anybody can help me?What is the reason for varying SNR values?with very low SNR value ,I guess the DSL link will be broken.which is what happening to my connection.
Your computer's mobo cannot cause problems with the SNR values. It's either the line/exchange which is having problems, or the router is really bad. You should complain to your ISP to get the line checked. Most probably, nothing to do with the router.
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2009, 21:07   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
deepclutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Muvattupuzha
Posts: 1,119
Thanked: 108 Times
Default

Router is working fine.sorry for the doubts I had.I said ,I have D-link GLB-802C modem which got the 5 minute disconnection problem given for Service.So ,like a placebo effect ,I guessed this 20 minute disconnection.
but the problem is with line I suppose.
and tp-link chipset is thaaaat bad?huh?
deepclutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th January 2009, 23:08   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

Do two things.
1. Check you phone line for any disturbances. Make sure its a single cable if possible from the telephone pole.

2. Check for any trojans, spywares, or viruses. which may affect Windows LSP.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2009, 06:46   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
deepclutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Muvattupuzha
Posts: 1,119
Thanked: 108 Times
Default

Yesterday(sunday) ,I got time and patience to check whole line,splitter,router thingies.
with router config page opened ,I checked the SNR,Line attenuation details.With Telephone connected ,the SNR value drops to 3 to 5dB range for downlink where before it was 33-35!.I was shocked to find this.then ,bought a new phone and checked again.this time ,the SNR values are remaining what it must be(around 29-33 for me).
what I felt is ,the phone was either internally short(grounded) slightly ,else how can this happen?

2)With GNU/Linux ,those where history for me -atleast for past 8 years. .that is why @greenhorn was trying the satire from the start of the thread(calling lunix?)

@greenhorn:LUnix is a Unix-like operating system for the Commodore 64
LUnix - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Last edited by deepclutch : 26th January 2009 at 06:51.
deepclutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2009, 08:44   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,713
Thanked: 1,085 Times
Default

a bit offtopic , but Lunix - Encyclopedia Dramatica
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th January 2009, 11:03   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kochi
Posts: 2,147
Thanked: 142 Times
Default

greenhorn, thanks for that link. The ED home page has some interesting links at the bottom. Very, very interesting. With that kind of links, I guess the definitions on the site are very accurate and authoritative, right?
BaCkSeAtDrIVeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to secure your ADSL internet router / modem from being hacked the mole Shifting gears 6 30th August 2016 09:31
iBall TakeNote or Wacom Bamboo or something else? honeybee Gadgets, Computers & Software 2 6th December 2012 10:05
How to use remote desktop through wifi router DCEite Gadgets, Computers & Software 14 7th June 2010 18:38
Wireless router from the US MC Mayank Gadgets, Computers & Software 36 9th July 2009 09:02


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 19:45.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks