Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th February 2009, 21:25   #16
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 152
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

A easy solution is to turn the Wireless switch momentarily off and then on again, works every time, IMHO this may be a power up notification issue that has not been handled properly in the Wireless drivers/stack, so turning off and on works as re-initialization happens in this case.
aburagohain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2009, 21:47   #17
BHPian
 
Raj1008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 119
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by aburagohain View Post
A easy solution is to turn the Wireless switch momentarily off and then on again, works every time, IMHO this may be a power up notification issue that has not been handled properly in the Wireless drivers/stack, so turning off and on works as re-initialization happens in this case.
But then how does it connect with other networks?
Raj1008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 00:20   #18
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 152
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

maybe the current context is lost somehow, that would be my guess.. anyway, the idea is not to debug broadcom's drivers but to come up with a easy solution to a nagging day to day problem, what i have been doing all the time with multiple lappies
aburagohain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 01:14   #19
BHPian
 
muneemmk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cochin
Posts: 809
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

After reading the Thread Name I thought your wife doesn't connect with you after your slumber
muneemmk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 01:44   #20
BHPian
 
Raj1008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 119
Thanked: 12 Times
Default

@ muneemmmk That was hilarious. I had to reread my thread title twice before I got it. I guess its more common to say wifi here so didnt really think about it

@ everyone, its day 3 and its working fine now. I set the ZA level to medium and its been connecting like a charm.

Thanks to everyone for their inputs and tsk1979 for identifying ZA as the root of the problem
Raj1008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 09:05   #21
BHPian
 
mathewpn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 43
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Windows XP SP3 also have a bug, which holds it back to connect to wifi or wired connection when it comes out of standby/hibernation. some svchost background processes will crash.
mathewpn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pioneer 5050 Auxilliary input doesnt work Ragin_Ice In-Car Entertainment 3 26th February 2009 11:25
Out of hibernation. TracerBullet Introduce yourself 5 17th July 2007 11:17
Who said that the 1 series doesnt look good? _Crazi4Speed_ The International Automotive Scene 8 29th September 2004 23:16
Doesnt this remind you of something? _Crazi4Speed_ The International Automotive Scene 6 23rd March 2004 23:38


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:45.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks