Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th February 2009, 18:09   #16
BHPian
 
romyeo4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hyderabad - Now Bangalore
Posts: 289
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harry10 View Post
This is complete bullshit. However as i understand this is for new users and not existing users. Is that right?
One another q- Guys if you are using 256kbps speed what should be the average download speed. Am getting 30kb/sec on an average.
This is for everyone , I have been with Airtel for close to an year
I'm on 256kbps after I crossed the cap of 15Gb , I'm getting 10kbps earlier it used to be 30kbps
romyeo4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 18:13   #17
BHPian
 
romyeo4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hyderabad - Now Bangalore
Posts: 289
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vikram_d View Post
I for some reason still think that this news is not true.

Edit: Also the link provided by Sammyboy shows it in a completely different light. Me thinks this is aimed and spammers & their ilk rather than at normal users.
You can get it confirmed by talking to Airtel customer support, I got the shock of my life when I called them that my DL speed is less, they came up cooly and said SIR there is CAP limit on your account.
romyeo4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 18:14   #18
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Nikhilb2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4,663
Thanked: 3,132 Times
Default

Vikram, I hve experienced this. MY speed is ndown to 256 from 384 kbps. I got a call asking if I wanted to upgrade to 512 kbps unlimited(yeah right!@) at 1499. I asked them and they clearly confirmed that they are throttling speeds.

I spoke to Deepak from Madiwala branch.
Nikhilb2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 18:21   #19
Senior - BHPian
 
harry10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Faridabad/Delhi
Posts: 2,214
Thanked: 533 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by romyeo4u View Post
This is for everyone , I have been with Airtel for close to an year
I'm on 256kbps after I crossed the cap of 15Gb , I'm getting 10kbps earlier it used to be 30kbps
Interesting. I am still getting 30kbps, touchwood. And am using airtel since 3 years.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikhilb2008 View Post
Vikram, I hve experienced this. MY speed is ndown to 256 from 384 kbps. I got a call asking if I wanted to upgrade to 512 kbps unlimited(yeah right!@) at 1499. I asked them and they clearly confirmed that they are throttling speeds.

I spoke to Deepak from Madiwala branch.
Nikhil in my view this is just a gimmick to extract more from consumers. Now people will upgrade there plans and airtel will mint money.
Which other provider can we opt for in unlimited plans with no usage problem?
harry10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 18:28   #20
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 272 Times
Default

Full on (*%*#$#@(-giri going over here. Lucky to be with an ISP who seems ignorant of this policy for now.
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 18:29   #21
BHPian
 
whatcanthisbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: http://www.wandering-online.com
Posts: 501
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

I havent checked lately but my downloads seem to be fine, if airtel is doing this thenn bye bye airtel welcome BSNL / MTNL
whatcanthisbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 18:32   #22
Senior - BHPian
 
abhinav.gupta88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Delhi , India
Posts: 4,087
Thanked: 308 Times
Default

I havent faced any problems till now.
abhinav.gupta88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 18:34   #23
Team-BHP Support
 
Eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 7,268
Thanked: 4,423 Times
Default

The slowdown in speeds will be evident only if you cross the CAP limit.

Till then, go through the link that I provided, airtel has acknowledged the move. Whether it is sustainable, is another story.
Eddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 18:38   #24
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

I have there 1 mbps plan till now every thing ok...let us see what happens next..
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 18:40   #25
BHPian
 
whatcanthisbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: http://www.wandering-online.com
Posts: 501
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddy View Post
The slowdown in speeds will be evident only if you cross the CAP limit.

Till then, go through the link that I provided, airtel has acknowledged the move. Whether it is sustainable, is another story.
I wonder when i will cross the limit, I am on the 256 plan, d/l all the time averaging 25-30 KBps
hmmmm
whatcanthisbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 18:42   #26
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Nikhilb2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4,663
Thanked: 3,132 Times
Default

North India is not affected. This is being enforced only in South India.
Nikhilb2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 18:55   #27
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Faridabad
Posts: 6,814
Thanked: 293 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikhilb2008 View Post
North India is not affected. This is being enforced only in South India.
Why ??? I have heard that it is for the metros only.
low_bass_makker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 19:27   #28
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Nikhilb2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4,663
Thanked: 3,132 Times
Default

That is what I heard on another forum.
Nikhilb2008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 19:57   #29
aZa
Senior - BHPian
 
aZa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Noida / Delhi
Posts: 1,595
Thanked: 17 Times
Default

i'm on 1mbps unlimited, haven't noticed anything.
aZa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2009, 20:32   #30
Senior - BHPian
 
govigov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cochin!!!!!
Posts: 1,271
Thanked: 382 Times
Default

Vinuthomas confirms the same here.

vinuthomas.com >> Discussion Forum >> DSL Broadband Providers >> Airtel (Touchtel) Broad Band >> Airtel Unfair Usage Policy - limit on unlimited broadband!?!

apparently the cap is different for different users. a snapshot is here.

Airtel has now set a limit on their unlimited data transfer plans.

Customers who cross this limit would end up with a slowed down connection.

the limit on their unlimited plans are as under:

128 kbps = 10 GB download limit per month
256 kbps = 15 GB download limit per month
384 kbps = 20 GB download limit per month
512 kbps = 25 GB download limit per month
1 Mbps = 150 GB download limit per month

Some Airtel users have confirmed that their speeds have been reduced to almost half of what their package promises.

[COLOR=#006699]sifybroadband.techwhac...nd-limited[/COLOR]
govigov is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airtel Broadband Turbo 1299 Plan (Unlimited 512KBps / 1MBps) given2fly Gadgets, Computers & Software 175 15th October 2011 22:46
AirTel withdraws AIRTEL ONLINE gprs service star_aqua Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 6th May 2009 23:59
Whats the fastest i.e whats the highest average speeds that you have maintained naveendhyani Street Experiences 1 3rd April 2006 18:09
Whats the fastest i.e whats the highest average speeds that you have maintained MKRAFT Street Experiences 1 3rd April 2006 17:25
Posting restrictions to new members Samurai Shifting gears 0 29th June 2005 11:43


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:56.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks