Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19th February 2009, 17:25   #46
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: @ Driver's Seat @
Posts: 679
Thanked: 57 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zappo View Post
of course I have now remote telnet scripts running to ensure that the modem switches off by itself at 2 in the morning and restarts.
Is it really possible ? Can you kindly share the same, being a mech nerd, doesnt understand abc of computers
lambuhere1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 17:32   #47
Senior - BHPian
 
harry10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Faridabad/Delhi
Posts: 2,214
Thanked: 533 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by suman View Post
Well, I was just going to post - I'm pretty sure I've crossed the 15gig limit (can't check now 'cos the Airtel site is under maintenance) & I had my daughter check out the speeds this afternoon. Our download speed was 298, upload was 305 so seems pretty OK to me (we're on 256)
Mine is 256 as well and am also getting around same speed so i guess not in effect yet and am sure my limit is long gone as i do more than a gb download daily.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddy View Post
My only worry with them is that they will present me with a huge bill, even if I am on an unlimited plan. Ala Sam.
How is BSNL speed and services? Anyone who has experience with it?
If the cap is done on airtel am definitely switching.
harry10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 17:36   #48
Team-BHP Support
 
Zappo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 5,631
Thanked: 1,976 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lambuhere1 View Post
Is it really possible ? Can you kindly share the same, being a mech nerd, doesnt understand abc of computers
Of course it is buddy. Of course you need to find out if you use the RASdialer to login to your Net connection (bridge mode) or is your net in the Always-On mode (PPP). You need to telnet a script remotely only if you are in PPP mode. For a dialer based connection you can write a script to dial into your ISP at 2 in the night or a little later. This will ensure that you do not encounter any "spillover effect" in your bills.

About the telnet scripts you will need to do a little research with your modem to figure out the exact commands that it takes for the necessary action and the way it needs to be passed. All of them need a little tweaking.

By the way, which modem is yours?

Quote:
Originally Posted by harry10 View Post
How is BSNL speed and services? Anyone who has experience with it?
If the cap is done on airtel am definitely switching.
To me it appears absolutely sufi. I have checked with Speed test... See here.

Last edited by Zappo : 19th February 2009 at 17:46.
Zappo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 18:33   #49
Senior - BHPian
 
harry10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Faridabad/Delhi
Posts: 2,214
Thanked: 533 Times
Default

@Zappo- Nice!
I can get this plan and use airtel for regular use. Its beneficial for me only if i get the night unlimited(that is the time i do my torrent downloads. Any NCR member who has recently got BSNL to shed some light if such a plan is available here.
harry10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 18:42   #50
Team-BHP Support
 
Eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 7,268
Thanked: 4,424 Times
Default

Is BSNL present in Delhi ?

MTNL offers 256kbps unlimited connection at 600 bucks IIRC
Eddy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 18:45   #51
BHPian
 
sam003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 527
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

I don't think this has been done for north yet. As if you see airtel.in site and search for region like Karnataka for any value pack it says at bottom of the page "
Speed is subject to Airtel Fair Usage policy. Please check for the same on the website" But if you click on link on left pdf doesn't open.

But nothing is there in Delhi for the same plan.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddy View Post
Is BSNL present in Delhi ?

MTNL offers 256kbps unlimited connection at 600 bucks IIRC
For Mumbai and Delhi its MTNL rest all BSNL

Last edited by Zappo : 19th February 2009 at 23:58. Reason: Do not make back to back posts or consecutive ones within 20 minutes of each other. Use Edit and Multiquote buttons where required.
sam003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 18:49   #52
Team-BHP Support
 
Eddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 7,268
Thanked: 4,424 Times
Default

Yep, and we don't know how good or bad MTNL is. Actually, there is no feasible alternative. Sify is so bad that I will not use it even if I am paid for it.
Eddy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 18:56   #53
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 213
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

I just finished downloading fair amount of data in last couple of weeks amounting far more than the cap on my home 999+. It is back to 384 KBPS since yesterday somehow and I will probably have to wait until my billing cycle is over. But this is not 256 KBPS as some links & pics showns here mentions.

However, I do see that in MH & Goa circle, they don't show the 1 MBPS plan anymore. I can also see that they have increased the price for 512 KBPS plan by 100 bucks to 1599/- now. God know what is happening around this place but if the cap sets in, then I am in for a switch.


My speedtest just now shows this


Last edited by given2fly : 19th February 2009 at 19:00. Reason: Added speedtest
given2fly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 18:59   #54
BHPian
 
romyeo4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hyderabad - Now Bangalore
Posts: 289
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

can't we do anything to the highheaded Airtel folks? the only thing I'm doing right now is spread the message like wild fire and asking them to switch to the other alternatives if the Airtel says it will continue putting a CAP on DL limit.

@Zappo: How do we get a new BSNL broadband connection, I dont have a BSNL landline? I went to the BSNl site, I couldn't find much info.

I don't how effective this protest is, but you can sign a petition online
Airtel Petition

Last edited by romyeo4u : 19th February 2009 at 19:06.
romyeo4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 19:05   #55
BHPian
 
sam003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 527
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddy View Post
Yep, and we don't know how good or bad MTNL is. Actually, there is no feasible alternative. Sify is so bad that I will not use it even if I am paid for it.
I switched from MTNL to Airtel. Problem being govt organisation. If you have problem then call center sucks, doesn't matter which language you select you will get jaat bhai everywhere. Till the time its running that's fine, but if problem occure then only God can help. Download speed in 256 kbps connection I never touched 20 kbps. But on the other side sometime on speed test sites I have seen 1.5 mbps too for my 256 kbps connections. Not sure how much to faith either on speedtest sites or MTNL.
sam003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 19:58   #56
Senior - BHPian
 
harry10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Faridabad/Delhi
Posts: 2,214
Thanked: 533 Times
Default

Is there any plan for unlimited download at night - like say between 12am to 8am?
Currently am using a 256kb unlimited from airtel and need a seperate plan for unlimted downloading at night.
Also can someone tell me download speeds i can get in a 384kbps and 512kbps.
In 256kbps am getting 25-30kbps normallly.
harry10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 20:07   #57
BHPian
 
sam003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 527
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harry10 View Post
Is there any plan for unlimited download at night - like say between 12am to 8am?
Currently am using a 256kb unlimited from airtel and need a seperate plan for unlimted downloading at night.
Also can someone tell me download speeds i can get in a 384kbps and 512kbps.
In 256kbps am getting 25-30kbps normallly.
I am using 384kbps connection and usually get between 35 to 45 or even above 50 sometime depends upon download sites. Good torrents get 45-50 kbps
sam003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 21:05   #58
BHPian
 
romyeo4u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hyderabad - Now Bangalore
Posts: 289
Thanked: 10 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harry10 View Post
Also can someone tell me download speeds i can get in a 384kbps and 512kbps.
In 256kbps am getting 25-30kbps normallly.
For 384 you might get around 45-50Kbps
For 512 - 60-65Kbps
the math is divide by 8, thats the maximum one can get give or take 2kbps
romyeo4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 21:28   #59
Senior - BHPian
 
harry10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Faridabad/Delhi
Posts: 2,214
Thanked: 533 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by romyeo4u View Post
For 384 you might get around 45-50Kbps
For 512 - 60-65Kbps
the math is divide by 8, thats the maximum one can get give or take 2kbps
Kool.
So any info for my query of any unlimited download plan fo night in 1mbps or above range?
harry10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 23:50   #60
BHPian
 
whatcanthisbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: http://www.wandering-online.com
Posts: 501
Thanked: 2 Times
Default

Just booked my MTNl unlimited connection today
599+50(modem rental)
256 K unlimited no cap crap like airtel is pulling, will check it out for a couple of days before i disconnect my airtel connection

Last edited by whatcanthisbe : 19th February 2009 at 23:52.
whatcanthisbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airtel Broadband Turbo 1299 Plan (Unlimited 512KBps / 1MBps) given2fly Gadgets, Computers & Software 175 15th October 2011 22:46
AirTel withdraws AIRTEL ONLINE gprs service star_aqua Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 6th May 2009 23:59
Whats the fastest i.e whats the highest average speeds that you have maintained naveendhyani Street Experiences 1 3rd April 2006 18:09
Whats the fastest i.e whats the highest average speeds that you have maintained MKRAFT Street Experiences 1 3rd April 2006 17:25
Posting restrictions to new members Samurai Shifting gears 0 29th June 2005 11:43


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 17:06.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks