Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th February 2009, 10:48   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
kb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangy Boy!
Posts: 1,554
Thanked: 14 Times
Default How to measure Broad Band usage - Vista Business

Friends

I use a Linksys WAG200 modem cum wireless gateway at home. Its shared with a desktop running XP (wired) and a laptop running Vista Business & an iPhone (wireless).

I have a private telecom service provider who buys bandwidth from various organisations and distributes it internally. I am having reason to suspect the usage is being inflated (for eg for the last 10 days the usage is already at 1.6GB) We dont game, dont watch any streaming videos etc.. Just regular mail, chat, facebook kind of usage.

Is there any way I can monitor the quantum of traffic to see if we are actually using this bandwidth?
kb100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 11:04   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default

Your router will have all the stats of the traffic that has passed through it. You can check that.

Or you can use a utility called BW Meter on all your systems. But the problem with this utility is that it will include all network usage including any LAN that you might have.

Edit: The new version of BW Meter has an option for monitoring only internet traffic or lan traffic. But it is not a free software. Costs 30 USD.

Last edited by vikram_d : 18th February 2009 at 11:21.
vikram_d is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 12:00   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
kb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangy Boy!
Posts: 1,554
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vikram_d View Post
Your router will have all the stats of the traffic that has passed through it. You can check that.
Where can one get this statistic? I use a Linksys WAG200 modem/router and the only thing I can see is this thing called 'Reporting' under 'Administration' tab. It asks if 'LOG' should be enabled and asks for a "syslog ip address 192.168.1.__"


Is this it.. if so what should be the last digit or digits of that ip address.

Or is there something that is required to be done? - All I want is something that logs all traffic every time the modem is switched on - till I ask it to reset all counters at the beginning of every month.
kb100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 12:21   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default

I am not too sure with my way around the Linksys Wag200. Will check and get back to you on that.
vikram_d is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2009, 15:10   #5
BHPian
 
Shakensoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: AS01
Posts: 492
Thanked: 220 Times
Default

You can also try Netlimiter to monitor BB usage

NetLimiter - The Ultimate Bandwidth Shaper
Shakensoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 00:06   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

What telecon provider?? You can ask for a detail usage report. thats your right, if its a limited plan.

how does he distribute the internet connection. through cable, or ADSL.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 11:30   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
kb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangy Boy!
Posts: 1,554
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
What telecon provider?? You can ask for a detail usage report. thats your right, if its a limited plan.

how does he distribute the internet connection. through cable, or ADSL.

He distributes it thru ADSL. HE has given me the Dataline.co.in id and password to check usage. But the thing is it comes thru his servers - so I have no idea if he has orther connections in parallel. THe reason I suspect this the download speeds are not more than 25Kbps - that too for a 2Mbps line!!
kb100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 15:58   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

If its adsl, then the usage is legitimate. as adsl line use port binding along with your username.

but you can install a small utility like bandwith monitor etc. to check the upload and download.

25kbps is very low for 2mbps line. he must have capped the download speed. Bsnl does that in unlimited plans.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 20:01   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
kb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangy Boy!
Posts: 1,554
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
If its adsl, then the usage is legitimate. as adsl line use port binding along with your username.

but you can install a small utility like bandwith monitor etc. to check the upload and download.

25kbps is very low for 2mbps line. he must have capped the download speed. Bsnl does that in unlimited plans.

Well - The connection is thru a telephone line - isnt that what a ADSL is?

The connection is not an unlimited one - it has a 2.5GB cap on free usage. they seem to have kicked the night time free to some unearthly hour - 2am - 6am or something like that)

What I am amazed with is how can I , with regular usage/surfing (NO downloads other than windows updates etc), end up using over 1.6GB in 10 days ! (at a download speed of 25Kbps I would have been climbing walls by then!)
kb100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 23:17   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
frankmehta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 3,865
Thanked: 2,216 Times
Default

i use something called bandwidth monitor. its a great accurate utility. its not resource hungry too. try getting it off the internet.
frankmehta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 23:23   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
AbhiJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Kolkata
Posts: 1,282
Thanked: 415 Times
Default

I use DUMeter... recommended by the BSNL guys..
AbhiJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th February 2009, 23:28   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
kb100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bangy Boy!
Posts: 1,554
Thanked: 14 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AbhiJ View Post
I use DUMeter... recommended by the BSNL guys..
Where do you get that?
kb100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2009, 17:08   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

Du meter, this one is a shareware
DU Meter Home Page

bandwith monitor
Bandwidth Monitor - Monitor Bandwidth, Network Bandwidth Monitor, Bandwidth Monitor Software
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2009, 17:20   #14
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 594
Thanked: 29 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirAlec View Post
Both are 30days trial period. Is any freeware is available
aka_iitd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2009, 17:28   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

ooh! BM use to be free.

Search for net monitor.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Broad day light robbery at outer ring road Bangalore boeuff Street Experiences 58 11th November 2013 09:29
World's first Broad-Gauge Railcar Restaurant Ram Travelogues 12 6th February 2010 19:20
My indica stolen in broad daylight: What can I do ? hondadude Street Experiences 47 9th May 2008 13:20
broad rear wheels for cbz chiragh_bir Motorbikes 7 2nd May 2006 16:53
Indica - Broad tyres spirits999 Tyre & Alloy wheel Section 7 4th October 2005 11:01


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 22:36.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks