Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16th March 2009, 15:21   #1
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 613
Thanked: 116 Times
Default How to use S-video output of Laptop to connect to CRT TV?

Hi,

I have a HP Pavilion laptop, which has a NVIDIA GeForce G0 7400 graphics card. Can I connect my non-HD, CRT TV with this laptop using the S-video cable?

The laptop has a 7-pin S-Video port and I've been able to find the multiple display option in the graphics card properties, but it detects an HD TV, where my TV is non-HD. When I select the option to clone displays on laptop and TV, the display resolution goes down but nothing comes on the TV.

Any idea whether it is possible?

Regards

Nitin
ntomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2009, 15:42   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 21
Thanked: 3 Times
Default

Hi Nitin,

Are you using S-Video to S-video cable? I think there is a S-Video to 3 RCA cable that you can use to connect a laptop to a conventional TV. I have heard about it, but I could never find it till now.

I am sorry I am a NOOB in this, but I hope that my answer helps you.

Jagadish
jreddy420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2009, 16:03   #3
BHPian
 
dr_know's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: In & Out
Posts: 187
Thanked: Once
Default

What is your resolution set at?? For non-HDTV's the resolution has to be brought down pretty low. (eg: 800x600 or at times even lower)
dr_know is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2009, 16:14   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
akshay4587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chandigarh/Mohali/Ambala Cantt
Posts: 3,759
Thanked: 1,534 Times
Default

i tried connecting my old tv to my laptop through S video
it didnt work
akshay4587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2009, 16:20   #5
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,861
Thanked: 2,398 Times
Default

Interesting thread even I am interested to kow if this is possble

Quote:
I think there is a S-Video to 3 RCA cable that you can use to connect a laptop to a conventional TV
Where do we get this? I could only find S-Video to S-video cable in various stores
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2009, 16:21   #6
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 613
Thanked: 116 Times
Default

I am using a S-Video to RCA cable, which have only one video out jack (yellow); not using the S-Video to 3 video cable.

Resolution is set automatically to 800*600 when I choose the multiple displays option.

Nitin
ntomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2009, 16:28   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
akshay4587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chandigarh/Mohali/Ambala Cantt
Posts: 3,759
Thanked: 1,534 Times
Default

even i have the S video to RCA cable
got it along NVIDIA card that i bought 6 years ago
akshay4587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2009, 16:31   #8
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 613
Thanked: 116 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
Where do we get this? I could only find S-Video to S-video cable in various stores
Try eBay; I bought mine for 250 bucks.

\N
ntomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2009, 16:40   #9
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,861
Thanked: 2,398 Times
Default

Thanks ntomer,

is this the one

S-Video Cable 4-pin to 1 RCA connector - 2 meters

Are you using it for connecting PC\laptop to a CRT tv?

Last edited by Technocrat : 16th March 2009 at 16:42.
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2009, 16:50   #10
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 613
Thanked: 116 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
Thanks ntomer,

is this the one

S-Video Cable 4-pin to 1 RCA connector - 2 meters

Are you using it for connecting PC\laptop to a CRT tv?
My laptop has a 7-pin S-video port, so I bought this one - eBay India: 7 pin S-Video + Stereo to 3 RCA A/V Cable (Pro) - 1.5 M (item 400034796798 end time 10-Mar-2009 21:53:46 IST).

Yeah, I am trying to connect to a non-HD CRT TV.

\N
ntomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2009, 17:20   #11
Team-BHP Support
 
Rehaan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 22,229
Thanked: 21,890 Times
Default

ntomer,

There are also other threads that discuss similar topic, might be worth taking a look :
s-video site:team-bhp.com - Google Search

cya
R

Last edited by Rehaan : 16th March 2009 at 17:28.
Rehaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2009, 17:38   #12
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Technocrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mid West
Posts: 14,861
Thanked: 2,398 Times
Default

Oh I didnt know that there are different type of S video sockets? Need to check out which one is mine, any idea how to easily identify whether its a 4 pin or 7 pin?

Btw you are not able to make it work with the current cable right?
Technocrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2009, 17:43   #13
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 594
Thanked: 29 Times
Default

Folks i am also searching fro S-Video(7 pin) to 3 RCA cable to connect laptop with my TV. I tried in staples but no luck. Any pointer where I can procure it/order it.
Nitin from where you got the cable

EDIT : I got it on ebay
eBay India: (Stereo Audio, S-Video) to 3 RCA Audio /Video Cable (item 380101133457 end time 02-Apr-2009 13:49:12 IST)

A 7-pin socket accepts a 4-pin plug, but not vice-versa. Check S-Video - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Last edited by aka_iitd : 16th March 2009 at 17:53.
aka_iitd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2009, 17:45   #14
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 613
Thanked: 116 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Technocrat View Post
Oh I didnt know that there are different type of S video sockets? Need to check out which one is mine, any idea how to easily identify whether its a 4 pin or 7 pin?

Btw you are not able to make it work with the current cable right?
Umm... check you laptop, if the S-video slot has 4 holes it's a 4-pin socket, if it has 7 holes it's a 7-pin socket :-)

Yeah, I am not able to make it work with this cable only. I have installed the latest version of my graphics card driver (NVIDIA GeForce G0 7400). It recognizes my TV, but as a HD TV. And is not sending the output on it.

\N
ntomer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2009, 19:14   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
akshay4587's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chandigarh/Mohali/Ambala Cantt
Posts: 3,759
Thanked: 1,534 Times
Default

after trying hard i found mine its a 4 pin with one yellow RCA connector for video
i tried hard,changed resolution and what not,laptop doesnot detect external CRT TV
akshay4587 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange Phenomenon: Power Adapters gone bad kept near CRT TV anujmishra Gadgets, Computers & Software 6 12th September 2011 15:51
LG Flatron CRT Monitor complaint: Hissing sounds di1in Gadgets, Computers & Software 9 20th July 2009 17:51
CRT Tv-Which will be the Best Bet kphilip Gadgets, Computers & Software 32 7th June 2009 00:09
help me choose for 60% highway use 40% city use nawabnabeel SUVs, MUVs & 4x4s 43 7th April 2009 17:48
Which CRT monitor DCEite Gadgets, Computers & Software 8 1st June 2006 08:23


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:44.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks