Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20th March 2009, 21:42   #1
Distinguished - BHPian
 
manishasrani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 4,516
Thanked: 5,771 Times
Default Camera problem - Bad pictures at night?

I use a canon digi cam and i don get good images in the night.
initially i used to get a proper bright image in the night but now a days when i take pics in the night only some portion seems to be bright and the rest becomes very dark.

is it something to do with the modes ?

@ mods this thread can be merged if a similar thread exists .

these are different pics taken from the same cam !
Can anyone explain why i don get proper images in the night in spite of using flash ??
Attached Thumbnails
Camera problem - Bad pictures at night?-img_2579-sc430.jpg  

Camera problem - Bad pictures at night?-img_1575-h2.jpg  

Attached Images
 
manishasrani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2009, 22:06   #2
Distinguished - BHPian
 
SS-Traveller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 6,565
Thanked: 10,479 Times
Default

I think you have an issue about the metering mode setting - centre weighted vs. full screen metering. Your present mode seems to be centre weighted, with burnuot of the peripheral bright spots. Please check if your metering mode is in full screen mode, and flash is set to automatic.
SS-Traveller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2009, 22:09   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,565
Thanked: 360 Times
Default

Sorry not to answer your question directly, but the wheels on the Hummer look so Sick. It resembles bullock cart wheels. I need a mask if I am asked to drive it.

I think SS-Traveller answered the question.
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2009, 22:44   #4
BHPian
 
rajismine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pune
Posts: 515
Thanked: 252 Times
Default

Do one thing. Put the mode dial to Auto and take the pic. It shud be fine. I think you are in manual mode and the exposure is low and hence darker pics

As such I dont see anything wrong with the pics. They are good..
rajismine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2009, 22:49   #5
Distinguished - BHPian
 
manishasrani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 4,516
Thanked: 5,771 Times
Default

Thanks guys i will try.
@rajismine
the first pic has come out really dark.
but the place was so bright in real.

and when i try to take pics in the night without flash , the camera becomes too sensitive to capture and hence i get a shaken pic .

Last edited by manishasrani : 20th March 2009 at 22:51.
manishasrani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2009, 23:07   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
vivekiny2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: cincinnati, jabalpur,chennai
Posts: 1,241
Thanked: 163 Times
Default

if you have the old images that used to be good, compare their EXIF with the new ones and see what is different.

why it's different can be because of the metering options as others mentioned.
vivekiny2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2009, 23:29   #7
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,614
Thanked: 6,701 Times
Default

Built-in flashes are not really very powerful; I suspect you may be just expecting too much of your flash and your camera.
Thad E Ginathom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2009, 23:37   #8
BHPian
 
hkanitkar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: pune
Posts: 641
Thanked: 18 Times
Lightbulb

Manish - you scared me ! I thought the continuous flow of the supercar pics from bangy was gonna run dry

Back to the topic - which cam are you using ?

If its a simple point and shoot, the flash is simply an under-powered one and thus it has lit up the areas closer to the cam location and darkened the farther spots.
I derive this from the fact that the long shot ( 1st pic ) has come out darker, and the close-ups are bright.

If it is a prosumer ( something like a Canon S-5-IS ), it seems like a problem with Intensity ( power ) settings for flash. Usually on Nikon D-SLRs, if i keep the flash switch pressed and turn one of the horizontal dials to L or R, it increases or decreases the intensity ( power ). This is somewhat similar to the Exposure settings on any camera.

Edit - @Thad : exactly my thoughts !
@manish - dude, all the members at team-bhp should gift you a good cam with fastest start-up time, fastest write time, powerful flash and a very long zoom

Last edited by hkanitkar : 20th March 2009 at 23:41.
hkanitkar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2009, 03:07   #9
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,614
Thanked: 6,701 Times
Default

Quote:
If it is a prosumer ( something like a Canon S-5-IS ), it seems like a problem with Intensity ( power ) settings for flash
My S2 IS flash is not powerful enough for longer shots, but washes out closer stuff. For real close-up I turn it right down.

Thank goodness for digital --- that we don't have to waste film on these experiments!
Thad E Ginathom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2009, 09:14   #10
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pune
Posts: 258
Thanked: 26 Times
Default

Disable the flash.
Turn on the night mode if present.
Your hands should be damn steady when the flash is disabled.

Disable flah + night mode on -> used in fluorescent light surrounding; and in open places where there's <an object which will have high focus if flash used and background have less or nothing present.>
subscrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2009, 10:34   #11
Distinguished - BHPian
 
manishasrani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 4,516
Thanked: 5,771 Times
Default

ok thanks a lot everyone !
manishasrani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2009, 11:14   #12
Distinguished - BHPian
 
SS-Traveller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 6,565
Thanked: 10,479 Times
Default

Was the thanks because of problem solved, or because of an overload of info and suggestions?
SS-Traveller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2009, 11:20   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
gd1418's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 3,578
Thanked: 651 Times
Default

I think manish totally got confused with a surfeit of helpful suggestions and decently took a escape route saying THANKS and logged out..
gd1418 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st March 2009, 11:50   #14
Distinguished - BHPian
 
manishasrani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: bangalore
Posts: 4,516
Thanked: 5,771 Times
Default

yes
problem solved !
Auto mode gives me clear images and while in manual mode and without flash i get a clear image when the camera is still until the pic completes processing !

No escape route
manishasrani is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chevy Cruze - Front Camera, Rear Camera, and Stronger White Headlamps? darthvader Modifications & Accessories 31 9th February 2014 21:18
In-car Camera mounts - Attaching a video camera to the Car im_srini Modifications & Accessories 74 22nd September 2013 14:46
5009 KMS-A'bad-Calicut-Bangy-Hyd-Aur'Bad-A'Bad-Report ramkya1 Travelogues 48 4th August 2010 00:04
A bad bad bad night for me.... Ranjan Sharma Street Experiences 38 8th April 2010 12:02
My accident - Bad brakes, bad rain, bad luck... vezj420 Street Experiences 41 22nd May 2007 10:49


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:54.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks