Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28th March 2009, 17:47   #16
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,707
Thanked: 1,060 Times
Default

the results are in, and we have a WINNER!

DVI IS better than VGA , and I could notice it , even without comparing it directly. The difference in sharpness and accuracy, is like, say the difference between a sony xplod and a JBL GTO! the sharpness is like a bunch of lays potato chips (Yum )

no , seriously, it is good. the only issue being my linux install refused to detect the correct video mode (1440x900) , so had to try it out in windows

I wish I could keep the cable, and damn viewsonic for not giving me a DVI cable with this monitor ( i think they stopped giving it out from a particular batch onwards)
greenhorn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2009, 18:24   #17
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sankar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kerala
Posts: 4,552
Thanked: 2,752 Times
Default

Greenie glad that the DVi came out trumps! What do you mean by you have to give the cable away? The cable can be bought separate.

Regarding the monitor most prolly it's gonna be Dell
Sankar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2009, 18:31   #18
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,707
Thanked: 1,060 Times
Default

yup, btw, the dell does have DVI. the model is E1909W. Just confirmed it with a friend who bought one. cost him 9.2k from logtech. I'd say buy it

Regarding the PSU, i think t might be a bit too little. what do the others think? will a 300W PSU handle a C2D E8400 + mid end card ?

PSU size will become a stumbling block Even in my case, a tiny iball cabinet with a custom PSU, the PSU has become the limiting factor.

PS: i got the cable from a friend who had issue getting it to work, and wanted to see if the problems lay with the cable . Guess not !

Last edited by greenhorn : 28th March 2009 at 18:32.
greenhorn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2009, 18:54   #19
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sankar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kerala
Posts: 4,552
Thanked: 2,752 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
Regarding the PSU, i think t might be a bit too little. what do the others think? will a 300W PSU handle a C2D E8400 + mid end card ?

PSU size will become a stumbling block Even in my case, a tiny iball cabinet with a custom PSU, the PSU has become the limiting factor.

PS: i got the cable from a friend who had issue getting it to work, and wanted to see if the problems lay with the cable . Guess not !
Guys your thoughts on the text in bold, please.
The particular PSU is an SFX form factor PSU. Upto around 400W is possible with this form factor, i think

Where did you get a custom PSU?
Sankar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2009, 18:58   #20
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,707
Thanked: 1,060 Times
Default

same way as you are going to. the cabinet comes with a non standard size PSU - you cant put anything else in there !
greenhorn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2009, 19:35   #21
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by greenhorn View Post
yup, btw, the dell does have DVI. the model is E1909W. Just confirmed it with a friend who bought one. cost him 9.2k from logtech. I'd say buy it

Regarding the PSU, i think t might be a bit too little. what do the others think? will a 300W PSU handle a C2D E8400 + mid end card ?

PSU size will become a stumbling block Even in my case, a tiny iball cabinet with a custom PSU, the PSU has become the limiting factor.

The PCI-e slot can at the most give upto 75W.
300W for the above mentioned is not within safe limit. Go for atleast 400W. This would be minimum requirement.
Its safe to go in for a 500W SMPS, but if that is beyond budget, get 400W one. 300W = strict NO.
1909W is true VFM, and its a good monitor with max resolution being 1440x900.
1440X900 in my VA 1912W and 1440X900 with DVI makes a difference, no doubt about this.

PSU form factor will become a major trouble in cabinet if cabinet is low end/mid range one and you plan to slot in SMPS of lets say 600-650W which will have fans larger than 80mm/92mm.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2009, 21:47   #22
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Sankar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Kerala
Posts: 4,552
Thanked: 2,752 Times
Default

It's called a SFX form factor PSU, i've seen upto 400W SFX PSU in the market though not here in India. I'll ask the supplier if he can provide me with a 400W SFX PSU.
Sankar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2009, 22:01   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 10
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sankar View Post

I never considered Dell, will check it out. Are the Dell LCD monitors better than their laptop LCD displays, i wish so. A colleague of mine had problems with his Dell laptop LCD and had to be replaced.

Definitely dude. Dell LCD monitors are one of the best out there, whether it be 19", 22" or 24". The 19" monitor I'm using is 8.5k or 9k (don't remember exactly, but out of those two prices) and I'd whole-heartedly recommend it. It's not as good looking externally as the Samsung T190, but who cares about external beauty
dcreator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2009, 23:53   #24
BHPian
 
muneemmk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cochin
Posts: 809
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Unlike before we can actually get good PSUs now ,but not budget models like the VIP PSUs tested in Digit magazine , Corsair,Cooler Master,Antech,Tagan but in the end What is your budget for the PSU ? and 400 watts would be adequate for your config ,you could check out your PSU power requirement in some PSU calculator but antec's PSU calculator shows 157Watts for my requirements, anyone got better idea about that ?

Good 400 Watt PSUs are available from 2.2K onwards from Coolermaster and I-ball and mercury got 450 watts PSU for 1000 bucks .
muneemmk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2009, 00:09   #25
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by muneemmk View Post
Good 400 Watt PSUs are available from 2.2K onwards from Coolermaster and I-ball and mercury got 450 watts PSU for 1000 bucks .

The difference is in quality. 400W from cooler master are more reliable than 450W from Iball. I am presently using I-ball 400W and know what can go wrong. The fan used is of such a shabby quality, that eventually I had to replace it myself, with a Rs. 50 fan. The entire design and work can be more clearly seen when one opens the PSU.

I-ball are reliable with upto 400W, but I am yet to receive more positive reviews of their relatively recent 400+W PSU.

@sankar : I thought they were all based on versions like ATX12V variants.

Last edited by aaggoswami : 29th March 2009 at 00:11.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2009, 00:24   #26
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,599
Thanked: 6,683 Times
Default

Can I join in, and ask people's opinions of ASUS monitors?
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2009, 00:39   #27
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,707
Thanked: 1,060 Times
Default

ASUS products are in general rated "avoid", since their distributor is known to be pretty bad with RMA. THey seem to be making efforts to improve, but still are not up to acceptable levels
greenhorn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2009, 01:05   #28
BHPian
 
muneemmk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cochin
Posts: 809
Thanked: 13 Times
Default

Woah. Keep away from Asus, go for it only if you are stranded on an island with only Asus supplies,still haven't recovered from the grief of a failed Motheboard and even my IT vendor said they are notorious for their After sales services and warrenty policys.

I used to have a Ibox 450watts PSU for the first 2 months it was okay and quite then it started sounding like a V6 in a not so good way.but didn't fail for the whole 3.5 year period, I still use the Server Chassis from Ibox.
muneemmk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2009, 02:08   #29
Distinguished - BHPian
 
Thad E Ginathom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 7,599
Thanked: 6,683 Times
Default

Oh dear. I'd got a general impression from the net that the monitors were expensive but good.

I don't like the sound of that A.S.S.
Thad E Ginathom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2009, 07:56   #30
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,628
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thad E Ginathom View Post
Oh dear. I'd got a general impression from the net that the monitors were expensive but good.

I don't like the sound of that A.S.S.

For the price you pay for Asus monitor, you can get one from LG/Samsung/Dell that will be better than Asus. Asus are the not the best, but mostly they are the costliest.
Its news to me that Asus is making efforts towards improving RMA. I hope they really do.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LCD TV or (LCD montior+VGA Box) for Wii? ashwin489 Gadgets, Computers & Software 0 20th July 2009 14:33
Need help in procuring a 4x Graphics card WasavaTyres Gadgets, Computers & Software 17 26th May 2009 16:19
Which graphics card do you use? stain_619 Gadgets, Computers & Software 15 10th March 2009 16:49
Lcd and sound card queries revvedup Gadgets, Computers & Software 32 21st February 2009 09:07
LAN card to LAN card sharing abhibh Gadgets, Computers & Software 15 21st December 2008 01:55


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:33.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks