Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 7th May 2009, 22:02   #1
BHPian
 
gopinathann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 766
Thanked: 20 Times
Default GPS Speedometer (Analog & Digital) for WM6

I have created a GPS Speedometer for Windows mobile 6 with GPS. Let me know if it works in other GPS devices.

Screenshots:
Name:  Screenshot_3.jpg
Views: 2428
Size:  14.7 KB Name:  Screenshot_13.jpg
Views: 2479
Size:  14.7 KB Name:  Screenshot_30.jpg
Views: 3677
Size:  14.8 KB

Attachment:
You have to rename the .gpx to .zip
GPS Speedo.gpx
gopinathann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2009, 22:58   #2
Team-BHP Support
 
bblost's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 9,552
Thanked: 6,310 Times
Default

If it works on Wm 6.1, I can try it out.

Looks good.
bblost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th May 2009, 23:47   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default

Does not work on HTC Touch HD running Win 6.1.
vikram_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2009, 09:49   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,854
Thanked: 123 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vikram_d View Post
Does not work on HTC Touch HD running Win 6.1.
This is where my "Thank You" post gets converted to "Why me!" post!
HappyWheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2009, 10:42   #5
Senior - BHPian
 
rkbharat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Gurgaon/New Delhi
Posts: 1,590
Thanked: 606 Times
Default

looks very good, I will try it and let you know
rkbharat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2009, 10:43   #6
BHPian
 
gopinathann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 766
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
This is where my "Thank You" post gets converted to "Why me!" post!
I tested in my HTC P3300 (Artemis), thought it should work in HTC devices atleast. It is working in Asus devices as well.
This has been developed with Windows Mobile SDK 6. Make sure you have installed .NET Comfact Framework.
gopinathann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2009, 11:00   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
ashthedivx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 1,351
Thanked: 22 Times
Default

Will give a try..

OT: You have overloaded your P3300 with applocations, whole bar is full of applications
ashthedivx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2009, 12:20   #8
BHPian
 
d3mon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 460
Thanked: 558 Times
Default

Nice looking app there. Very similar to the Civic's speedo.

Will try it out and update here.
d3mon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2009, 12:36   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,854
Thanked: 123 Times
Default

Nope! Does not work on the HD! :(

The setting program is throwing a 'NullReferenceException' and the main program's layout is all messed up!

Regardless, a very good effort!
HappyWheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2009, 13:05   #10
BHPian
 
d3mon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 460
Thanked: 558 Times
Default

Is your app resolution independent gopinathann ?

I guess that may be causing trouble if it's not. Your 3300 is 320x240 while the HD is 800x480.
d3mon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2009, 14:44   #11
BHPian
 
gopinathann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 766
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by d3mon View Post
Nice looking app there. Very similar to the Civic's speedo.

Will try it out and update here.
Inspired by the Civic dash, I took the Civic dash image and converted like this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by d3mon View Post
Is your app resolution independent gopinathann ?

I guess that may be causing trouble if it's not. Your 3300 is 320x240 while the HD is 800x480.
Since this is my first step to develop Windows mobile application, I have targeted for QVGA device (320x240). I will try if I can do for Touch HD.
gopinathann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2009, 15:08   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gopinathann View Post
Since this is my first step to develop Windows mobile application, I have targeted for QVGA device (320x240). I will try if I can do for Touch HD.
Would be great if you could get it to work on the HD.
vikram_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2009, 18:35   #13
BHPian
 
d3mon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 460
Thanked: 558 Times
Default

@vikram_d if you really want a speedo on your mobile, there are a lot of freewares available for it.

Google is your friend.
d3mon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2009, 18:42   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
vikram_d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,380
Thanked: 936 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by d3mon View Post
@vikram_d if you really want a speedo on your mobile, there are a lot of freewares available for it.

Google is your friend.
Oh I already have plenty of them. I just wanted to check this out for its accuracy and to encourage a fellow BHP-ian.
vikram_d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th May 2009, 19:09   #15
BHPian
 
gopinathann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chennai
Posts: 766
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vikram_d View Post
Oh I already have plenty of them. I just wanted to check this out for its accuracy and to encourage a fellow BHP-ian.
Before developing this I also have googled and used many, but that does have incorrect values 4-5 km less compared to the speeometer. For this app I have converted the Knots to Km and added 4km to correct it so that it matches 99% to the speedometer at any time.
gopinathann is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Speedometer Needle: Shaking & vibrating Styler Technical Stuff 12 21st February 2016 16:05
Universities in the US for Masters in Analog Electronics greenhorn Shifting gears 8 1st October 2008 12:37
Demand for Analog IC engineers in India? Centro-P Shifting gears 8 11th June 2008 16:58
lancer power steering & speedometer problem trashishh Technical Stuff 3 13th May 2008 19:19


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:25.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks