Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 31st December 2009, 15:25   #16
Distinguished - BHPian
 
amitoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 2,947
Thanked: 1,584 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vinaydas View Post
bsnl 3g has it been launched in bangalore yet?
i got calls from bsnl people regarding my interest in 3g and when i said yes they said 3g will be launched shortly and person will contact me then.
But i found the tarrifs a bit too pricey .

Their website seems to be offering 3G at promotional rates
Bharat Sanchar Nigam Ltd.

Not sure whether it is operational yet or not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgiitk View Post
BSNL - Bhai Saheb Nahin Lagega
MTNL - Mera Telephone Nahin Lagta

Part of records of the Lok Sabha following a question by Mr Ahluwalia to the then Telecom Minister - D Maran

Need one say any more
LOL. Quite true. I have some friends who have no choice but use BSNL. Every two minutes or so, the call gets dropped!
amitoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st December 2009, 16:35   #17
BHPian
 
SX4LOVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Highway
Posts: 277
Thanked: 129 Times
Default

BSNL 3G is still not available in Pune. but im waiting for it.. and plan to buy a 3G iPhone when i finally can use it.
SX4LOVER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2010, 01:32   #18
Senior - BHPian
 
navan49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: CHENNAI
Posts: 1,010
Thanked: 68 Times
Default

Hi Vdiatech,

Once you get the 3G connection with promotional plan you will get 45 minutes Video call free. It is easy to use. Once you type the number to be called, go to options in call it will show voice call and Video cal thenl select video call and dial. If the receiver has video call camera and 3 G you can see him, Check Pm for test number.
navan49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2010, 09:27   #19
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manglore
Posts: 47
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

i have been using bsnl 3g since launch .The fastest download speed i got once was one mbps -only once though since then average of around 500kbps (all thru speedtest.net) . The best part was they giving a really fancy number series to all eg 9445511 was the starting series and you could choose the last three digits from about 500-800 and this was for prepaid .So i chose a good number for me and my wife and the plan was to migrate the number some other service later.
I hate the non existent customer service( If it does not exist can u hate it?) AND THE signal quality is not so great.
Video calling is an awesome feature me and the misus keep using that. U get 50 mins free /month.
@sx4lover - iphone 3g does not support video calling ,i use the same but bsnl 3g is gr8 for data .
GR8NATIVE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st January 2010, 11:41   #20
Senior - BHPian
 
wanderernomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chandigarh
Posts: 2,357
Thanked: 756 Times
Default

Been using the MTNL 3G for over 2 months now. The only real benefit has been about 50% reduction in my monthly bill. Service is not so great but lately I had beenf acing the same issues with vodafone too. The calls would simply not come through. Now I ahve started naming 3G as " try 3 times G if you want to get through". Most of my friends vouch that it is indeed the case. So now I know that when my phone rings someone really wants to talk to me. LOL
wanderernomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd January 2010, 00:48   #21
Senior - BHPian
 
navan49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: CHENNAI
Posts: 1,010
Thanked: 68 Times
Default

Dear BHPIans,

I got a new 3G Sim recently. When we go for BSNL SIM, they thoroughly check the iD proof and the Address proof. After the paper verification they give the sim. Now to my surprise they too really started to worry about the security risk and want to know their Customer. One man came to our doorstep and did the physical verification and got it signed and went. Hi service providers please do this job for the sake of the Nation.
navan49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th January 2010, 14:34   #22
BHPian
 
devrajman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 504
Thanked: 116 Times
Default

Any more people using BSNL 3G services?

I have a 2G Prepard BSNL card. Any idea about conversion to 3G?
devrajman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2010, 18:26   #23
Senior - BHPian
 
beejay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Nilgiris
Posts: 1,916
Thanked: 108 Times
Default

Guys, EVDO cards are launching my town on the Feb 15th. Now 3G is available.

I intend to surf my lappy using any one of the either. Which is good? 3G sim or EVDO?

If its 3G, how do I use it on my lappy? The customer care is a joke. No point asking them.
beejay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2010, 00:11   #24
Senior - BHPian
 
navan49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: CHENNAI
Posts: 1,010
Thanked: 68 Times
Default

Just go to the Customer care office and give the requisition for 3G and pay the plan amount you will be given and activated in 24 hours.
navan49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2010, 13:11   #25
BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Thrissur , Kerala
Posts: 85
Thanked: Once
Default

I am using BSNL 3G here in Thrissur, Kerala. You can connect to internet through your mobile phone using the pc suite software (nokia phones).
Browsing speed is less than that of 2 Mbps bsnl broadband.

My speedtest.net results for 3G and regular 2mbps broadband connection on pc.

3G

Download : 1.14 Mbps
Upload : 0.34 Mbps
ISP : National Internet Backbone
Ping: 198 ms

Broadband (500C plan)
Download : -1.39 Mbps
Upload : 0.32 Mbps
ISP : National Internet Backbone
Ping: 109 ms


Its definitely better that other GPRS connections.
No idea about how this fares against the EVDO connection.

Hope this helps

Last edited by mithunkb : 30th January 2010 at 13:18.
mithunkb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2010, 13:19   #26
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 384
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Planning to upgrade to MTNL 3G. Their site is clear about retaining present SIM and upgrading to 3G. So hopefully no hassles.
emkay456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2010, 22:33   #27
BHPian
 
Harbir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Delhi
Posts: 909
Thanked: 963 Times
Default how good is BSNL 3G service?

I am visiting India in a few days and thinking of taking the new Google Nexus One phone for my dad, but he says that there is no point because there is no 3G service except BSNL which is not as good as it should be.

However, I doubt that he has any ability to judge the quality of BSNL's 3G service so I thought I'd ask you guys about it.

If BSNL's 3G is not really true effective broadband capability, then there is indeed no point in me bringing a nexus one for him.

I am not looking just for internet connectivity. I am sure BSNL can do that. its about real broadband connectivity.

any input would be appreciated.

thanks!
Harbir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2010, 14:12   #28
Senior - BHPian
 
srishiva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Bengaluru
Posts: 3,469
Thanked: 696 Times
Default

Got a SMS from BSNL. Will launch 3g from 20th Feb in Bengaluru.
srishiva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2010, 18:01   #29
BHPian
 
johy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Siliguri
Posts: 837
Thanked: 370 Times
Default

I have been using it since launch here in Siliguri. Prob is the speed is not consistent. It can be fast for a while - then drops...can't be used as a replacement for BB speeds (landline based). Yes, it is faster than GPRS, but that is about it. Video calling is nice. Though you tend to get bored seeing mugshots of your friends all the time. I think good old 2G is better.
johy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2010, 23:09   #30
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: chennai
Posts: 472
Thanked: 124 Times
Default

I have a postpaid plan with BSNL for mobile. A week back I bought an E72 and got my plan changed to BSNL 3G. I have also a BSNL land line with broadband.

In BSNL broadband land line connection one could check the account usage details through internet whenever one wished.

Can it be done for BSNL 3G too?

Second, I have installed Google Maps on my E72. Can anyone enlighten me if Google Maps connect to the internet every time I open it or it is only a one time process triggered when the application was installed?
skdking is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
anybody using LCD projector?? a4_attitude Gadgets, Computers & Software 11 20th April 2014 06:30
Anybody using ASUS P527? archat68 Gadgets, Computers & Software 24 10th May 2012 11:20
anybody using Windows on Mac? a4_attitude Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 30th July 2007 09:41
Anybody Using aftermarket ignition coil & plug wires? finetuning Modifications & Accessories 0 27th March 2006 22:41
Anybody using Morpheus "peer 2 peer"? Shan2nu Shifting gears 18 11th April 2005 11:52


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 05:37.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks