Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd August 2011, 04:42   #121
jav
BHPian
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 194
Thanked: 6 Times
Default Re: Anybody using BSNL 3G

Quote:
Originally Posted by rki2007 View Post
I have a doubt. Can BSNL 3G sim card working on Nokia X3(Ordinary phone without 3G compatability) be used as a modem by connecting the phone to laptop and start using internet. If possible, then what may be the speed.
Yes it can be used as a modem and if its not a 3G mobile the speeds will be in EDGE range 15-30 KBps (120-240 Kbps). I have got max of 25 in EDGE or 2G mode with the 3G sim.

Last edited by jav : 3rd August 2011 at 04:44.
jav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2011, 18:23   #122
Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 16
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Re: Anybody using BSNL 3G

Hi, was planning on getting a BSNL 3g for my ipad2 in order to give me net access when there is no WIFI.

But was facing a dilemma.

Would it be better to activate 3G on IP4 then tether it to the Ipad or have a dedicated bsnl sim?

Please note that my ip4 is on Airtel, hence would be using their 3g plan

my usage should be under 1gb at maximum

Will mainly be using around Jayanagar and Banerghatta, hence how is BSNL vs Airtel in this area.

Gurus kindly advise,
Thanks.
D.Surya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2011, 23:45   #123
Senior - BHPian
 
navan49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: CHENNAI
Posts: 1,010
Thanked: 68 Times
Default Re: Anybody using BSNL 3G

My sims are BSNL. My phone is Iphone4. I cut my sim into micro with some trial and error method it started to show the cell oneicon.It works wonderfully. I did get 3 G package I use it for emergency like GPRS and finish my work. I use FB and Skype too with that. Mail box receives the mails without any prob.
navan49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th October 2011, 23:56   #124
BHPian
 
Durango Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chennai
Posts: 656
Thanked: 503 Times
Default Re: Anybody using BSNL 3G

Have a BSNL 3G used it in my Nokia phone's 5800 and N8 and can use it with Joiku Hotspot as a wifi hot spot or can connect to the net via Nokia Ovi Suite on the computer. now I'm using it on my Galaxy Tab 750, it works well.
Durango Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2013, 00:12   #125
Senior - BHPian
 
thoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Kerala
Posts: 1,748
Thanked: 1,067 Times
Default Re: Anybody using BSNL 3G

Can anybody rank the best ISPs (I'm guessing 3G is the fastest and I'm looking for a data card connection) in Kerala with respect to
1) speed
2) decent coverage

I've a BSNL 3G data card which gives a download speed around 1.3 Mbps according to its mood; it gets disconnected too often even when browsing from a stationary place. Should I be looking at any other options?
thoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2013, 14:08   #126
BANNED
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Nasik
Posts: 105
Thanked: 4 Times
Default Re: Anybody using BSNL 3G

I have BSNL 3 G since last 4 months and quite happy with it.
its value for money, in 3G
YVES is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th July 2013, 16:09   #127
Distinguished - BHPian
 
saket77's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ranchi
Posts: 3,075
Thanked: 3,668 Times
Default Re: Anybody using BSNL 3G

Quote:
Originally Posted by YVES View Post
I have BSNL 3 G since last 4 months and quite happy with it.
its value for money, in 3G
Have been using BSNL 3G for last 3 years now. Currently I get 300 mb for 100/- for a month which is more than sufficient for my Phone internet usage like the pushmail, occasional surfing and even some youtube. Extensive use for logging to teambhp which of course, goes without saying! Everything is great, just a small hitch, at times, the 3G signals are not strong enough inside my room, which at times makes laptop connectivity slower. Rest its good.
saket77 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th July 2013, 12:02   #128
BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: goa
Posts: 979
Thanked: 43 Times
Default Re: Anybody using BSNL 3G

Have been using BSNL 3G dongle prepaid for some time. Can anyone answer these queries:
1. How do I know the balance (in GB), by sms or otherwise, without removing the dongle
2. If i recharge before the expiry of the period when there is balance GB left, do I get additional time from the expiry of the of the period or will my unexpired period be forfeited?
filcord is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
anybody using LCD projector?? a4_attitude Gadgets, Computers & Software 11 20th April 2014 06:30
Anybody using ASUS P527? archat68 Gadgets, Computers & Software 24 10th May 2012 11:20
anybody using Windows on Mac? a4_attitude Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 30th July 2007 09:41
Anybody Using aftermarket ignition coil & plug wires? finetuning Modifications & Accessories 0 27th March 2006 22:41
Anybody using Morpheus "peer 2 peer"? Shan2nu Shifting gears 18 11th April 2005 11:52


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 22:58.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks