Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th June 2009, 16:37   #1
Team-BHP Support
 
benbsb29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 7,972
Thanked: 3,388 Times
Exclamation Personal Computer goes into a coma

The PC at home was switched on, and was working without any issues. I logged in and entered my password, and let it log into the user profile selected.

It logged in fine, and i had moved away for a few minutes. When i returned, the PC had shut down on its own, and multiple attempts by me to power it failed. I even tried powering it by connecting it to the mains directly, but to no response.

What could be the possible cause? Am i looking at a busted SMPS or something worse?

Thanks in advance for the help.
benbsb29 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2009, 16:41   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
sammyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Gurgaon/Doon
Posts: 1,711
Thanked: 290 Times
Default

Electric shock therapy Works in movies most of the time.
CLEAR ...pppfffftttttttt, CLEAR .....ppppfffftttttt (use another power outlet though)

lol kiddin. Did you check if the power outlet is fine by connecting some other appliance to it? Also did you try connecting it to some other outlet? Basics but I have been fooled by this once. Is the monitor also blank or is that powering on?
sammyboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2009, 16:49   #3
BHPian
 
yzfrj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: who cares
Posts: 778
Thanked: 118 Times
Default

Sounds like a kaput SMPS, however did you try removing/re-attaching

The power connector cable to the SMPS.
Power cable from the SMPS to the Motherboard.
All other cables HDD and other stuff.

All motherboards now a connector from the cabinet (for the power switch and led's)
Try reconnecting this too.

Also remove and re-insert RAM.

My nutty PC does the same and some/all of the steps usually resolves the problem.
yzfrj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2009, 16:50   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
aaggoswami's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vadodara
Posts: 4,629
Thanked: 1,318 Times
Default

If your mobo as switch for clearing CMOS, do that.

Else take out the BIOS cell from mobo, take out the power code from SMPS. Now keep the power button on the CPU case for around 30 sec. to drain the capacitors. After around 5 mins, insert in the BIOS cell and connect the power connector to SMPS.
Now try booting.

Also after the screen had gone, and when you tried bootig up, did the fan on processor come ON. Was the heat sink on northbridge getting a very hot or was not getting hot at all ? I mean was it lower or higher than what it is regularly.

Do you have on board graphics and then have you added graphic card ? If on board graphics is available and if you have graphic card, then disconnect graphic card and then try again to get display from onboard graphics.
Check all the cables like the VGA cable and monitor power cable.
aaggoswami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2009, 17:00   #5
BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mumbai/BLR/USA
Posts: 927
Thanked: 183 Times
Default

By the given description it looks like there is an issue with the SMPS due to power fluctuation you can try the following basic Trouble shooting steps

1) Check for the power supply mains & power cable
2) After switching On check if the SMPS fan working if no then SMPS has gone phut, try replacing …else
3) Check the power supply connections on the Motherboard
4) Check the CMOS battery, if battery is low/dead then PC might not boot.
5) Clean the RAM & reinstall
6) If it doesn’t work then you may have a possible Mother board issue

Try good luck
tj123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2009, 22:07   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

Possible cause.
1. Power outlet loose
2. SMPS
3. CPU cooling fan kaput.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2009, 22:12   #7
Distinguished - BHPian
 
condor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Speed-brkr City
Posts: 10,320
Thanked: 3,664 Times
Default

first step :
Take it out & place it so you can see the smps fan.
switch it on.
if fan momentarily starts & then stops, then smps is mostly not the culprit.

open up, disconnect every thing else from mother-board.
switch on pc
check fan behaviour. if it runs, mother-board fine.

if it does not, take out memory - and keep just one module.
re-test as above.

now start with the other parts, harddisk first ..
condor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 4th June 2009, 22:52   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,713
Thanked: 1,085 Times
Default

any beeps ? any lights on the motherboard/smps fan running/any signs of activity?
else , its probably a busted SMPS.

be careful. If the SMPS was killed by a faulty mobo or other equipment, they can kill the new SMPS too.

alternately, when SMPS die, they leave a trail of destruction. Pray that nothing else (esp mobos and HDD's) are busted
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2009, 10:21   #9
Team-BHP Support
 
benbsb29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 7,972
Thanked: 3,388 Times
Thumbs up Issue resolved

Thanks for all your responses, guys. They were quite helpful.

As was evident from most of the responses, as well as my hunch, the SMPS looked to be the main culprit. A friend of mine replaced the SMPS with a working one from his comp, and the issue was resolved. I would be getting him a replacement SMPS.

Thank God, it was nothing beyond this.

The PC is powered from a Microtek UPS, and has been giving 3 years of useful service. Could the SMPS failure be linked to its own natural lifespan or would i need to further protect it using some spike protectors?
benbsb29 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2009, 10:37   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
esteem_lover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Madras/Py
Posts: 7,554
Thanked: 433 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benbsb29 View Post
The PC is powered from a Microtek UPS, and has been giving 3 years of useful service. Could the SMPS failure be linked to its own natural lifespan or would i need to further protect it using some spike protectors?
Check your Microtek UPS' voltage outputs in all its outlets.
esteem_lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2009, 13:21   #11
Senior - BHPian
 
rjstyles69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Bengalooru..
Posts: 4,343
Thanked: 784 Times
Default

Benny I hope you weren't trying all this during a power cut ?
rjstyles69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2009, 14:58   #12
Team-BHP Support
 
benbsb29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Brisbane
Posts: 7,972
Thanked: 3,388 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by esteem_lover View Post
Check your Microtek UPS' voltage outputs in all its outlets.
The power spike experienced scenario cannot be replicated right? So how will this help?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjstyles69 View Post
Benny I hope you weren't trying all this during a power cut ?
Riju, if only i wasnt that smart.
benbsb29 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2009, 15:00   #13
Team-BHP Support
 
mobike008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 10,520
Thanked: 7,197 Times
Default

OT: I too have a weird problem with my home PC. First time i boot, I can browse any website for whatever time i wish, but the minute i use the keyboard to type my first letter, it just hangs.

I re-boot and then it works perfectly. This happens everytime I use that PC.
Is it haunted?
mobike008 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2009, 15:16   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

Is this a USB keyboard ?
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th June 2009, 15:17   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
Raccoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Poona
Posts: 1,832
Thanked: 105 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benbsb29 View Post
The PC is powered from a Microtek UPS, and has been giving 3 years of useful service. Could the SMPS failure be linked to its own natural lifespan or would i need to further protect it using some spike protectors?
Beware of UPSs! My Powercom UPS smoked my SMPS and memory too. It possibly affected the life of other components too. Using such UPSs is more risky than not using one at all!

Most spike protectors are also of dubious quality. Often the cease to be useful after a strong spike.

APC UPS is the best for filtering.
Raccoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Michael Schumacher in critical condition. UPDATE: Out of coma and back home! Gannu_1 Shifting gears 169 8th November 2016 11:48
Honda FCX Clarity goes into Production aajtaksabsetej The Indian Car Scene 1 11th November 2008 15:31
Help my computer screen goes pink intermittently rahul_intlad Gadgets, Computers & Software 17 17th July 2007 14:01
Bugatti 16/4 Veyron goes into Production!! Stratos The International Automotive Scene 17 5th November 2005 17:51
Maruti goes filmi to move Swiftly into focus johnjacob The Indian Car Scene 16 2nd March 2005 11:13


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 08:18.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks