Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th June 2009, 09:06   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
chevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: sacto
Posts: 1,291
Thanked: 502 Times
Default Wireless step for 3-storeyed building

Hello

I have bsnl broadband internet on the ground floor of my house.

i plan to go wireless, for which i was wondering which router should i buy, which could stream the signal across three floors from the ground floor.

i looked up for linksys G router, but its broadcasting range is very less and i doubt it will broadcast signal across other floors.

i was looking for G+ router that has good range but didn't find anywhere in Vadodara.

If anyone can suggest some solution i would be very grateful

p.s: the current modem cannot be moved from its place to other floors

thanks

maulik
chevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 11:13   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

If you put the router in first floor, then both ground and second floor should get signal.

I stay on 6th floor, signal is decent enough on society's garden (No walls in between, router is just next to window that faces garden).

Of course, walls / water tanks / microwave ovens would create dead spots at various places inside home.

So in worst case, you would need to buy three WiFi routers. One for each floor and link them together. It would help if all routers are placed near window.

This way all routers will be part of the same network and net connection can be shared across home.

Total cost would be approx 10k (For buying 2 more routers + antenna)
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 12:38   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
chevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: sacto
Posts: 1,291
Thanked: 502 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
If you put the router in first floor, then both ground and second floor should get signal.
thanks for ur suggestion net freak

i can't move the current bsnl modem to first floor, as our computer room is on ground floor.

regarding two separate router, its a gud idea. the current router is not a wireless router, so i will have to invest in 3 routers.

so if i understood you correctly, i need to keep one wi-fi router on ground floor, broadcast the signal, catch it from second wi-fi router on 2nd and do the same for 3rd? is that what i should do?

and antenna for what purpose?

Note from Mod : Please take the time to type out your posts in full words as per Team-BHP rules. Avoid the use of SMS language (gud = good, ur = your, etc), and please take the time to re-read your post for typos before submitting. Thanks.

for all three router, i will have to use G routers i guess..

Last edited by Rehaan : 15th June 2009 at 15:55. Reason: Please see the note that has been put at the end of your post by the Support Team.
chevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 13:00   #4
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

Keep the routers next to window. Use a directional antenna. Good links online for DIY, and point it such that it points towards upwards. You will get amazing signal anywhere
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 13:11   #5
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chevelle View Post
... i can't move the current bsnl modem to first floor, as our computer room is on ground floor. ...
You don't have to move the BSNL router. Most of the BSNL boxes have 4 Ethernet ports. You just have to run Ethernet cables to the other floors to connect to the wireless routers.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 13:23   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
chevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: sacto
Posts: 1,291
Thanked: 502 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
You don't have to move the BSNL router. Most of the BSNL boxes have 4 Ethernet ports. You just have to run Ethernet cables to the other floors to connect to the wireless routers.
i thought about this, and felt a gud option. but due to the design of 30 year old house its difficult to procure such a long Ethernet cord. nevertheless will give it a try. on second thoughts, the same will have to be done for 3rd floor too and that again is a long distance too. lets see how it goes.

thanks for your opinion

@tsk
the router is near the window, once i procure the wireless one(a week's time) will get a directional antenna too and try to transmit signal upwards. if this doesn't work, will hv to go for Ethernet cord option.

thanks for your opinion.

appreciate your help
chevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 13:37   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chevelle View Post
so if i understood you correctly, i need to keep one wi-fi router on ground floor, broadcast the signal, catch it from second wi-fi router on 2nd and do the same for 3rd? is that what i should do?
Exactly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chevelle View Post
and antenna for what purpose?
To ensure that all 3 routers have decent signals among themselves. There would be a concrete layer + tiles between each floor.

If you keep antenna + router near window, this would makes things easier.

First try without buying any antenna.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chevelle View Post
for all three router, i will have to use G routers i guess..
I think all routers in market would be at least G.

This is what I would do:
  1. Buy just one WiFi router.
  2. Keep it near Window on ground floor.
  3. See if you are getting good signal on first floor on laptop [If laptop is near Window]
  4. If it signal is not good. Buy bigger antenna for Router.
  5. When things work, start adding routers for 1st, 2nd floor.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 13:52   #8
Senior - BHPian
 
chevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: sacto
Posts: 1,291
Thanked: 502 Times
Default

Quote:
I think all routers in market would be at least G.

This is what I would do:
  1. Buy just one WiFi router.
  2. Keep it near Window on ground floor.
  3. See if you are getting good signal on first floor on laptop [If laptop is near Window]
  4. If it signal is not good. Buy bigger antenna for Router.
  5. When things work, start adding routers for 1st, 2nd floor.
Thanks for clearly explaining

what i was thinking is, i shall first go DerAlte way of connecting bsnl modem thru ethernet with wi-fi router on first floor. that ways i can save on 3rd router. if that won't be possible i may as well try your method.

the modems are near window, but we can't keep the windows open for security reasons. so wood, glass will be obstructing its broadcasting.

appreciate your help
chevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 14:02   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

Wood / Glass are no problem for radio signals.

Concrete slabs/ water storage/ Electric wires are biggest spoilsports for WiFi.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 14:20   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
chevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: sacto
Posts: 1,291
Thanked: 502 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Wood / Glass are no problem for radio signals.

Concrete slabs/ water storage/ Electric wires are biggest spoilsports for WiFi.
i will check it out, let see how it works out.

hoping to get linksys this week. saw one in croma going for 4 grand. lets see how it goes.

thanks for your help
chevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2009, 12:21   #11
BHPian
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: HYD
Posts: 226
Thanked: 16 Times
Default

i think you can complete installation with two wifi routers. One on ground and other on second. I think first floor will get good signal from both these routers. And connect these two wifi routers to bsnl router using cable. You would just need only one long cable for second floor as wifi router on ground floor will be near to bsnl router.
Comrade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2009, 13:13   #12
BHPian
 
the_maassk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Vadodara/ NG7 2QP
Posts: 205
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Or rather - just keep a single WiFi router on the second floor, near a window or the stairwell. You should be able to get a respectable signal on the upper and lower floors. I have WiFi routers all over my building and I can get good signals even from routers which are 2-3 floors below me.

As for the brand - I use a Netgear (802.11G) which should cost you around 1800 bucks now. Been using it for 4 yrs. now without any issues. Recommended brands are Linksys, Netgear or D-Link.

Here is a link to a simple directional antenna mod (I've tested it and it works):

Make a Wi-Fi Extender

BTW - I live in Vadodara too!
the_maassk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2009, 14:06   #13
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chevelle View Post
... its difficult to procure such a long Ethernet cord ...
Not ready-made. Contact any network installation guy, he will be able to crimp RJ45 connectors on suitable lengths of surplus Cat5 cables. Check with computer shops nearby - they would be able to put you in touch with someone.
Quote:
Originally Posted by chevelle View Post
... the modems are near window, but we can't keep the windows open for security reasons. ...
Unless you also want to sit out in the comfort of a garden with your laptop, why would you want to keep it near a window. Half the RF power will be wastefully directed outside the building. Instead, keep it near the staircase (assuming it is an internal staircase) - this will allow some of the signal to reach the adjacent floors too.

Also, routing the Ethernet cable would be the easiest via the staircase along where the ceiling joins the wall (stuck with hotmelt glue to the wall if you don't want casing-capping)
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2009, 11:16   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
chevelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: sacto
Posts: 1,291
Thanked: 502 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by the_maassk View Post
Or rather - just keep a single WiFi router on the second floor, near a window or the stairwell. You should be able to get a respectable signal on the upper and lower floors.
As for the brand - I use a Netgear (802.11G) which should cost you around 1800 bucks now. Been using it for 4 yrs. now without any issues. Recommended brands are Linksys, Netgear or D-Link.

Here is a link to a simple directional antenna mod (I've tested it and it works):


BTW - I live in Vadodara too!
I am thinking along the same lines. probably i will keep one wifi router on first floor and connect with ethernet cord. hopefully i will be able to get signal on first and second floors

i saw linksys wrt545gl for rs 3k at croma. will be checking other places in fatehgunj where there is a line of computer shops. hopefully will get good deals over there.

thanks for the link, seems doable

i saw in your location, and about to say that. btw, i stay in karelibaug, near jalaram temple.
chevelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2009, 11:27   #15
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,043
Thanked: 3,588 Times
Default

The problem comes from the roofs acting as shielding (they have a lot of Rebar). Keeping the Router on the middle floor will help. Also, replacing the antenna with a 5db Moni should help. Here you remove the small stub and replace with a lead to the big boy.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Car driving lessons step by step vipulG Technical Stuff 21 16th August 2017 06:58
FAQ for tuning fuel injected cars - Step by step virtual buildup! ananthkamath Technical Stuff 134 12th September 2009 22:21
Dual Boot Vista/XP/Linux, Step-by-Step with Screenshots! invisiblebond Gadgets, Computers & Software 9 14th February 2008 14:47
D series mini me head swap step by step!and turbos done.. nitroxx Modifications & Accessories 6 10th March 2007 22:49


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:54.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks