Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th June 2009, 20:53   #1
BHPian
 
sixthsense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 72
Thanked: 4 Times
Default Connecting Tata Sky wirelessly

I've a situation and a really tricky one. I've got tatasky in my present house connected to my plasma working fine.

I'm going to shift into a new house where i'll wall mount the plasma, but there is no cable connection point on that particular wall and neither i can do a concealed casing as it'll cross over the whole living area through the ceiling, which obviously my wife won't allow .

I was thinking if there is a way i can wirelessly send the video signals from the tatasky box to the TV ? Not complicated set just a simple sender and reciever technology with no computers involved.
If yes, then where can i get it and what would be the approx cost. Also if somebody is using it then what about the picture clarity ?


Thanks in advance for all your advices.
sixthsense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 21:33   #2
Senior - BHPian
 
Red Liner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,020
Thanked: 716 Times
Default

Would bluetooth work? Maybe a blue tooth dongle on the tata-sky receiver beaming to TV which hopefully comes with this feature?
Red Liner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 21:50   #3
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,734
Thanked: 1,152 Times
Default

nope. bluetooth has a bandwidth of around 500kbps. it can barely send audio

you need something like
Amazon.com: 5.8GHz Wireless Audio Video Sender 4 Channel Broadcast Transmitter & Receiver with Infrared Remote Control Extender: Electronics

Last edited by greenhorn : 14th June 2009 at 22:07.
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 22:02   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

You can get TV Senders (try ebay.com). So you have one sender connected to the sky box and the receiver connected to the television. They usually come with a little RF attachement so you can use the remote as well. They work on 2.5Ghz band (I think). I used some for a while years ago and picture quality was fine using normal composite type signal from AV outputs.

Last edited by bigman : 14th June 2009 at 22:04.
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 22:21   #5
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,572
Thanked: 7,043 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sixthsense View Post
I'm going to shift into a new house where i'll wall mount the plasma, but there is no cable connection point on that particular wall and neither i can do a concealed casing as it'll cross over the whole living area through the ceiling, which obviously my wife won't allow .
Simple concealed duct (rectangular shaped ones) which will not be an eyesore, or try the wires through the other room which is behind the living room and drill a hole will let the wire in without being an eyesore Latter is what we have done.
Jaggu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 23:55   #6
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: zxc
Posts: 3,392
Thanked: 654 Times
Default

promlem is these are VHF or UHF transmitter. So your neighbour can catch the signal on their TV sets.

Its best to do the conventional way. there are casings available with when fitted will blend with your walls and paints.
SirAlec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2009, 00:53   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: NA
Posts: 1,219
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Sir Alec,

The 2.4ghz band video senders can be configured with the inbuilt switches so unless a neighbour has a receiving unit with the matched switches he will watch nothing.

The old cheap video senders used to just be simple broadcasteing devices but the newer ones have a dedicated receiver.
bigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2009, 09:46   #8
Distinguished - BHPian
 
sgiitk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kanpur
Posts: 7,084
Thanked: 3,641 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigman View Post
Sir Alec,

The 2.4ghz band video senders can be configured with the inbuilt switches so unless a neighbour has a receiving unit with the matched switches he will watch nothing.

The old cheap video senders used to just be simple broadcasting devices but the newer ones have a dedicated receiver.
Obviously we are looking at an encoded digital link here. I must say i am surprised and happy to learn that such devices really do exist.

Last edited by sgiitk : 15th June 2009 at 09:57.
sgiitk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2009, 09:48   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
lurker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tura
Posts: 1,305
Thanked: 638 Times
Default

Can you configure it with the Apple TV device. It has both 2.4 and 5.x ghz wifi capability to watch video.
lurker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2009, 14:44   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,449
Thanked: 281 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigman View Post
Sir Alec,

The 2.4ghz band video senders can be configured with the inbuilt switches so unless a neighbour has a receiving unit with the matched switches he will watch nothing.

The old cheap video senders used to just be simple broadcasteing devices but the newer ones have a dedicated receiver.
Any idea where I can buy such a device in Bombay or Pune & what will be the approximate cost?
carboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th June 2009, 22:14   #11
BHPian
 
sixthsense's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 72
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

It looks like the thread really caught on with some good ideas mainly around video senders.

The casing as i said is out of question as it will go through the ceiling and doesn't look good.

Has anybody tested these things? I read some reviews on amazon and found that compared to 2.4 ghz, the 5.8 ghz were flawless and didn't have interference issues (microwave, cordless etc.). But i still have my doubts when it comes to displaying the picture on a 42" plasma.

Same question as carboy - is there someplace we can get this in india (preferably bangalore)? I know i can order from ebay, but i don't want to risk it.
sixthsense is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2009, 06:29   #12
Senior - BHPian
 
androdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: bangalore
Posts: 1,550
Thanked: 1,553 Times
Default

Buddy, avoid wireless stuff if you can help it. Its bad for health, esp for expecting mothers and infants. Also I really doubt a cheap solution exists that offers clarity and remote-control.

Get the wires by drilling a hole in the wall. This what I have done. The tv room is clean. The room behind it has the wire casing etc.
androdev is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2009, 09:02   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,449
Thanked: 281 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by androdev View Post
Buddy, avoid wireless stuff if you can help it. Its bad for health, esp for expecting mothers and infants
Can you give a cite for this, please?
carboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th June 2009, 09:24   #14
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 443
Thanked: 63 Times
Default

Alternately, opt for a regular non-concealed cable stretching across the wall. Get your wall painted in one of those funky themes having curved design and have your (colored with paint) wire running exactly in sync with the design.
kalpeshc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2009, 13:35   #15
Senior - BHPian
 
clevermax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Tvm/Amsterdam
Posts: 1,566
Thanked: 360 Times
Default

You got lots of suggestions on how to send the video from your set top box to your tv which is away from the box. Some of them are really practical. But....

Even if you manage to send the video (either wirelessly or through co-axials) There is this problem that your set top box is away from the TV, right?

I have a basic question here,
How do you change the channels sitting in front of the TV??
clevermax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TATA Sky..Do you face any problems? SRK Gadgets, Computers & Software 671 15th September 2017 19:19
Possible scam - Modern Fuel dispensers can be wirelessly reprogrammed at will batterylow The Indian Car Scene 5 10th July 2014 07:57
NEO SPORTS not being broadcast on TATA SKY?? Nikhilb2008 Shifting gears 14 23rd January 2009 16:39
Tata-Sky: How to sell/transfer? Indian Gadgets, Computers & Software 10 29th July 2007 14:13
Tata SKY / Dish / CAS what is your choice .... all south delhi BHPians whatcanthisbe Gadgets, Computers & Software 1 29th December 2006 10:31


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 12:34.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks