Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15th July 2009, 15:18   #31
Senior - BHPian
 
abhibh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Back in the HOOD near you!
Posts: 2,767
Thanked: 33 Times
Default

Airtel should give atleast 150GB of monthly DATA under fair usage for 2MBPS plan, otherwise whats the use of this plan ? Airtel is quiet fast even on 256 if you are browsing.
abhibh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th July 2009, 23:43   #32
Senior - BHPian
 
harjeev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 1,896
Thanked: 256 Times
Default

I just got the turbo 1699 installed today 1MBPS upload & download!!!
the connection is the fastest what Ive ever experienced!!!
harjeev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2009, 23:54   #33
BHPian
 
mmmjgm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: BOM, PNQ, DXB
Posts: 398
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Speeds are reasonable 71kbps throughput on the download part, upload is not at par with downloads (that's ADSL technology though, no complaints) however the irritating part was I asked the sales rep 5 times precisely whether there will be any cap/restrictions/charges etc. he said none at all. The freaky part was on the welcome call i got where they disclosed that post 100 gb of download there's a speed reduction of 50%, again, the representative who called patched me to the sales rep and the sales rep on the call states that "mistake ho gaya, aap ko bataya nahi ke speed restrictions hain"

Might as well go for a leased line. (we are two business users in the house).

Cheers
mmmjgm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2009, 01:15   #34
Senior - BHPian
 
revtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,987
Thanked: 35 Times
Default

this is good.does any body have the customer care no. of airtel.

im really interested in this and dont mind changing over to airtell for this plan.


rev
revtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2009, 01:22   #35
BHPian
 
mmmjgm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: BOM, PNQ, DXB
Posts: 398
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by revtech View Post
this is good.does any body have the customer care no. of airtel.

im really interested in this and dont mind changing over to airtell for this plan.


rev
Here it is 4444121 add your city code to it, infact better check out Airtel Prepaid & Postpaid Mobile Services, Plans | Broadband Internet Services Provider in India before you call. .

Best of luck !
mmmjgm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 02:31   #36
BHPian
 
mmmjgm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: BOM, PNQ, DXB
Posts: 398
Thanked: 21 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digital Vampire View Post
Guys, here is the Caveat Emptor.

None of these so called "Unlimited" plans are truly unlimited.

As expected from Airtel, there is an FUP limit of 100GB on these plans after which the download speed halves.

Still not bad IMHO!

The plus side is that there are three so-called unlimited plans for people who need more speed. See below.
1mbps after 100GB is yet worth it, we have a leased line in our office, which yet does not give us this throughput, i.e. 1mbps 1:8 shared bandwidth.

Yet MTNL (in Bombay & Delhi) is offering 1mbps really raw at about 2999 per month (plus service tax without a cap) so essentially what is happening is that airtel is providing you with a little more than MTNL with the plan shown in the diagram (pic) above.

the phone rates (talk time charges) are more than i pay on my cell phone which is absurd.

Cheers
M
mmmjgm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 04:35   #37
Senior - BHPian
 
revtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,987
Thanked: 35 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmmjgm View Post
Here it is 4444121 add your city code to it, infact better check out Airtel Prepaid & Postpaid Mobile Services, Plans | Broadband Internet Services Provider in India before you call. .

Best of luck !
thanx for the info.appreciate it


rev
revtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 09:40   #38
BHPian
 
Gandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 980
Thanked: 199 Times
Default

I called 121 and queried about the plan. It has been launched nationwide but their back-end systems are not yet updated in Karnataka .

They asked me to call back on Monday and I can upgrade to the Turbo 1299 plan.

There is a similar plan Explore 1099 with 384 kbps @ Day and 1 mbps @ Night.

Experience

Last edited by Gandhi : 23rd July 2009 at 09:41.
Gandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 17:31   #39
Senior - BHPian
 
harry10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Faridabad/Delhi
Posts: 2,214
Thanked: 533 Times
Default

I called airtel yesterday and asked to change my plan to turbo 1299.
today a guy called from airtel for confirmation and he said we had changed your plan to plan1099.
I asked him to cancel it and will call up customer care again at night.
harry10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 18:51   #40
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Dubai
Posts: 3,854
Thanked: 123 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gandhi View Post
I called 121 and queried about the plan. It has been launched nationwide but their back-end systems are not yet updated in Karnataka ...
They asked me to call back on Monday and I can upgrade to the Turbo 1299 plan.
Gandhi,
I had talked to Bangalore Airtel 121 last night and the person did say 1299 is available. The last time I called, a week back, it was not.

So please check again today, I am sure it will be available.

As the CC guy to check for the plan "Turbo 1299" (mention this clearly, since they seems to have their own understanding of what customer wants!!!).
HappyWheels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 18:59   #41
BHPian
 
sam003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Delhi
Posts: 527
Thanked: 58 Times
Default

I m using 1699 1mbps connection, its way too fast then any connection I have used so far. Generally get 124kbps download speed even on torrents.
sam003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd July 2009, 20:32   #42
BHPian
 
Gandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 980
Thanked: 199 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HappyWheels View Post
Gandhi,
I had talked to Bangalore Airtel 121 last night and the person did say 1299 is available. The last time I called, a week back, it was not.
You are right. I called again they took the request for upgrade to Turbo 1299 plan.
Gandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th July 2009, 22:37   #43
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

Called up Airtel people. IPTV users have to suffer 1599 512kbps plan, not turbo 1299+100rs plan for us.
Earlier Broadband was 1499 for 512kbps, and IPTV was 1599, so 100rs more for cable,
Now turbo 1299 is 512kbps/1mbps and IPTV is 1599 for 512kbps.
So its 300 more for cable. At 100rs it was worth it, but paying 300rs for time shift... well I have my reservations
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 11:09   #44
BHPian
 
Gill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Mohali
Posts: 694
Thanked: 11 Times
Default

I switched to this plan, the download speed remains the same, irrespective of time slots they have. the download speeds remains around 61Kbps!In night is should be on a higher side, Isn't it?
Gill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 12:09   #45
BHPian
 
Gandhi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 980
Thanked: 199 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gill View Post
I switched to this plan, the download speed remains the same, irrespective of time slots they have. the download speeds remains around 61Kbps!In night is should be on a higher side, Isn't it?
I switched from 384 kbps unlimited to Turbo 1299 plan. My download speeds have really increased. In day time, I get anywhere around 100 kbps and in the night I get around 200 kbps.

It takes 2-3 working days for the plan to be activated. Check your connection speed on speedtest.net.
Gandhi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Experience with Airtel Broadband Customer Care Nikhilb2008 Gadgets, Computers & Software 58 25th August 2016 16:43
Any true unlimited broadband connection in Gurgaon (NCR) ? DCEite Shifting gears 17 11th June 2009 11:59
Airtel - Now Unlimited Plans have restrictions on download speeds romyeo4u Gadgets, Computers & Software 76 14th May 2009 21:52
Airtel broadband and my macbook pro CaliAtenza Gadgets, Computers & Software 17 6th February 2009 01:02
A question to all BSNL Broadband Unlimited Plan users adya33 Gadgets, Computers & Software 28 21st December 2008 20:25


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 02:19.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks