Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27th July 2009, 17:43   #1
Senior - BHPian
 
kbk_75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,226
Thanked: 342 Times
Thumbs down Unable to access www.team-bhp.com

Hi guys, I am presently unable to access Team-BHP - The Definitive Indian Car Community - Home through my ISP, MTNL, unless I use an anonymous proxy server to do so (which is how I have logged-on).

Clearly there is no problem with the site, so why does it keep telling me it is unable to find the site?

Any ideas? Anybody else on MTNL facing a similar problem at the moment?
kbk_75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 17:52   #2
gpa
Senior - BHPian
 
gpa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,736
Thanked: 221 Times
Default Check your Anti virus program

I've been facing the same problem recently, traced it to my anti-virus program that kept blocking the site. Now I disable it whenever I need to access the site and switch it on after I'm done browsing. Not a permanent fix, but will have to do for now till the license expires in a few months.

The anti-virus program is Kaspersky.
gpa is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 18:04   #3
BHPian
 
bantejas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 273
Thanked: 29 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpa View Post
I've been facing the same problem recently, traced it to my anti-virus program that kept blocking the site. Now I disable it whenever I need to access the site and switch it on after I'm done browsing. Not a permanent fix, but will have to do for now till the license expires in a few months.

The anti-virus program is Kaspersky.
Use Linux! I use ubuntu 8.10. I need to upgrade it 9.04, but some how not been able to do it.
bantejas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 18:20   #4
Senior - BHPian
 
extreme_torque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,487
Thanked: 1,174 Times
Default

Well I was facing the same problem and my ISP is also the same, MTNL. Change the DNS setting to open DNS, use the following ip addresses:
208.67.220.220 and 208.67.222.222

Cheers!
extreme_torque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 18:24   #5
BHPian
 
bantejas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 273
Thanked: 29 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by extreme_torque View Post
Well I was facing the same problem and my ISP is also the same, MTNL. Change the DNS setting to open DNS, use the following ip addresses:
208.67.220.220 and 208.67.222.222

Cheers!
Can you explain to me why is this required?
bantejas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 18:54   #6
GTO
Team-BHP Support
 
GTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Bombay
Posts: 46,589
Thanked: 80,490 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kbk_75 View Post
Any ideas? Anybody else on MTNL facing a similar problem at the moment?
Quote:
Originally Posted by bantejas View Post
Can you explain to me why is this required?
Sorry about the trouble guys. After we moved our server around end-June, nearly all ISP DNS' were updated within 4 - 48 hours. However, MTNL, being archaic as they are, obviously haven't updated Team-BHP's new location on the internet. Some say it may take as long as another month or two for MTNL to update their records.

The same problem has been reported by our Delhi MTNL users. In the mean time, it's best to use Open DNS servers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gpa View Post
I've been facing the same problem recently, traced it to my anti-virus program that kept blocking the site.
Hi GPA, I use Kaspersky too and have faced no such problem. Further, I confirm that Team-BHP is NOT running any script, malware or vulnerability which should lead an anti-virus software to blocking us.
GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 19:14   #7
Senior - BHPian
 
pranavt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mumbai
Posts: 1,628
Thanked: 272 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bantejas View Post
Use Linux! I use ubuntu 8.10. I need to upgrade it 9.04, but some how not been able to do it.
Yes! Change your whole operating system because you can't view one website. Brilliant advice!
pranavt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 19:24   #8
BHPian
 
ghpk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Ghaziabad
Posts: 869
Thanked: 192 Times
Default

sometime it may be possible that old DNS entries are not getting flushed on your computer itself, this is what I've answered 1000 times elsewhere :-)

on a windows based machine try
Turn Modem OFF
Clear Browser TEMP. Files.
Close all programs
command prompt (as admin on vista) ---> type ipconfig /flushdns
Re-connect to internet and give it a try.

there's another way of Specifically using your custom DNS entries for this site which would need you to edit hosts file on your computer to reach Team-BHP.
ghpk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 20:11   #9
Senior - BHPian
 
extreme_torque's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 3,487
Thanked: 1,174 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bantejas View Post
Can you explain to me why is this required?
this is the opendns server and quite fast too and unlike MTNL its updated regularly.
extreme_torque is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 20:12   #10
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,713
Thanked: 1,085 Times
Default

I faced the issue for a while on tata indicom at a friends place
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 21:08   #11
Team-BHP Support
 
Jaggu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 17,497
Thanked: 6,781 Times
Default

BSNL/VSNL/MTNL/and some parts of Tata Indicom has this issue, plonk in opendns and you are ready to go and this is not only for TBHP, have faced the issue with other sites/forums, especially when there is some changes/migration/upgrade etc

Last edited by Jaggu : 27th July 2009 at 21:09.
Jaggu is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2009, 21:24   #12
BHPian
 
watashi75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 518
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

I faced this problem couple of times with Tata Indicom. I could guess that it was a DNS problem since I was able to access the site when connecting through my office VPN network at the same time.

I added an entry for team-bhp.com in my etc\hosts file and I have not been seeing this problem since.
watashi75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 02:19   #13
Senior - BHPian
 
kbk_75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,226
Thanked: 342 Times
Thumbs up

Thanks for the heads-up on the DNS problem guys. All back to normal with open DNS!
kbk_75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 07:24   #14
Senior - BHPian
 
greenhorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: TN-14
Posts: 6,713
Thanked: 1,085 Times
Default

a bit OT: I hate OPENDNS - they redirect everything to their own search engine. searching using the address bar is not possible
greenhorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th July 2009, 08:19   #15
Team-BHP Support
 
moralfibre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: MH-12
Posts: 6,573
Thanked: 6,038 Times
Default

For temporary fix I would add the team-bhp address to the hosts file on the local machine. For windows XP edit - C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc\hosts file in notepad. Add this to the end of the file:

96.30.20.23 team-bhp.com

This should fix it unless team-bhp.com uses dynamic DNS.
moralfibre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team-BHP stands for the TRUTH. But Skoda wants to “instigate” Team-BHP and its users! GTO The Indian Car Scene 2619 23rd July 2017 19:58
Office Firewall blocks Team-BHP - Proxying Team-BHP? shreeks Gadgets, Computers & Software 26 27th March 2017 21:05
Not able to access Team-BHP / Problems loading pages or images aniketi Shifting gears 92 1st March 2016 14:48


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:59.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks