Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th November 2009, 04:04   #391
Distinguished - BHPian
 
amitoj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Nashua, NH
Posts: 2,947
Thanked: 1,584 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by indie View Post
and TTS is only available with igo8, maps released by mapmyindia.
You are not talking about Voice Prompts, right? From what little i have read about TTS is that the device "read" the text on the map and converts it to speech.
amitoj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2009, 09:52   #392
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,350
Thanked: 8,167 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
regardless of provider, maps needs to be converted to Mapsource format to work with Mapsource.

Free tools are available to perform conversion.
Have you tried importing Satguide maps into Mapsource?

Also with this combination (Garmin+Satguide), how can one perform route planning and transfer it to the device? Map source works only on Garmin Maps.

Am I missing something here?
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2009, 10:12   #393
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ampere View Post
Have you tried importing Satguide maps into Mapsource?

Also with this combination (Garmin+Satguide), how can one perform route planning and transfer it to the device? Map source works only on Garmin Maps.
Satguide maps for Garmin ARE Garmin maps. These maps work well with Mapsource. Using it on my PC.

Either you can buy mapsource version from some provider or convert Satguide (or any Garmin map) maps to Mapsource.

Will a GPS PND bought from abroad work in India?-mapsource_example.jpg
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2009, 11:17   #394
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 223
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

I am new to this. I wanted to try on my PC. so, I purchased USB GPS dongle from ebay.com.sg. The device is using sirf III chipset

The device working fine and was able to lock to 4 or 5 satelites with in shot time. Now I wanted to see whether the device works with Indian maps. so, I installed MireoPC maps on my laptop. But, the problem is maps are not detecting the gps. I tried editing the ordinale.ini file and entered GPS information, but no luck.

It is lying in bag, still trying to think how to make this work with indiaMaps.

Any help is appreciated.
contactme27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2009, 11:25   #395
Team-BHP Support
 
ampere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 15,350
Thanked: 8,167 Times
Default

Hey Thanks !!! At least that answers my question that it is possible. Now the Million dollar questions.

1. How did you convert? I tried with Mapsettoolkit and CGPSmapper and ran into errors. (PE11 Error)

2. Are you able to plan routes on the PC and transfer it onto the device?
Because that is exactly what I want to do.


PS: Just saw that there is a MAPINSTALL software that Garmin provides. Do I need to use this to install the Satguide maps and then view them with Map source?

Last edited by ampere : 4th November 2009 at 11:36.
ampere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2009, 12:45   #396
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 223
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

are there any free india maps to test my usb gps receiver on laptop
contactme27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2009, 15:25   #397
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: pune
Posts: 0
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amitoj View Post
You are not talking about Voice Prompts, right? From what little i have read about TTS is that the device "read" the text on the map and converts it to speech.
TTS is text to speech.. means it will read out all the places as it is(weired anmes ofcourse sometimes because of US/UK accent) along with turn right left comments... e.g. take a sharp right on the next exit towards connaught place in 100m.

where as voice prompts on the other hand will only say turn right, left only .. no announcement of street names.
indie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2009, 18:17   #398
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by contactme27 View Post
... I installed MireoPC maps on my laptop. But, the problem is maps are not detecting the gps. ...
The problem is Navigation software look for the GPS data stream over a standard port, which is not happening in your case.

There are many test utilities which can test over which port is the GPS stream is available. If that shows that your GPS is already giving the stream on a certain port, specify this port to the Navigation software.

Otherwise, look for a GPS port replicator which will connect to the GPS driver on one hand, and on the other hand connect to a logical port like COM1 or COM4 to provide the stream to the Navigation software. Something like the PC equivalent of Franson GPS Gate on a WiMo device.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th November 2009, 21:28   #399
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 223
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
The problem is Navigation software look for the GPS data stream over a standard port, which is not happening in your case.

There are many test utilities which can test over which port is the GPS stream is available. If that shows that your GPS is already giving the stream on a certain port, specify this port to the Navigation software.

Otherwise, look for a GPS port replicator which will connect to the GPS driver on one hand, and on the other hand connect to a logical port like COM1 or COM4 to provide the stream to the Navigation software. Something like the PC equivalent of Franson GPS Gate on a WiMo device.


Thanks you very much. It is working now with GPS gate.
contactme27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2009, 09:47   #400
sun
BHPian
 
sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 106
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by indie View Post
and TTS is only available with igo8, maps released by mapmyindia.
You mean standard MMI maps can be used along with igo8 or is there a different version of MMI maps for igo8?

OT, A question for MODS, why isnt my post count increasing ?

Last edited by sun : 5th November 2009 at 09:48. Reason: addition
sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2009, 09:54   #401
Senior - BHPian
 
wildon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,412
Thanked: 1,033 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sun View Post
why isnt my post count increasing ?
Read the Rules and Faq first before asking this kind of Q's.

Team-BHP - Team-BHP FAQ: Troubleshooting
wildon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2009, 10:27   #402
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by contactme27 View Post
are there any free india maps to test my usb gps receiver on laptop

OpenStreetMap maps are free map and available in Garmin format. These can be used on PC.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2009, 15:13   #403
BHPian
 
sonirohit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Chandigarh
Posts: 318
Thanked: 9 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sun View Post
You mean standard MMI maps can be used along with igo8 or is there a different version of MMI maps for igo8?
If MMI maps can be used with IGO - then nothing like it. IGO comes preloaded on DX PNDs and is quite a feature rich software.
sonirohit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2009, 15:29   #404
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: pune
Posts: 0
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sun View Post
You mean standard MMI maps can be used along with igo8 or is there a different version of MMI maps for igo8?
no not the standard mmi maps, both are of different formats.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonirohit View Post
If MMI maps can be used with IGO - then nothing like it. IGO comes preloaded on DX PNDs and is quite a feature rich software.
yes, but igo8 maps are only available on blaupunkt devices, neither mmi nor navngo sell these maps standalone in india, if u can lay your hands on blaupunkt device, you an get these maps.
indie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2009, 19:24   #405
sun
BHPian
 
sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Trivandrum
Posts: 106
Thanked: 7 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildon View Post
Read the Rules and Faq first before asking this kind of Q's.

Team-BHP - Team-BHP FAQ: Troubleshooting
thankyou verymuch for your informative pointer
sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tata comments on British Work Ethics ! But what of Work-Life balance ? mooza The International Automotive Scene 69 27th March 2013 00:47
VOXTEL launches PND dilipkumar7278 Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 11th January 2008 21:29
Will GPS work in India ? falcon Modifications & Accessories 13 27th September 2006 00:02


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:28.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks