Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th November 2009, 09:41   #406
Senior - BHPian
 
wildon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,412
Thanked: 1,033 Times
Default Map My India

Road/Map:-I can clearly say MMI map is leaps ahead of the competition, although there are some minor roads are missing. They have to fine tune some roads also(tunrs accuracy/ shape of the road).

Route/Reroute:- The other flaw is, by default its look for the "Fastest" route and in this case its brain has to returned. For e.g yesterday i traveled from Langford road to Kasturi nagar and the MMI shows me route through NO ENTRY (under the Richmond road flyover - straight in to Richmond Road. You cannot go straight here as you have to travel near Mallya Hospital and take a U Turn to enter towards Residency Road. Mind you this has been NO ENTRY since long year ago. When I turned left from under the Richmond Flyover towards Mallya hospital it rerouted me through kanteerava indoor stadium, Cubbon Park, M G road and so on. There is no alert for rerouting.

voice guidance:- Fine tuning required. In most of the roads its not giving voice direction under 200 mtrs . It says only 1.5 go straight. When approaching the turn after 1.5 k.m the map shows turn left but no voice guidance to turn left. You cant always watch the map when you drive through city traffic.

POI:- great- there are tons of POI but the color of the POI and the route are same which is not good, although you have an option to turn off the POI's showing up in the map.

Map Viewing angle:- Its providing you a long angle, i tried to adjust to get the street level angle but gone in vain. Does any one tried this and succeeded.

Skin color:- The color combination used are so lite and if you come under the sun its very difficult to view the screen, night mode again using the same color green for the roads as well as POI's.

Search:- Oh Boy- its not user friendly, you needs to type the exact word and name of the things you want. Why don't they make it as a single line search entry so it will show up things which is nearly matching or a do you mean this? feature and show under which category its been listed - way to go. I was searching for my office in Richmond Road , and no way its listed in that category. The road name they put as Richmond Town. Yes its in Richmond Town area but its Richmond Road.

Remarks:- Over all good map compared to the competition. Only upcoming Google navigation can beat them. I hope they are listening.

Price:- Way too high, They are the Honda in this segment.

Last edited by wildon : 6th November 2009 at 09:57.
wildon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2009, 16:41   #408
BHPian
 
KishoreC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 170
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Ordered a GPS unit from DX today.
5" LCD 600MHz CPU Windows CE .NET 6.0 Core GPS Navigator. ($118)

Now I have to choose between SatGuide Maps or MMi maps. Guys what would be your recommendations ?
KishoreC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2009, 17:03   #409
Senior - BHPian
 
wildon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,412
Thanked: 1,033 Times
Default

^^^ May I ask you why you have gone for this model? There were other models which having lots of positive reviews and more features?

Its a 533Mhz CPU not 600 Mhz. Boot loader will be different so there wont be any possibility for unlocking it.

Also check whether igo8 maps are available with Sat guide/MMI.

May be you can cancel the order and go for this model. DealExtreme: $103.76 5.0" LCD 372MHz CPU Windows CE 5.0 Bluetooth + GPS Navigator w/FM Transmitter + 2GB Maps SD

Last edited by wildon : 6th November 2009 at 17:13.
wildon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2009, 17:31   #410
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

This model has 600MHz CPU as oppossed to 372, a big plus!
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2009, 17:45   #411
Senior - BHPian
 
wildon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,412
Thanked: 1,033 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
This model has 600MHz CPU as oppossed to 372, a big plus!
I'm talking about the unlocking part. Also i mentioned its 533 Mhz not 600 Mhz.

The problem here is its having internal 4GB flash memory and soft/maps are installed here. so if you cant access the nav path, how can you load and execute other GPS apps from the Mirco SD/TF ?.

If he cant execute then he stuck with igo8 app.

Edit: A big Plus
Quote:
Other Win CE compatible mapping software can be installed on the GPS directly or
installed on to Micro SD/TF cards and get launched with the GPS device
(shell/launcher allows specifying the location and executable name of your custom
GPS program)

Last edited by wildon : 6th November 2009 at 17:50.
wildon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th November 2009, 18:16   #412
BHPian
 
KishoreC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 170
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildon View Post
Other Win CE compatible mapping software can be installed on the GPS directly or
installed on to Micro SD/TF cards and get launched with the GPS device
(shell/launcher allows specifying the location and executable name of your custom GPS program)
I actually went for this model for it's bigger screen size and better CPU.

Pardon my ignorance. Reading the quoted part in DX site, I thought any map software can be installed and used. Isn't it so ?

I plan to purchase the map software from either MMI or Satguide and install that SD card in the device. Are there any compatibility issues with WIN CE 6?

Please reply. If It doesn't work with MMI or SatGuide I'll have to cancel the order and purchase the one you mentioned.
KishoreC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2009, 14:25   #413
Senior - BHPian
 
wildon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,412
Thanked: 1,033 Times
Default

You can load the maps with MMI navigator, Destinator,Gamin mobile XT etc
wildon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2009, 20:57   #414
BHPian
 
Tushargohil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 247
Thanked: 71 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
This model has 600MHz CPU as oppossed to 372, a big plus!
I don't know about others MHz GPS Device but mine start crying when ever i use Destinator 8 with POI option or Zoom it start pop up saying close all other apps... it seems this issue might fixed with 5xxMhz GPS device..

Thanks,
Tushar
Tushargohil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2009, 21:12   #415
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

^^^^

That is due to limited amount of RAM (64 MB). In comparison, Mio moov model have 1 GB RAM.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2009, 21:22   #416
BHPian
 
Tushargohil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 247
Thanked: 71 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
^^^^

That is due to limited amount of RAM (64 MB). In comparison, Mio moov model have 1 GB RAM.
Cool.... Now days i search POI in Destinator once i reach @ Place try to save them in MMI ... Let see down the line team member will start sharing their good picnic POI here :-)

Thanks,
Tushar
Tushargohil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2009, 00:46   #417
BHPian
 
Ketan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 827
Thanked: 160 Times
Default

Wouldnt it be a good idea to get a good Garmin device (around $150) and use the MMI or SatNav maps thats sold here for Garmin devices? It will be a god investment rather than buying these devices!!!
Ketan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2009, 03:42   #418
BHPian
 
Ketan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 827
Thanked: 160 Times
Default

OKay, I'm just half way thru this interesting thread!
A question, do we have traffic alerts available in India? does the traffic receiver work in India? I read some of the Nuvi models have got traffic receiver, is it worth going for those models?
Ketan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2009, 08:47   #419
Senior - BHPian
 
wildon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 2,412
Thanked: 1,033 Times
Default

^^^ Don't even dream about that. Even the roads are not properly mapped here in India by MMI and other. These maps navigates you through NO ENTRY and ONE WAY roads in the latest updates too, although they will reroute to your destination.

I think the major problem for them is they don't have the satellite imagery to update their maps. They are still living in the BC era doing the Manual type. Here is a quote from MMI website.

Quote:
Team of over 200 field researchers since 1997 have been traveling across different regions of the country each day, continually driving and redriving the roads, and collecting map data that more closely reflects real Indian conditions. These data are continually supplemented by phone calls and other desk research tools of MapmyIndia for validation and value addition.
We collect road attributes on each section of road, and are adding millions of Points of Interest falling under 52 different categories to our database.
wildon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th November 2009, 11:09   #420
BHPian
 
Ketan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 827
Thanked: 160 Times
Default

Yes, I understand. I was out of touch for sometime, I remember when I bought my Holux receiver in 2006 and started using my old XDA phone running mapasia, it was good to show off during those days, later I was using SatNav for a while and didnt really like to get into complexity of adding/searching routes, small niggles when you use your cell phone, sometimes it hangs - I never had a real good experiance with BTreciever+BT phone nor a phone with internal GPS (may be its just that I was not so lucky).. Now the only option left for me to try a good dedicated device. I'm plannig to get Garmin Nuvi 855 and once I have, I will seek for reviews from you guys, it seems I will go for MMI as I have already used SatNav and I'm not very happy they way it navigates or even the maps and POIs..
Ketan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tata comments on British Work Ethics ! But what of Work-Life balance ? mooza The International Automotive Scene 69 27th March 2013 00:47
VOXTEL launches PND dilipkumar7278 Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 11th January 2008 21:29
Will GPS work in India ? falcon Modifications & Accessories 13 27th September 2006 00:02


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 06:51.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks