Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 2nd January 2010, 11:54   #451
Senior - BHPian
 
androdev's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: bangalore
Posts: 1,512
Thanked: 1,448 Times
Default

hmmm.. not sure if my notes are helpful to anyone but still would like to post my research material here :-) I started hunting for a decent GPS device, after a *loooootttt* of research I found my needs are better met by a carputer/umpc kinda of thing that does GPS and million other things. Interested people might want to try viliv s5 or x70. I am planning to buy x70 and will post my experience soon.
androdev is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2010, 09:40   #452
BHPian
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 223
Thanked: 20 Times
Default

Just placed the order from dealextreme.
Now I have to wait and see.
DealExtreme: $84.91 4.8" LCD 372MHz CPU Windows CE .NET 5.0 Core GPS Navigator + 2GB Maps SD
contactme27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2010, 22:54   #453
BHPian
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Goa
Posts: 48
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by contactme27 View Post
Just placed the order from dealextreme.
Now I have to wait and see.
DealExtreme: $84.91 4.8" LCD 372MHz CPU Windows CE .NET 5.0 Core GPS Navigator + 2GB Maps SD

eagerly waiting for your feed back...I'll postpone my purchase for a month..
agent009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2010, 02:39   #454
BHPian
 
nkapoor777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 572
Thanked: 80 Times
Default

I am looking at the Garmin 755T to be bought from the US. I don't need Bluetooth as I've got the Punto emotion pack with Blue&Me. It costs just about $200 on amazon.

http://www.amazon.com/Garmin-755T-Portable-Navigator-Traffic/dp/B001ELJERE/ref=sr_1_12?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1264269407&s r=8-12

I want to know:
1. Can I use free google maps on this device?
2. If I need to choose between Satguide (2k) and MMI (7k) for Garmin maps, is paying a hefty premium for MMI worth it?
nkapoor777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2010, 12:23   #455
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default

@nkapoor777, you will not be able to make mgmaps (offline google maps) or on-line google maps run on the Garmin 755T device.

The Satguide map for Garmin has the same content as the MMI one. A 'map' usually has the map of roads etc., as well as a database of addresses, landmarks and PoI (Points of Interest). In neither of these maps are the addresses decently searchable on the Garmin device - something to do with how the data is organized, as well as lack of quality control on the data. Provided you are somehow able to describe the destination, Garmin is able to do a decent job of finding an appropriate route with these maps.

Points of interest are plenty in either of these databases, like Pizza, Banks, Gas stations, Shopping etc. Search is a bit tedious, as somehow name-based search does not seem to return relevant entries many times. One needs to figure out a way to beat the software by devious methods, like approximately reaching the desired area (colony, road etc.), by scrolling in map mode (not navigation mode), selecting one of the many PoIs that show up, and then searching by name. The resulting list just might contain what you are looking for in the first few pages.

PS: If you want a Garmin device, perhaps you will be better off looking for a model with suffix 'W' - World model, like '205W' or '260W'. Other models might have US-specific peculiarities, which might be either unusable in other areas, or irritatingly deficient if you try. 755T has 'traffic updates' (not sure how that pulls traffic data), so that the unit can avoid roads that have traffic jams. Try using that in India!

Last edited by DerAlte : 24th January 2010 at 12:38.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2010, 13:33   #456
BHPian
 
nkapoor777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 572
Thanked: 80 Times
Default

Thanks DerAlte. It does make sense to me. I am on to this model now (Garmin Nuvi750). Getting it at $160 including taxes and shipping from Walmart.

Walmart.com: Garmin nuvi 750 Portable GPS w/ 4.3" Screen, Spoken Street Names, MP3 Player & FM Transmitter: GPS & Navigation

PS: Why 7xx series instead of 2xx? Because I would like to have the 4.3" screen along with FM transmitter to relay audio through car speakers. What say?

Last edited by nkapoor777 : 24th January 2010 at 13:36.
nkapoor777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th January 2010, 18:24   #457
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default

My 260W is also with a 4.3" screen - cost me all of $180 at Best Buy in Thanksgiving sale in 2008. Though it has Codecs installed as a part of the firmware, it does not have a media player.

Great idea to have a Media Player in-built with an FM transmitter. This is really needed when we rent a car in US and don't know which station plays what in a strange town, and none of them play Indian songs.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2010, 14:08   #458
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pune, Jaipur
Posts: 76
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nkapoor777 View Post
Thanks DerAlte. It does make sense to me. I am on to this model now (Garmin Nuvi750). Getting it at $160 including taxes and shipping from Walmart.

Walmart.com: Garmin nuvi 750 Portable GPS w/ 4.3" Screen, Spoken Street Names, MP3 Player & FM Transmitter: GPS & Navigation
Garmin Nuvi750 is a discontinued product. Is it a good idea to buy a discontinued product?
daredeviljpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2010, 17:54   #459
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default

Nothing wrong with buying a discontinued one, they will still be supported. There are no consumables to worry about, and the software does not need updates. Even if it does, Garmin is sure to remember applicable old models.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2010, 19:23   #460
BHPian
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Pune, Jaipur
Posts: 76
Thanked: 5 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
Nothing wrong with buying a discontinued one, they will still be supported. There are no consumables to worry about, and the software does not need updates. Even if it does, Garmin is sure to remember applicable old models.
Thanks. I am also planning to get a Nuvi 750. Can we get some kind of Media Player installed on Garmin devices that can play videos?
daredeviljpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 12:23   #461
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default

Even though they are Win CE devices, there is no way of accessing the system area for adding applications. Garmin's implementation of USB limits visibility to some folders only. Perhaps it is their idea of a fool-proof device that does its primary job well under any circumstances. User application installability is not a design goal for their devices. Also, safety can be compromised if video is allowed to be played - definitely a no-no for a company like Garmin. With Garmin devices, one has to explicitly agree to comply with safety regulations (there is a specific dialog screen for it on power-up), not to operate the device when the car is moving.

It is only the Taiwan / China PNDs which use that as a USP for getting sales. They don't have to answer anyone if an accident takes place with the driver's attention diverted by video playing on the navigation device.

Some Garmin devices do have a media player for playing audio via the car's sound system, coupling with it via an FM transmitter.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2010, 12:45   #462
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

^^^ I thought Gamin units run Linux. Are you sure about Win CE.. ?
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2010, 22:19   #463
BHPian
 
KishoreC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 170
Thanked: 4 Times
Smile Cheap Chinese Device from DX (Win CE 6) + SatGuide -- Working

Quote:
Originally Posted by KishoreC View Post
After waiting for almost a month, today I got the update that they are out of stock. Waiting for my refund.
Sorry for this late update as I haven't been active in the forum for quite sometime. Finally I got my device and bought SatGuide from SatNav. Installation and activation was painless as the SatNav customer service was very helpful. My device is now working beautifully. Have tested it in Bangalore, Bangalore - Mysore - Bandipur and Bangalore - Hogenekkal.

So the full set is.

1. Cheap Chinese Device from DX (Win CE 6), cost (Rs. 5500).
2. SatGuide from SatNav with One India Map ( Rs. 2100).

Couple of Points:
1. Satguide is actually the One India Map over MioMap software.
2. Pretty impressive within the city, not that good out on highways.
3. Periodic Map updates are supposedly free for a year.

Hope this info helps someone.
Kishore.
KishoreC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2010, 10:08   #464
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,852
Thanked: 15,407 Times
Default

@Kishore, I was thinking satguide is actually "destinator" software and not miomap.
It was mapmyindia which is actually Mireo(miomap) software.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2010, 21:39   #465
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 4
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

I have bought Navigon 2100 sometime back in US and is lying useless here due to non availability of indian maps from Navigon. I have tried with the Navigon but they do not have one for Asia.

Have already unlocked using diffrent SW but left without maps. Can someone help me with tips on using other maps available in India.
murali67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tata comments on British Work Ethics ! But what of Work-Life balance ? mooza The International Automotive Scene 69 27th March 2013 00:47
VOXTEL launches PND dilipkumar7278 Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 11th January 2008 21:29
Will GPS work in India ? falcon Modifications & Accessories 13 27th September 2006 00:02


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 09:52.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks