Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14th September 2010, 09:06   #526
Senior - BHPian
 
anujmishra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,270
Thanked: 333 Times
Default Free Solution on Cheap DealExtreme PND

One news to update all of you.

Yesterday, I was searching some free solution to run on PND received from DealExtreme. I found this page Gosmore - OpenStreetMap Wiki .

I read WinCE section and downloaded all recommended components. Exe and PAK (Map file) etc and copied into device. Gosmore works on OpenStreet map and can be downloaded free from Internet. Voila, it was working. All free solution on cheap dealextreme device.

But...
1. Quality(UI) of software is not good. But that much you have to bear if you want to have Free Solution.

2. I am not sure OpenStreetMap covers all cities of India or not.

However, for me it is not permanent solution, I will go with SatNav map. I just informed here for your information.

PS: There is one more free yet comprehensive navigation software. Url is http://www.navit-project.org/ . Have anyone tried it?

Last edited by anujmishra : 14th September 2010 at 09:10.
anujmishra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2010, 09:09   #527
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,850
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

Try OSmtracker too. It advertised to work in windows mobiles, but it works on windows CE too!
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2010, 09:30   #528
Senior - BHPian
 
anujmishra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,270
Thanked: 333 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
Try OSmtracker too. It advertised to work in windows mobiles, but it works on windows CE too!
Sure, today evening I will try and update result here.

I realized that I can keep various navigation software and maps in my device and any one can be used upon requirement.
anujmishra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2010, 11:07   #529
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,850
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

Yes, anuj you can do that.
Infact you in stock dealextreme setup, you just have to change navigation path.
If you copy miopocket to your SD card, and then give miopocket executable as nav path, and do settings as "start navigation automatically", you will boot in miopocket shell. Its a full fledged windows CE shell.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2010, 11:43   #530
Senior - BHPian
 
anujmishra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 1,270
Thanked: 333 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
Yes, anuj you can do that.
Infact you in stock dealextreme setup, you just have to change navigation path.
If you copy miopocket to your SD card, and then give miopocket executable as nav path, and do settings as "start navigation automatically", you will boot in miopocket shell. Its a full fledged windows CE shell.

Thanks Tanveer, you have loads of knowledge about navigation devices. I am getting surprises that how much I can do with dealextreme PND. Thanks again.
anujmishra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2010, 12:09   #531
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,850
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

Anuj,
Here is a miopocket link
Download it
GpsPasSion Forums - MioPocket 4.0 (Unlock for GPS devices)

After that look at the readme. There is a section on "Dealextreme and other chinese GPS systems".

Apart from that, I have seen that windows 7 sometimes screws up the firmware. So never connect the GPS to the PC, just take out SD card and connect to the PC.
Also from dealextreme Wiki, download the firmware, and keep it somewhere safe.
If you do manage to corrupt the firmware somehow, all you need to do is run a restore from the firmware dump.
The process is simple. Copy both firmware files to your SD card root, pop in SD card, and reboot device.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th September 2010, 14:05   #532
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
... windows 7 sometimes screws up the firmware ...
Strange. Why would it do that? What would it do? The PND should / would appear as USB storage, which means unless specifically told / instructed to write bytes to a specific area (Explorer can't do that by itself), one should be safe due to the inherent safety of the USB interface.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2010, 14:56   #533
BHPian
 
maverick555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Haryana
Posts: 78
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

Hi All

i have a Mio C310 Digiwalker unit lying unused with me.
Can i use it in india and also what is the process for updating indian maps ?


Thanks
maverick555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2010, 15:13   #534
Team-BHP Support
 
tsk1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: New Delhi
Posts: 22,850
Thanked: 15,406 Times
Default

First you need to install miopocket on SD card.
gpspassion.com forums(go to mio section) have detailed info on howto.

This step will unlock the PND which will enable you to run any software you want.
After that all you need to do is buy commercial maps, or use openstreetmap maps for free.
tsk1979 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2010, 21:20   #535
BHPian
 
maverick555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Haryana
Posts: 78
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

@tsk1979

Thanks for the info.
i have installed mio pocket.

what is best option for buying india maps (price and coverage) ?

How is the rs 999/- maps option from mymap india and will i be able to use them on miopocket?


Thanks
maverick555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th September 2010, 23:10   #536
BHPian
 
AnkitPrashar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Gurgaon
Posts: 111
Thanked: 30 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
First you need to install miopocket on SD card.
gpspassion.com forums(go to mio section) have detailed info on howto.

This step will unlock the PND which will enable you to run any software you want.
After that all you need to do is buy commercial maps, or use openstreetmap maps for free.
hello

I too am buying a WIN CE 5.0 gps device.
What i don't understand is that after i install Mio-pocket, which software do i need to install in order to run the Maps provided by MMI or satguide.
AnkitPrashar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2010, 09:20   #537
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

You can install Garmin Mobile XT. With this, you can use either MMI or Satguide maps.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2010, 09:42   #538
BHPian
 
maverick555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Haryana
Posts: 78
Thanked: 4 Times
Default

If i buy maps from MMI or Satguide to use with Garmin XT ,will they send me a pre installed memory card ?
maverick555 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2010, 09:49   #539
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

Yes, you will get a MicroSD card with SD adapter. Maps are tied to the card.

You need to setup Garmin XT on the same card.

Or you can call them and ask for the file that will make it work on one particular device (instead of being tied to card). They will need device ID.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th September 2010, 10:48   #540
Senior - BHPian
 
shankar.balan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: BLR
Posts: 8,053
Thanked: 5,304 Times
Default

yup netfreak is right
it is a little SD Card which is pre-loaded with India maps and so on.
All you need to do is to slot it into the slot provided on the device and then switch on and switch off.
this is what i experienced with my Nuvi 205W and MMI Maps SD Card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by maverick555 View Post
If i buy maps from MMI or Satguide to use with Garmin XT ,will they send me a pre installed memory card ?
shankar.balan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tata comments on British Work Ethics ! But what of Work-Life balance ? mooza The International Automotive Scene 69 27th March 2013 00:47
VOXTEL launches PND dilipkumar7278 Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 11th January 2008 21:29
Will GPS work in India ? falcon Modifications & Accessories 13 27th September 2006 00:02


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:41.

Copyright 2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks