Go Back   Team-BHP > Around the Corner > Shifting gears > Gadgets, Computers & Software


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21st October 2010, 17:25   #556
Distinguished - BHPian
 
DerAlte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Bangalore
Posts: 8,076
Thanked: 2,867 Times
Default

All Garmin devices appear as a storage device when connected via USB. Is that not happening in your case? No special driver is required, as this is a PnP implementation at USB level. When you plug it in, you should hear the ting-tong of USB connection first. If not, the first suspects are the USB port and the cable - change and try.

If you are able to see it as storage, you need to locate the track log files and copy them to the PC. Should be in a directory named GPX, I think.
DerAlte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st October 2010, 17:39   #557
Senior - BHPian
 
addyhemmige's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bangalore/Hassan
Posts: 1,549
Thanked: 465 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DerAlte View Post
All Garmin devices appear as a storage device when connected via USB. Is that not happening in your case? No special driver is required, as this is a PnP implementation at USB level. When you plug it in, you should hear the ting-tong of USB connection first. If not, the first suspects are the USB port and the cable - change and try.

If you are able to see it as storage, you need to locate the track log files and copy them to the PC. Should be in a directory named GPX, I think.
When I insert the USB into the drive, it detects the device and searches for drivers both in XP and Vista (I have 2 laptops at home). XP says that it does not have any drivers and vista says it found the drivers and installs it. But, after that, the device is nowhere to be seen. Neither does it shows up on the My computer window nor in the device manager window.

Even If I unplug the device and plug it back in, it does not detect it.
addyhemmige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2010, 12:02   #558
Senior - BHPian
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Delhi
Posts: 2,098
Thanked: 979 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by addyhemmige View Post
When I insert the USB into the drive, it detects the device and searches for drivers both in XP and Vista
My Garmin had to be set for proper communications mode before it could be detected by the computer. It has two modes - one mode tells the computer that it is a disk, the other that it is a serial port dumping data in real time. The former mode is used to transfer data files and the later to log the position continuously.

Check your device and see if the case is similar, then set the proper mode from the menu of the GPS.
Aroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd October 2010, 18:36   #559
Senior - BHPian
 
addyhemmige's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bangalore/Hassan
Posts: 1,549
Thanked: 465 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsk1979 View Post
Software in installed on your PC to read the trails. If your unit has SD card, you can copy the GPX file into the computer via SD Card, and then open them.
If you want to use google earth directly, you need to purchase pro version for $20
Quote:
Originally Posted by kousik View Post
@addy EasyGPS just talks to your gps as usb device so no worries. I use google map to create routes, convert to gpx, then use easygps to send it to my forerunner watch.
Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
This software is installed on the PC and would not impact warranty of GPS. You can download tracks/waypoints from GPS to PC once GPS is connected to PC.
Thanks for the suggestion guys. I just installed the Easy GPS and I could retrieve data from the device. I still wonder why Garmin does not have this model on their software updates page.

One more question. How do I integrate/sync these tracks and waypoints on Wikimapia or google maps or google earth?
addyhemmige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2010, 10:18   #560
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default

Sign up for an account at : EveryTrail - Travel Community, iPhone Guides for Sightseeing, Hiking, Walking Tours and more . There you can see your tracks visually.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd October 2010, 10:32   #561
Senior - BHPian
 
addyhemmige's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bangalore/Hassan
Posts: 1,549
Thanked: 465 Times
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Sign up for an account at : EveryTrail - Travel Community, iPhone Guides for Sightseeing, Hiking, Walking Tours and more . There you can see your tracks visually.
What a co-incidence. I just signed up on everytrail and then saw your message

Last edited by addyhemmige : 23rd October 2010 at 10:37.
addyhemmige is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2010, 02:03   #562
Newbie
 
sswami4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: mumbai
Posts: 7
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

Hi Guys,
Can u help me decide if i should go with this gps from dealextreme, i u can tell me pros & cons it wud be gr8, wud like to install mapmyindia on it.
thanks in advance .
Here's the link
DealExtreme: $100.55 6" LCD Windows CE 6.0 Core 500MHz GPS Navigator w/FM Transmitter + Built-in 4GB Memory USA Map
sswami4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2010, 19:26   #563
Newbie
 
sswami4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: mumbai
Posts: 7
Thanked: 0 Times
Default

hello netfreak bombay
Can u help me decide if i should go with this gps from dealextreme, if u can tell me pros & cons it wud be gr8, wud like to install mapmyindia on it.
thanks in advance .
Here's the link
DealExtreme: $100.55 6" LCD Windows CE 6.0 Core 500MHz GPS Navigator w/FM Transmitter + Built-in 4GB Memory USA Map
sswami4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th November 2010, 16:02   #564
BHPian
 
Neilguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Hyderabad
Posts: 172
Thanked: 51 Times
Default

Anybody knows if I can get India maps loaded on my TomTom 630 gps bought from the US? I was using it happily for the past few years in US, and didn't know then that it'll be this hard to find maps for it in India.
Neilguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2011, 15:29   #565
BHPian
 
cooljai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: KL-30/KA-53
Posts: 91
Thanked: 17 Times
Default Re: Will a GPS PND bought from abroad work in India?

Thinking of buying a GPS from Dealextreme. However, there seems to be devices with Win CE 5.0 and 6.0 available.
Is there any added benefit of having 6.0? Heard 6.0 is not as "hackable" as the earlier versions.
Planning of using the satguide map to begin with. Would there be any compatibility issues with 6.0?
cooljai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2011, 16:43   #566
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default Re: Will a GPS PND bought from abroad work in India?

Don't think devices from Dealextreme make sense anymore.

Reason is official Garmin devices not cost around 7k. You get much better hardware an you can use maps from Satguide/MMI or Garmin on these devices.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2011, 16:47   #567
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Patna
Posts: 21
Thanked: 0 Times
Default Re: Will a GPS PND bought from abroad work in India?

My friend wants to buy a GPS device for his car but he is not sure about the device. Can anyone suggest any model of Garmin or other ?
geeta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2011, 17:03   #568
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default Re: Will a GPS PND bought from abroad work in India?

What is the budget? and is he/she buying from India or from US?
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2011, 17:21   #569
BHPian
 
cooljai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: KL-30/KA-53
Posts: 91
Thanked: 17 Times
Default Re: Will a GPS PND bought from abroad work in India?

Quote:
Originally Posted by NetfreakBombay View Post
Don't think devices from Dealextreme make sense anymore.

Reason is official Garmin devices not cost around 7k. You get much better hardware an you can use maps from Satguide/MMI or Garmin on these devices.
I was looking at this device from Dealextreme $71.82 - LH2000 5.0" LCD Windows CE 6.0 Core 533MHz GPS Navigator with USA Maps 2GB SD Card - GPS Gadgets
Costs around 3200 rupees and add another 1000 for a satguide map, we have a 5" unit.
Would you know what is the garmin model that is available for 7k?
cooljai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2011, 17:51   #570
Senior - BHPian
 
NetfreakBombay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bombay
Posts: 1,375
Thanked: 315 Times
Default Re: Will a GPS PND bought from abroad work in India?

Garmin 215 Garmin India | Products | On The Road | nüvi® 215 (India) is available for 7k. Call ELEKTRONIK LAB (contact details on Garmin site) for details.

It comes with Gamin India maps that cover approx 800 cities.
NetfreakBombay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tata comments on British Work Ethics ! But what of Work-Life balance ? mooza The International Automotive Scene 69 27th March 2013 00:47
VOXTEL launches PND dilipkumar7278 Gadgets, Computers & Software 3 11th January 2008 21:29
Will GPS work in India ? falcon Modifications & Accessories 13 27th September 2006 00:02


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:59.

Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Team-BHP.com
Proudly powered by E2E Networks